VPN with a Password Manager: Which Plans Include One and What It Costs

Proton VPN tops this ranking, and its Plus plan already includes the free edition of Proton Pass. NordVPN follows, but NordPass appears only from the Complete tier upward. At PureVPN, NordVPN and ExpressVPN, the tier with the manager costs €0.50 to €1.29 a month more on long terms, while Proton's free Pass already comes with Plus. The real questions are renewal multipliers, plan fine print, and the risk of handing one company both your traffic and your logins. Read more

Sorted by this page’s weighting: Security and protocols weighs 40% on this page. Each row also shows the overall score.

29services on this page
8with an independent no-logs audit
€0.57cheapest paid plan, a month
Top 29 of 29 services on this page
#ServicePage scoreFrom
1Proton VPN
Consumer VPN · Switzerland Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes Free plan
6.55overall 6.12€3.00per month
2NordVPN
Consumer VPN · Panama Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
5.97overall 5.58€3.00per month
3PureVPN
Consumer VPN · BVI Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
5.05overall 5.30€1.85per month
4ExpressVPN
Consumer VPN · BVI Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
5.01overall 4.77€2.57per month
5BTC VPN
Consumer VPN · jurisdiction not stated Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
4.54overall 4.51€10.31per month
6VMP VPN (VPN Master Pro)
Free / mobile app · jurisdiction not stated Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes Free plan
4.43overall 4.48€5.01per month
7CyberGhost VPN
Consumer VPN · Romania
4.39overall 4.18€1.71per month
8FastestVPN
Consumer VPN · Cayman Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
4.12overall 4.67€0.71per month
9Hotspot Shield
Consumer VPN · USA Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes Free plan Red flag: Public security incident
3.85overall 3.94€2.08per month
10iProVPN
Consumer VPN · jurisdiction not stated
3.84overall 3.93€0.57per month
11iTop VPN
Consumer VPN · jurisdiction not stated Free plan
3.76overall 3.58€2.15per month
12Norton VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA
3.24overall 3.01€2.29per month
13OysterVPN
Consumer VPN · Ireland Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses
2.98overall 2.79€1.71per month
14VPN Unlimited (KeepSolid)
Consumer VPN · USA
2.96overall 3.59€3.87per month
15KeepSolid (VPN Unlimited)
Consumer VPN · USA
2.80overall 3.38€4.39per month
16UltraVPN
Consumer VPN · Panama
2.51overall 2.51€2.57per month
17TotalVPN (Total AV)
VPN in a security suite · UK
2.24overall 1.79€7.10per month
18VPNasap
Consumer VPN · jurisdiction not stated Low data transparency
2.21overall 2.47—
19Avira
VPN in a security suite · Germany Free plan Red flag: Public security incident
2.00overall 1.84—
20Aura VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA
1.96overall 2.14€10.32per month
21Steganos VPN Online Protection
Consumer VPN · Germany Free plan
1.92overall 2.09€2.91per month
22Avira Phantom VPN
VPN in a security suite · Germany Free plan Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses
1.90overall 1.70—
23F-Secure Freedome / F-Secure VPN
VPN in a security suite · Finland Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses
1.83overall 1.60€3.75per month
24F-Secure VPN (Freedome)
VPN in a security suite · Finland Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses
1.80overall 1.57€3.75per month
25CiberProtector VPN
Consumer VPN · jurisdiction not stated
1.13overall 1.51€4.90per month
26Panda VPN
VPN in a security suite · Spain Free plan Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses
0.94overall 1.25—
27ioloVPN
VPN in a security suite · USA
0.90overall 1.20€3.22per month
28Dashlane VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA Low data transparency
0.90overall 0.96—
29Decentr
Decentralised (dVPN) · jurisdiction not stated Free plan Low data transparency
0.38overall 0.51—
Guide4 min read

Where the password manager hides in each lineup

Twenty-nine services on this page bundle some form of credential manager, but only seventeen are consumer VPNs in the usual sense: ten live inside full security suites, one is a free mobile app, one is decentralised. At FastestVPN (FastestPass), iProVPN, UltraVPN, Hotspot Shield (which ships 1Password) and Aura VPN, the manager is listed as part of the subscription rather than sold as a separate product. At the big brands it's an upsell one tier above the advertised price. At Norton, Avira, F-Secure, Panda and ioloVPN you have to buy the whole suite to get it, which is the territory covered by the ranking of VPNs inside security suites. iTop sells DualSafe as a separate product, and CyberGhost includes PassCamp while selling the premium version as a paid one-time upsell.

How the top four compare

Service Page score Manager Tier with manager Cheapest intro price No-logs audit
Proton VPN 6.55 Proton Pass (Free with Plus, premium with Unlimited) Plus / Unlimited €3.00/mo (24 mo) published
NordVPN 5.97 NordPass Complete or Prime €3.00/mo (27 mo, Basic) verified 5 times since 2018
PureVPN 5.05 built-in Plus or Max €1.85/mo (27 mo, Standard) KPMG
ExpressVPN 5.01 ExpressKeys Advanced or Pro €2.57/mo (28 mo, Basic) KPMG

The page score rates the VPN itself: security carries 40% of the weight, privacy 22.5%, censorship bypass and price 11.25% each. It says nothing about the manager's encryption. Only 8 of the 29 services have published an independent no-logs audit, so check the ranking of audited VPNs if that is your filter.

What the upgrade to a vault costs

Provider (term) VPN-only plan Plan with manager Monthly delta Renewal multiple
NordVPN (27 mo) Basic €3.00 Complete €3.86 €0.86 ~3.3x
PureVPN (27 mo) Standard €1.85 Plus €2.35 €0.50 ~1.9x
ExpressVPN (28 mo) Basic €2.57 Advanced €3.86 €1.29 ~2.8x
Proton VPN (24 mo) Plus €3.00 Unlimited €6.87 €3.87 (premium Pass) ~2x

PureVPN's fifty cents is hard to beat for a working vault. NordVPN's €0.86 also buys desktop antivirus and 1 TB of storage. ExpressVPN's step adds two device slots (12 instead of 10). Auto-renewal is on by default for 20 of the 29 services, and the renewal multiple applies to whichever tier you picked, so set a calendar reminder before the term ends.

Bundle or two separate subscriptions

A bundle can only be judged when the seller publishes the solo price too, and few providers on this page do; CiberProtector is the clearest case, with a Passwords plan at €2.90/month, a VPN plan at €4.90/month, and a bundle at €5.90/month against €7.80 bought separately, saving €1.90 a month. iTop and CyberGhost also show separate prices for their managers, which helps the comparison. Dashlane works the other way, a password manager whose Premium plan (€3.96/month yearly) includes a VPN built on Hotspot Shield.

If you plan to stay with the VPN, the bundled tier is the simpler and usually cheap route (PureVPN Plus €2.35, NordVPN Complete €3.86), but NordVPN, PureVPN and ExpressVPN publish no standalone price for their managers, so the saving cannot be checked there. If you might switch providers, buy the manager separately, because migrating a vault later means exporting every credential and re-testing autofill and passkeys in every browser.

One company, both your secrets and your traffic

Concentration risk is the real downside. One account guards both products, so a single weak password unlocks your vault and your tunnel together. NordVPN publishes multi-factor sign-in for its account, and the NCSC guidance on password managers puts two-step verification ahead of everything else. Ownership matters too: Gen Digital owns both Norton and Avira, Kape Technologies owns ExpressVPN and CyberGhost, and Hotspot Shield sits under Pango/Aura.

FAQ

Does every NordVPN plan include NordPass?

No. Basic does not include NordPass at any term; you need Complete or Prime.

Is the ExpressVPN password manager worth the upgrade?

On the 28-month plan the jump to Advanced costs €1.29 a month and adds two device slots. If you'd otherwise pay for a vault separately, it's reasonable value.

Which VPN with a bundled manager has an audited no-logs policy?

All four leaders publish one: Proton a published audit plus open-source apps on GitHub, NordVPN five independent verifications since 2018, PureVPN and ExpressVPN both by KPMG. Across the full list, only 8 of 29 do.

Bottom line

Proton VPN Plus at €3.00 a month includes a free vault, with premium Pass via Unlimited. PureVPN Plus has the smallest step up among the top four, €0.50, for €2.35 a month, and NordVPN Complete adds NordPass, antivirus and 1 TB storage for €0.86 above its entry tier. CiberProtector is the clearest place to check a bundle's saving against standalone prices. Test the export function before the refund window closes, since 27 of the 29 offer a money-back guarantee.