Avast Free VPN review: score, privacy and prices

2.72

out of 10#150 of 377 in the main ranking
VPN in a security suite median 1.8

  • VPN in a security suite
  • Jurisdiction:Czechia, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
  • Owner:Gen Digital Inc.
  • Data completeness87%
  • Checked2026-10-15

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Security and protocols3.6 vs 2.5
  • Privacy and jurisdiction2.3 vs 1.3
  • Network and streaming3.1 vs 2.3

Weakest against its segment

  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.0
  • Platforms and support4.2 vs 4.2
  • Price and fair terms3.8 vs 3.3
  • Renewal price is 1.7× the first term
  • Trial needs a card
  • Stores session times
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare Avast Free VPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of VPN in a security suite services in the main ranking (23 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Avast Free VPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 1.32.3
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.53.6
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.33.8
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.00.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.33.1
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.24.2
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Avast Free VPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €3.43 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Avast Free VPN renews at its standard price: 1.7× more per month than the first term. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Price per month over 3 years, Premium VPN plan

€4.29/mo for 12 months then €7.17/mo €5€10

first termrenewalmarket median €3.13/momonths →

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep Avast Free VPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst paymentThen1 year2 years3 years
Premium VPN, 12 mo €51.50 €85.99 / 12 mo€51.50€137.49€223.48
Premium VPN, 24 mo €82.35 —€82.35€82.35—
Premium VPN, 36 mo €123.53 —€123.53€123.53€123.53

Compare Avast Free VPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal priceRenewal term
Premium VPN12 mo$59.88$4.99€4.29$99.9912 mo
Premium VPN24 mo$95.76$3.99€3.43——
Premium VPN36 mo$143.64$3.99€3.43——

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
30 days
Refund conditions
Request within 30 days of initial purchase or renewal anniversary
Free trial
60 days, site/all
Card needed for trial
Yes
How to cancel
Avast Account linked to purchase email
Payment methods
card; PayPal
Renewal note
Renews at $99.99/yr; may increase; charged up to 35 days before anniversary at then-current price

Everything Avast Free VPN publishes

Every fact we collected about Avast Free VPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Avast Software s.r.o. (Gen Digital Inc.)
Registered in
Czech Republic (parent Gen Digital, USA)
Address
Pikrtova 1737/1A, 140 00 Prague 4, Czech Republic
Parent company
Gen Digital Inc.
Related brands
  • AVG
  • Norton
  • Avira
  • CCleaner
  • BreachGuard
  • NortonLifeLock
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
none
Website languages
  • 60 region/language versions incl. EN
  • ES
  • PT-BR
  • FR
  • DE
  • CS
  • DA
  • IT
  • HU
  • NL
  • NO
  • PL
  • PT
  • RO
  • SK
  • FI
  • SV
  • TR
  • EL
  • HE
  • KK
  • RU
  • UK
  • AR
  • HI
  • ID
  • MS
  • VI
  • JA
  • KO
  • ZH-CN
  • ZH-TW
  • TH
Currencies on the site
USD (local stores per region)
Prices depend on country
Yes per country stores

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Premium VPN (SecureLine)
  • Premium Security
  • Ultimate (incl. VPN)
Billing terms
  • 12
  • 24
  • 36 months
Cheapest price a month
$3.99
Monthly plan
Not stated
1-year plan, total
$59.88
1-year plan, a month
$4.99
2-year plan, total
$95.76
2-year plan, a month
$3.99
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
  • Renews at $99.99/yr
  • may increase
  • charged up to 35 days before anniversary at then-current price
Family plan
No
Dedicated IP add-on
No
Port forwarding add-on
No
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
Yes in Ultimate bundle
eSIM
No
Identity protection
BreachGuard (in bundles)
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
Ultimate: $49.08 1st yr (1 PC+1 mobile) / $69.48 (10 devices)

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
40% (1y); 51% (2y/3y)
Discount compared with
vs $99.99/yr renewal price
Student discount
Not stated
Bonus months
No

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
10
Data limit
No
Torrenting / P2P policy
Yes P2P-capable locations marked in app

Free plan

Free plan
No free VPN shown on site (60-day trial only)
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated
Other free plan terms
Free Antivirus (Avast One) offered, VPN not mentioned in free

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
card; PayPal
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Yes
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes app stores (presumed via mobile)
Cryptocurrency
No
Cash
No
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
Avast Account linked to purchase email
Email needed to sign up
Yes
Phone needed to sign up
No
Account-number login
No
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
30
Refund conditions
Request within 30 days of initial purchase or renewal anniversary

Free trial terms

Trial length
60 days
Where the trial is offered
site/all
Trial limits
payment details required, charged after trial
Instead of a trial
30-day money-back
Card needed for the trial
Yes

Server locations

Countries
74 (VPN page list); 100+ server locations
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
74 countries (list on VPN page)
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Yes marked
Streaming servers
Yes streaming supported
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
No
Static IP
No
Residential IP
No
Double VPN / multi-hop
No
Tor over VPN
No
SOCKS5 proxy
No
Smart DNS
No

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardNot stated
  • OpenVPNUDP✓ Yes
  • IKEv2IPsec (iOS/macOS)✓ Yes
  • L2TP/IPsecNo
  • SSTPNo
  • SoftEther✕ No
  • Own protocolunnamed✓ Yes
  • VLESS / Reality✕ No
  • VMess✕ No
  • Trojan✕ No
  • Shadowsocks✕ No
  • Hysteria2✕ No
  • TUIC✕ No
  • NaiveProxy✕ No
  • obfs4✕ No
  • AmneziaWG✕ No
  • PPTP✓ No
Other protocols
IPsec
Encryption
bank-grade encryption
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
No
Open-source apps
No

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
No
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes
DNS leak protection
Yes own secure DNS
Own DNS servers
Yes
Split tunnelling
Yes apps
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated
Certifications
AV-Test, SE Labs, AV-Comparatives awards (antivirus)

Privacy

No-logs policy
Partial doesn't log activity traceable to you; VPN policy keeps server/usage metadata
Independent no-logs audit
No
Data retention
  • server metadata 18 mo
  • connection events 12 mo
  • app events 18 mo
  • crash 90 days
  • account lifetime+2y
Shared with third parties
  • Google Firebase
  • Crashlytics
  • Singular
  • AppsFlyer
  • payment providers
Trackers on the website
Yes cookie notice; Do not sell my info
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
No
Anonymous sign-up
No
GDPR / data protection officer
privacy request form (OneTrust); UK rep NortonLifeLock UK Ltd
Privacy policy updated
VPN policy 2026-05-07

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Emaillifetime of product + 2 years✕ Yes
  • Connection IPoriginating IP not sent✓ No
  • Session timesconnection events (12 months)✕ Yes
  • Bandwidthcumulative MB; 18 months✕ Yes
  • Device info✕ Yes
  • App analyticsFirebase, AppsFlyer, Singular; opt-out✕ Yes
  • Crash reportsCrashlytics; 90 days✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows7-11✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✕ No
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android10+✓ Yes
  • Android TVGoogle TV/Android TV 10+✓ Yes
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVGoogle TV✓ Yes
  • Routers✕ No
  • NAS✕ No
  • Raspberry Pi✕ No
  • Game consoles✕ No
Browser extensions
Yes VPN browser extension mentioned in policy

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Yes P2P locations

Support

Live chat
Not stated
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes support center
Phone
Yes 855-745-3255
Telegram
No
WhatsApp
No
Discord or forum
forum.avast.com
Help articles
Yes
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    3.82 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 3.87; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 3.87 from 200.

    The company replied to 0 of 48 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.35 of 5, smoothed

    From 1456 collected reviews (raw average 3.34; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.46 from 28.

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.3 (41604 reviews); App Store (US) 4.66 (23777 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’254 reviews, average 1.75
  2. Nov ’2514 reviews, average 1.71
  3. Dec ’257 reviews, average 3.14
  4. Jan ’2611 reviews, average 2.64
  5. Feb ’2611 reviews, average 2.36
  6. Mar ’2613 reviews, average 3.46
  7. Apr ’264 reviews, average 1.5
  8. May ’269 reviews, average 3.44
  9. Jun ’2610 reviews, average 2.9
  10. Jul ’267 reviews, average 2.57
  11. Aug ’266 reviews, average 3.67
  12. Sep ’2614 reviews, average 2.29
  13. Oct ’26205 reviews, average 3.8
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

27 Reddit and forum threads mention Avast Free VPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 3★ · 04 Oct 2026 · FR

    Complexe à installer

  • App Store · 1★ · 03 Oct 2026 · GB

    Sick of avast and their total incompetence

  • App Store · 1★ · 02 Oct 2026 · US

    Key no use

  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 15 Oct 2026 · AT

    Nichts Positives

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 15 Oct 2026 · US

    Adding a advistisement of sorts at the bottom of my sent emails.

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 15 Oct 2026 · BR

    Ótimo anti vírus.

    Original review

Questions about Avast Free VPN

Answers built from what Avast Free VPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is Avast Free VPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 2.3/10 and security 3.6/10 (segment medians 1.3 and 2.5). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: ✕ No.

In 10 seconds

  • Kill switch
  • Stores session times

Privacy

Jurisdiction
Czechia, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
Legal entity
Avast Software s.r.o. (Gen Digital Inc.)
No-logs policy
Partial doesn't log activity traceable to you; VPN policy keeps server/usage metadata
Data retention
server metadata 18 mo; connection events 12 mo; app events 18 mo; crash 90 days; account lifetime+2y
Shared with third parties
Google Firebase; Crashlytics; Singular; AppsFlyer; payment providers
Trackers on the website
Yes cookie notice; Do not sell my info

Security

Kill switch
Yes
DNS leak protection
Yes (yes (own secure DNS))
Encryption
bank-grade encryption
Open-source apps
No
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

Avast Free VPN not working? Common causes and what to check

2 things to check, built from what Avast Free VPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Switch protocol in the app: Avast Free VPN lists OpenVPN, IKEv2, Own protocol.

Contact support: email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Telegram
No
Mirrors or channel
No
Email
Yes support center

Avast Free VPN alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score

9 alternatives to Avast Free VPN (2.72) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: Malwarebytes Privacy VPN (3.97).

Alternatives to Avast Free VPN

9 alternatives
#ServiceScoreWhy it is hereFrom
1Malwarebytes Privacy VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes Free plan
3.97higher score, same pricehigher score, same price€3.33per month
2HMA VPN (Hide My Ass)
Consumer VPN · Czechia Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
3.29same ownersame owner€2.57per month
3McAfee VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
3.19similar featuressimilar features€2.15per month
4Norton VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA
3.01similar featuressimilar features€2.29per month
5Avast SecureLine VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA
2.88similar featuressimilar features€3.43per month
6AVG Secure VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA
2.81similar featuressimilar features€3.78per month
7Avast Secure Browser
Built into a browser / OS · Czechia
2.43same ownersame owner€2.00per month
8Webroot WiFi Security
VPN in a security suite · USA
2.31similar featuressimilar features€2.58per month
9TotalVPN (Total AV)
VPN in a security suite · UK
1.79similar featuressimilar features€7.10per month

Avast Free VPN is listed as an alternative to

Avast Free VPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

Avast Free VPN refund window: 30 days. Conditions: Request within 30 days of initial purchase or renewal anniversary

Refund terms

Refund window
30
Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
60

How to cancel Avast Free VPN and turn off auto-renewal

How Avast Free VPN says you cancel: Avast Account linked to purchase email. Auto-renewal by default: yes.

Cancellation and renewal

Auto-renewal by default
Yes
Reminder before renewal
Not stated
Renewal note
Renews at $99.99/yr; may increase; charged up to 35 days before anniversary at then-current price
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

Avast Free VPN free trial: length, terms and payment details

Avast Free VPN free trial: 60, site/all. Card needed: yes.

Trial terms

Length
60
Card needed
Yes
Limits
payment details required, charged after trial
Instead of a trial
30-day money-back
Refund window
30
Free plan
no free VPN shown on site (60-day trial only)

Who owns Avast Free VPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

Avast Free VPN is run by Avast Software s.r.o. (Gen Digital Inc.), registered in Czech Republic (parent Gen Digital, USA); parent company: Gen Digital Inc..

Company

Address
Pikrtova 1737/1A, 140 00 Prague 4, Czech Republic
Related brands
AVG; Norton; Avira; CCleaner; BreachGuard; NortonLifeLock
Group
Gen Digital VPN brands

In our rankings

Avast Free VPN appears on 90 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 90

Also similar to Avast Free VPN

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://avast.com
Pages checked
https://www.avast.com/; https://www.avast.com/secureline-vpn; https://www.avast.com/free-vpn (fetch error); https://www.avast.com/privacy-policy; https://www.avast.com/vpn-policy

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error