Norton VPN review: score, privacy and prices

3.01

out of 10#112 of 377 in the main ranking
VPN in a security suite median 1.8

  • VPN in a security suite
  • Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
  • Owner:Gen Digital
  • Data completeness87%
  • Checked2026-10-15

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Platforms and support7.5 vs 4.2
  • Censorship bypass1.9 vs 0.0
  • Security and protocols3.9 vs 2.5

Weakest against its segment

  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.3
  • Price and fair terms3.2 vs 3.3
  • Privacy and jurisdiction2.3 vs 1.3
  • Renewal price is 2.0× the first term
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Trial needs a card
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare Norton VPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of VPN in a security suite services in the main ranking (23 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Norton VPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 1.32.3
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.53.9
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.33.2
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.01.9
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.27.5
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Norton VPN pricing

From €2.87 a month, ×2.0 at renewal

  • 3 plans published · market median €3.13 a month
Full pricing breakdown

Everything Norton VPN publishes

Every fact we collected about Norton VPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Gen Digital Inc. (EEA controller NortonLifeLock Ireland Ltd)
Registered in
USA
Address
60 East Rio Salado Parkway, Suite 1000, Tempe, AZ 85281, USA
Parent company
Gen Digital
Related brands
  • Norton 360
  • Avast
  • AVG
  • Avira
  • LifeLock
  • CCleaner
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
multiple country sites (ES, FR, DE, NL, ZH etc. via region selector)
Currencies on the site
USD (US site)
Prices depend on country
Yes country sites

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Standard
  • Plus
  • Ultimate
Billing terms
  • 1 year (+3 mo)
  • 2 years (+3 mo)
  • monthly mentioned
Cheapest price a month
$2.66
Monthly plan
Not stated
1-year plan, total
53.88 (15 months)
1-year plan, a month
$3.33
2-year plan, total
71.76 (27 months)
2-year plan, a month
$2.66
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
  • Auto-renews at $99.99/$119.99/$149.99 per year
  • renewal may be higher than initial price and can change
  • billed up to 35 days before renewal
Family plan
Yes Ultimate 20 devices + parental control
Prices seen from other countries
  • USD (US site): Standard 1y $39.99 first yr ($3.33/mo), renews $79.99/yr
  • Plus 1y $49.99 ($4.17/mo), renews $109.99
  • Ultimate 1y $59.99 ($5.00/mo), renews $129.99
  • refund 14d monthly / 60d annual
  • no 1m price shown
Double VPN add-on
Yes included
Antivirus
Yes Plus: AI scam/phishing/malware protection
Password manager
Yes included in Plus/Ultimate
eSIM
No
Identity protection
dark web monitoring (Plus+)
Cloud storage
10 GB (Plus) / 50 GB (Ultimate) cloud backup, Windows
Other add-ons
parental control, child location (Ultimate); IP rotation

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
56-69%
Discount compared with
vs renewal price
Student discount
Not stated
Discount for crypto payment
No
Bonus months
3 (1y and 2y)
Affiliate programme
Yes
Affiliate network
Impact

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
5 (Standard/Plus); 10 (Ultimate)
Features locked to higher plans
scam/malware protection, password manager, dark web monitoring (Plus); parental control (Ultimate)

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
credit cards; PayPal (review)
Bank card
Yes review
PayPal
Yes review
Cryptocurrency
No review
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
account, support, or phone 844-488-4540
Email needed to sign up
Yes
Account-number login
No
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
60
Refund conditions
Annual: full refund within 60 days; monthly: within 14 days of initial purchase

Free trial terms

Trial length
Not stated
Where the trial is offered
site (downloads page)
Trial limits
payment method required, charged after trial
Instead of a trial
60-day money-back
Card needed for the trial
Yes

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Cities
25 US cities in 18 states
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Streaming servers
Yes streaming optimization
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Yes Double VPN
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✓ Yes
  • OpenVPNWindows, Android✓ Yes
  • IKEv2IPsec on Mac/iOS✓ Yes
  • L2TP/IPsecNo
  • SSTPNo
  • SoftEther✕ No
  • Own protocolMimic (Win/Mac/Android)✓ Yes
  • VLESS / Reality✕ No
  • VMess✕ No
  • Trojan✕ No
  • Shadowsocks✕ No
  • Hysteria2✕ No
  • TUIC✕ No
  • NaiveProxy✕ No
  • obfs4✕ No
  • AmneziaWG✕ No
  • PPTP✓ No
Other protocols
IPsec (Mac, iOS)
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
No
Open-source apps
No

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Yes Mimic protocol
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Yes Windows, Mac, Android
Ad and malware blocker
Yes Ad blocker (desktop browsers); malware protection in Plus
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Yes security reporting link

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes no browsing activity logged
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
  • connection events 12 mo
  • bandwidth/device/analytics 18 mo
  • crash 90 days
Shared with third parties
Google Firebase/Crashlytics; resellers for billing
Trackers on the website
Yes Your privacy choices/Do Not Sell link
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Law enforcement requests
no browsing/DNS/destination data exists to supply under compelled requests
Anonymous sign-up
No
GDPR / data protection officer
Pembroke Privacy Ltd, DPO@gendigital.com
Privacy policy updated
2026-09-25 (Products Privacy Notice)

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • Connection IPdevice IPs not collected✓ No
  • Session timesconnection day only (not time) + location, 12 mo◐ Partial
  • Bandwidthcumulative MB, 18 mo✕ Yes
  • Device info(OS, language, device name/type), 18 mo✕ Yes
  • App analytics(Firebase; can be disabled), 18 mo✕ Yes
  • Crash reportsopt-in, 90 days✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windowsincl. ARM✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✕ No
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TVGoogle TV✓ Yes
  • Fire TVFire OS 8+✓ Yes
  • Apple TV✓ Yes
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TV✓ Yes
  • Routers✕ No
  • NAS✕ No
  • Raspberry Pi✕ No
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
  • Chrome
  • Edge
  • Firefox

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
No specific claim
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Yes review
Live chat 24/7
Yes review
Phone
Yes 844-488-4540, US
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Discord or forum
Yes community.norton.com
Support languages
EN (review); localized help center incl. RU
Help articles
Yes support.norton.com
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    4.58 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 4.82; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 4.82 from 200.

    The company replied to 0 of 2 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.80 of 5, smoothed

    From 2000 collected reviews (raw average 3.81; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 1.71 from 51.

  • Google Play

    3.76 of 5, smoothed

    From 1200 collected reviews (raw average 3.76; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.50 from 528.

    The company replied to 283 of 316 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.7 (79976 reviews); App Store (US) 4.45 (120795 ratings); Google Play 4.4 (311K ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’2534 reviews, average 3.5
  2. Nov ’2543 reviews, average 3.05
  3. Dec ’2554 reviews, average 2.96
  4. Jan ’2647 reviews, average 3.55
  5. Feb ’2654 reviews, average 3.48
  6. Mar ’2647 reviews, average 3.34
  7. Apr ’2666 reviews, average 3.38
  8. May ’2645 reviews, average 2.71
  9. Jun ’2663 reviews, average 3.06
  10. Jul ’2680 reviews, average 2.48
  11. Aug ’2661 reviews, average 3.2
  12. Sep ’26324 reviews, average 3.46
  13. Oct ’26345 reviews, average 4.3
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

41 Reddit and forum threads mention Norton VPN (titles and search snippets only).

All Norton VPN user reviews

Questions about Norton VPN

Answers built from what Norton VPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Norton VPN coupons and discounts: official prices and promo terms

Norton VPN publishes no promo code on its own site in what we read, so we list none. We never invent codes or copy them from coupon sites; below are the official prices.

Discounts on the official site

Promo codes
Not stated
Sale running when checked
none seen
Discount shown
56-69%
Discount compared with
vs renewal price
Bonus months
3 (1y and 2y)
Crypto discount
No
Checked
2026-10-15

Official prices

Official prices
PlanFirst paymentThen
Norton VPN Standard (5 devices), 12 mo€34.39€68.79 / 12 mo
Norton VPN Plus (5 devices), 12 mo€42.99€94.59 / 12 mo
Norton VPN Ultimate (10 devices), 12 mo€51.59€111.79 / 12 mo

In our rankings

Norton VPN appears on 190 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 190

Higher score for the same money

Also similar to Norton VPN

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://norton.com/products/norton-secure-vpn
Pages checked
https://us.norton.com/products/norton-vpn; https://us.norton.com/privacy/; https://us.norton.com/privacy/products-privacy-notice
Other sources used
plans/price_12m_pm/simultaneous_devices/ikev2: https://us.norton.com/products/norton-vpn; split_tunneling: https://support.norton.com/sp/en/us/home/current/solutions/v137513095; affiliate_program/affiliate_network: https://us.norton.com/affiliates; payment_methods/paypal/crypto/live_chat/live_chat_247/support_languages: https://www.cloudwards.net/norton-secure-vpn-review; support_languages(RU help center): https://support.norton.com/

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error