ExpressVPN review: audited no-logs, apps for every screen, a pricey renewal

4.77

out of 10#14 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:BVI, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
  • Owner:Kape Technologies PLC (UK)
  • Data completeness100%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
  • RAM-only servers

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Security and protocols5.7 vs 2.1
  • Privacy and jurisdiction5.7 vs 2.7
  • Platforms and support7.1 vs 4.3

Weakest against its segment

  • Price and fair terms3.1 vs 3.5
  • Censorship bypass1.9 vs 0.5
  • Network and streaming4.6 vs 3.1
  • Renewal price is 2.8× the first term
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare ExpressVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

ExpressVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.75.7
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.15.7
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.53.1
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.51.9
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.14.6
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.37.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

ExpressVPN pricing

From €2.57 a month, ×2.8 at renewal

  • 3 plans published · market median €3.13 a month
Full pricing breakdown

Everything ExpressVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about ExpressVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Express Technologies Ltd.
Registered in
British Virgin Islands
Parent company
Kape Technologies PLC (UK)
Related brands
  • ExpressKeys
  • ExpressMailGuard
  • Identity Defender
  • Aircove
  • ExpressAI
  • holiday.com eSIM
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
none
Website languages
  • EN
  • ES
  • DE
  • FR
  • AR
  • BG
  • CS
  • DA
  • EL
  • FI
  • HE
  • HR
  • HU
  • ID
  • IT
  • JA
  • KO
  • NL
  • NO
  • PL
  • PT
  • RO
  • RU
  • SV
  • TH
  • TR
  • UK
  • VI
  • SR
  • EN-UAE
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Basic
  • Advanced
  • Pro
Billing terms
2 years (+4 months) rendered; others not shown
Cheapest price a month
$2.99
Monthly plan
Not stated
2-year plan, total
83.72 (28 months)
2-year plan, a month
$2.99
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
After first 28 months autorenews annually at $99.95 / $119.95 / $199.95
VAT included
No sales tax at checkout where applicable
Family plan
No
Dedicated IP add-on
Yes add-on for Basic/Advanced; included in Pro
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
No Threat Manager/Advanced Protection blocker
Password manager
Yes ExpressKeys included (Advanced, Pro)
eSIM
Yes holiday.com eSIM 3 GB included (Advanced, Pro)
Identity protection
Identity Defender: ID alerts, data removal, $3M/$5M insurance (Advanced/Pro)
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
ExpressMailGuard email aliases; ExpressAI (Pro)

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
80% / 73% / 67%
Discount compared with
vs current monthly price over 28 months
Sale running when checked
up to 80% off headline
Student discount
Yes Student Discount link
Discount for crypto payment
No
Bonus months
4 (2-year)
Affiliate programme
Yes Affiliates

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
  • 10 (Basic)
  • 12 (Advanced)
  • 14 (Pro)
Data limit
unlimited
Speed limit
No
Country restrictions
Export Control Policy countries
Features locked to higher plans
password manager, ID protection, eSIM (Advanced+); dedicated IP, ExpressAI (Pro)
Prohibited by the terms
  • spam
  • illegal/infringing content
  • CSAM
  • probing devices
  • compiling ExpressVPN IP lists

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
  • credit cards
  • PayPal
  • Bitcoin/crypto
  • App Store
  • Google Play
  • gift cards
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Yes
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes in-app stores
Cryptocurrency
Yes
Coins accepted
BTC
Cash
No
Gift cards
Yes redemption codes
Auto-renewal by default
Yes cards/PayPal; off for Bitcoin
How to cancel
My Subscription > Cancel, or live chat/email
Email needed to sign up
Yes
Phone needed to sign up
No
Account-number login
No
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
30
Refund conditions
  • New subscribers only, 30 days from initial purchase
  • renewals and redemption codes excluded
  • store purchases via Apple/Google

Free trial terms

Trial length
No
Instead of a trial
30-day money-back
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
113
Servers
Not stated
Cities
214 locations
Server countries
113 listed on /vpn-server (Americas 25, Europe 48, APAC 28, ME&Africa 12)
Middle East and North Africa
  • AE (physical)
  • IL (physical)
  • SA, EG, QA, LB, MA, DZ (virtual)
  • TR (virtual)
  • no KW/BH/OM/JO
Virtual locations
Yes e.g., IN via SG/UK, ID via SG
Port speed
10 Gbps (40 Gbps select)
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Yes Lightway obfuscation

Network features

RAM-only servers
Yes TrustedServer
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Yes
Static IP
Yes dedicated IP
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
No
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Yes MediaStreamer

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✓ Yes
  • OpenVPNUDP/TCP✓ Yes
  • IKEv2✓ Yes
  • L2TP/IPsecNo
  • SSTPNo
  • SoftEther✕ No
  • Own protocolLightway (UDP/TCP)✓ Yes
  • VLESS / Reality✕ No
  • VMess✕ No
  • Trojan✕ No
  • Shadowsocks✕ No
  • Hysteria2✕ No
  • TUIC✕ No
  • NaiveProxy✕ No
  • obfs4✕ No
  • AmneziaWG✕ No
  • PPTP✓ No
Other protocols
No
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Yes obfuscation
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes Network Lock
DNS leak protection
Yes private encrypted DNS
Own DNS servers
Yes
Split tunnelling
Yes
Ad and malware blocker
Yes Threat Manager / Protection tiers
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Yes KPMG (privacy policy & servers); Cure53 (TrustedServer); years not on pages read
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes no activity or connection logs
Independent no-logs audit
Yes
Data retention
limited period; transactional emails 10 years
Shared with third parties
  • PayPal
  • Stripe
  • Forter
  • Zendesk
  • TeamSupport
  • Sentry
  • Firebase
  • AppsFlyer
  • remarketing with consent
Trackers on the website
Yes cookies, pixels, Google Tag Manager
Transparency report
No
Warrant canary
No
Law enforcement requests
  • subject to BVI law
  • will fight demands
  • no logs to tie users
Copyright (DMCA) notices
no DMCA procedure in ToS
Anonymous sign-up
Partial Bitcoin accepted; email required
GDPR / data protection officer
dpo@expressvpn.com
Privacy policy updated
2026-10-02

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • Connection IP✓ No
  • Session timesdate only of successful connections◐ Partial
  • Bandwidthaggregate MB per user✕ Yes
  • Device infotype, OS, model, app version, random IDs✕ Yes
  • App analyticsAppsFlyer, hashed-IP country✕ Yes
  • Crash reportsopt-in (Sentry, Crashlytics)✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TV✓ Yes
  • Fire TV✓ Yes
  • Apple TV✓ Yes
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TV✓ Yes
  • Routersincl. Aircove✓ Yes
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consoles✓ Yes
Browser extensions
  • Chrome
  • Firefox
  • Edge

Speed, streaming and gaming

Claimed speed
10 Gbps servers, 40 Gbps select
10 Gbps servers
Yes
Fastest protocol (claimed)
Lightway
Netflix
No specific claim
BBC iPlayer
No
Disney+
No
Prime Video
No
DAZN
No
beIN Sports
No
Shahid
No
OSN+
No
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Yes
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes support@expressvpn.com
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Help articles
Yes Support Center, setup tutorials
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    4.40 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 4.58; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 4.58 from 200.

    The company replied to 8 of 8 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.35 of 5, smoothed

    From 3035 collected reviews (raw average 3.34; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 4.32 from 299.

  • Google Play

    3.50 of 5, smoothed

    From 2400 collected reviews (raw average 3.49; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.71 from 623.

    The company replied to 598 of 853 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.4 (27904 reviews); App Store (US) 4.68 (419478 ratings); Google Play 4.6 (493K ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’25108 reviews, average 4.43
  2. Nov ’25172 reviews, average 4.19
  3. Dec ’25142 reviews, average 4.39
  4. Jan ’26139 reviews, average 4.4
  5. Feb ’26138 reviews, average 4.19
  6. Mar ’26123 reviews, average 4.27
  7. Apr ’26119 reviews, average 4.05
  8. May ’26142 reviews, average 3.68
  9. Jun ’26156 reviews, average 3.65
  10. Jul ’26166 reviews, average 3.78
  11. Aug ’26166 reviews, average 3.98
  12. Sep ’26255 reviews, average 3.97
  13. Oct ’26618 reviews, average 4.07
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

46 Reddit and forum threads mention ExpressVPN (titles and search snippets only).

All ExpressVPN user reviews

ExpressVPN earns 4.77 out of 10 on VPNRadarLab, ranks 14th among 377 services, and sits far above the 2.6 median for consumer VPNs. It earns that place on privacy, security and app coverage, and loses it on two things: a renewal costing roughly 2.8 times the first-term rate, and a censorship-bypass score of 1.9 that reflects one obfuscation mode and no protocol built for strict DPI.

Where the 4.77 comes from and where it bleeds

Platform and support coverage is the highest sub-score at 7.1 against a 4.3 median, and security clears the bar on the strength of RAM-only TrustedServer hardware audited by Cure53, with further KPMG audits covering the privacy policy and the servers. The damage concentrates in one line item: the renewal jump costs 1.75 points, the largest single deduction on the card, and drags the price section below the consumer median (3.1 versus 3.5). Censorship bypass is the other weak spot: Lightway's built-in obfuscation earns the only 2 of 10.5 available points, because VLESS Reality, Trojan, Shadowsocks, Hysteria2 or similar tools are simply not offered.

Logs, KPMG and the company in the BVI

The operator is Express Technologies Ltd., based in the British Virgin Islands outside the 5, 9 and 14 Eyes alliances, and the parent is Kape Technologies PLC, the group behind Private Internet Access and CyberGhost. The privacy section scores 8.5 of 15, helped most by the KPMG review of the no-logs promise. What the policy admits to collecting: your email, the date (not the time) of successful connections, total traffic per account, plus device and app data and AppsFlyer analytics. That connection date is what costs the session-time point, and an email at sign-up ties the account to an identity, which Bitcoin payment only partly offsets. Our ExpressVPN safety page walks through every clause.

Basic, Advanced or Pro: what the extra dollars buy

Plan 28 months Per month Renews yearly Devices Extras
Basic $83.72 $2.99 $99.95 10 VPN only
Advanced $125.72 $4.49 $119.95 12 ExpressKeys, eSIM data, Identity Defender
Pro $209.72 $7.49 $199.95 14 Advanced plus dedicated IP and ExpressAI

Only the two-year term with 4 bonus months appears at checkout, so there is no cheap month to test with. Card and PayPal payments auto-renew by default; Bitcoin leaves renewal off, the cleanest escape from a surprise $99.95 bill. The refund window covers new subscribers for 30 days from the first purchase; renewals and redemption codes are excluded. The full pricing breakdown lives on its own page.

ExpressVPN in everyday situations

Situation What ExpressVPN publishes The limit
Hotel or airport Wi-Fi Network Lock kill switch, private encrypted DNS keep the kill switch on, or the tunnel drop can leak
A country on the map 113 countries, 214 locations some are virtual, served from elsewhere
A censored network obfuscated Lightway no Reality, Trojan or Shadowsocks fallback under heavy DPI
Streaming MediaStreamer Smart DNS no Netflix or BBC iPlayer claim is made
A fixed address for work dedicated IP paid extra on Basic and Advanced, no published price

The official server list shows which locations exist, but the provider does not publish server counts, and some countries (India, for example) are served virtually from Singapore or the UK. Port forwarding and torrenting policies are not stated either, which matters if those are your use cases.

Who should pay and who should not

Take it if an independently audited no-logs policy and apps on every screen, including the Aircove router, are what you need, and you will calendar the renewal yourself. Pass if strict national censorship is your main threat or if a monthly plan to test with matters. Refunds, cancellation, coupons, alternatives and store reviews each get a separate page on the card.

ExpressVPN review FAQ

Is ExpressVPN still worth it in 2026?

For the first 28 months, yes, if privacy audits and device reach matter to you. After renewal the yearly price is hard to justify against what changes.

Is there a free trial?

No trial and no free tier. The 30-day refund plays that role, but it only applies to the first purchase.

Will it work behind strict censorship?

Sometimes. Lightway obfuscation helps, but the protocols that survive heavy DPI longest are not on the menu.

How many devices per subscription?

Ten on Basic, twelve on Advanced, fourteen on Pro.

Verdict in brief

Audited privacy, RAM-only servers, wide app support, a fair first term of $2.99 a month. The renewal and the one-trick bypass are where it loses points. Good for travellers and households, wrong tool for heavily filtered networks.

In our rankings

ExpressVPN appears on 289 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 289

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://expressvpn.com
Pages checked
https://www.expressvpn.com; https://www.expressvpn.com/order; https://www.expressvpn.com/vpn-server; https://www.expressvpn.com/privacy-policy; https://www.expressvpn.com/tos

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error