MacKeeper Private Connect review: score, privacy and prices

2.03

out of 10#250 of 377 in the main ranking
VPN in a security suite median 1.8

  • VPN in a security suite
  • Jurisdiction:not stated, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
  • Owner:Clario Tech FZCO
  • Data completeness73%
  • Checked2026-10-15

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Privacy and jurisdiction2.3 vs 1.3
  • Platforms and support5.0 vs 4.2
  • Network and streaming2.6 vs 2.3

Weakest against its segment

  • Security and protocols1.1 vs 2.5
  • Price and fair terms2.3 vs 3.3
  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.0
  • Stores session times
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare MacKeeper Private Connect side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of VPN in a security suite services in the main ranking (23 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

MacKeeper Private Connectsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 1.32.3
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.51.1
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.32.3
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.00.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.32.6
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.25.0
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

MacKeeper Private Connect pricing

The cheapest way in is €5.12 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, MacKeeper Private Connect renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep MacKeeper Private Connect running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year2 years3 years
1 Mac 1-month, 1 mo €9.42 €113.00at the current price€226.01at the current price€339.01at the current price
1 Mac 12-month, 12 mo €61.40 €61.40——
3 Macs 12-month, 12 mo €76.88 €76.88——

Compare MacKeeper Private Connect’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal term
1 Mac 1-month1 mo$10.95$10.95€9.42—
1 Mac 12-month12 mo$71.40$5.95€5.1212 mo
3 Macs 12-month12 mo$89.40$7.45€6.4112 mo

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
14 (monthly); 30 (yearly)
Refund conditions
30d yearly / 14d monthly; licenses used >6 months non-refundable
Free trial
Not stated
Auto-renewal
Yes
How to cancel
cancel subscription (subscription-termination page)
Payment methods
card; PayPal
VAT
No taxes by country added at payment
Renewal note
auto-renews; email at least 7 days before charge; subsequent payments billed annually on all cards; also a +10% discounted variant (12m 1 Mac $64.26) and 15% coupon popup

Everything MacKeeper Private Connect publishes

Every fact we collected about MacKeeper Private Connect, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Clario Tech FZCO
Registered in
AE (Dubai)
Address
Jumeirah Lakes Towers, Dubai, UAE
Related brands
Clario; MacKeeper StopAd
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
none
Website languages
  • EN
  • FR
  • DE
  • ES
  • IT
  • NL
  • ZH
  • JA
  • PT
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
MacKeeper 1 Mac; MacKeeper 3 Macs (full suite incl. VPN)
Billing terms
1m; 12m
Cheapest price a month
$5.36
Monthly plan
$10.95
1-year plan, total
$71.40
1-year plan, a month
$5.95
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
  • auto-renews
  • email at least 7 days before charge
  • subsequent payments billed annually on all cards
  • also a +10% discounted variant (12m 1 Mac $64.26) and 15% coupon popup
VAT included
No taxes by country added at payment
Family plan
Yes 3-Mac plan
Prices seen from other countries
  • EUR: 1m 1 Mac €14.95
  • 12m 1 Mac €5.95/mo (€71.40/yr)
  • 12m 3 Macs €7.45/mo (€89.40/yr)
Dedicated IP add-on
No
Port forwarding add-on
No
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
Yes included
Password manager
No
eSIM
No
Identity protection
included (password/card leak monitoring)
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
included: cleaner, adware/pop-up blocker, 24/7 chat support

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
46%
Discount compared with
vs $131.40/yr (monthly x12)
Promo codes
Yes coupon field; 15% special offer popup
Student discount
Not stated
Discount for crypto payment
No
Bonus months
No
Affiliate programme
Yes MacKeeper Affiliate Program
Affiliate commission
  • custom performance-based rates (CPS)
  • 180-day cookie
  • avg cart value $75

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
1 Mac at a time per license (ToS); 3-Mac plan
Data limit
data limit enforced
Prohibited by the terms
scraping, automated access, spam, interfering with site

Free plan

Free plan
Partial limited free download
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated
Other free plan terms
comparison table Free vs Full unclear

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
card; PayPal
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Yes
Cryptocurrency
Not stated
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
cancel subscription (subscription-termination page)
Email needed to sign up
Yes
Account-number login
Not stated
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
14 (monthly); 30 (yearly)
Refund conditions
30d yearly / 14d monthly; licenses used >6 months non-refundable

Free trial terms

Trial length
Not stated
Where the trial is offered
site (Mac app)
Instead of a trial
limited free version
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
50
Servers
300+ server locations (claimed)
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardNot stated
  • OpenVPNreview, PCMag Feb 2025: current edition uses OpenVPN✓ Yes
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolOpenVPN✕ No
  • VLESS / Realityreview: app uses OpenVPN, no protocol selection✕ No
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • Shadowsocksreview: app uses OpenVPN, no protocol selection✕ No
  • Hysteria2review: app uses OpenVPN, no protocol selection✕ No
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Encryption
AES-256
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
No advanced options (review, Comparitech: no protocol selection, no kill switch, no split tunneling)
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Yes DNS + WebRTC leak shield
Split tunnelling
No review: PCMag, Comparitech - no split tunneling
Ad and malware blocker
Yes separate StopAd / adware blocking in suite
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Partial no browsing history, traffic, sites, DNS logged
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
  • as long as needed
  • some after inactivity
  • erasure up to 30 days
Shared with third parties
  • service providers
  • Facebook custom audiences (emails)
  • LogMeIn/TeamViewer
  • not sold
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Law enforcement requests
discloses when required by law/government request
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated
GDPR / data protection officer
  • no DPO named
  • EU rep Assetynx Ltd (BG)
  • legal@weareclario.com
Privacy policy updated
2026-09-14

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • IP at sign-upMac app IP addresses✕ Yes
  • Connection IP✓ No
  • Session timesVPN connection timestamps✕ Yes
  • Bandwidthtotal data per session✕ Yes
  • Device info✕ Yes
  • App analyticsextension usage stats on by default; iOS feature usage✕ Yes
  • Crash reports✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✕ No
  • macOS10.15+✓ Yes
  • Linux✕ No
  • iOSMacKeeper mobile app for iOS✓ Yes
  • AndroidMacKeeper mobile app for Android with VPN component✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated
Last app update
7.8 (Sep 2026)

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Yes in-app
Live chat 24/7
Yes
Email / tickets
Yes
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Help articles
Yes Help Center
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    4.11 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 4.22; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 4.21 from 38.

    The company replied to 35 of 35 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.2 (2296 reviews).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’256 reviews, average 4.33
  2. Nov ’2513 reviews, average 4.08
  3. Dec ’2514 reviews, average 4.29
  4. Jan ’2630 reviews, average 4.4
  5. Feb ’2610 reviews, average 3.8
  6. Mar ’2614 reviews, average 3.79
  7. Apr ’2616 reviews, average 4.69
  8. May ’2624 reviews, average 4.04
  9. Jun ’2617 reviews, average 3.88
  10. Jul ’2613 reviews, average 5.0
  11. Aug ’2612 reviews, average 3.33
  12. Sep ’2615 reviews, average 4.6
  13. Oct ’264 reviews, average 4.0
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

17 Reddit and forum threads mention MacKeeper Private Connect (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 10 Oct 2026 · PT

    Muito obrigada pela ajuda prestada

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 08 Oct 2026 · IN

    I am extremely disappointed with myExtremely Disappointed – No Reason, No Explanation, No Response…

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 01 Oct 2026 · CA

    They are always available and respond…

    Original review

Rankings by user reviews

Questions about MacKeeper Private Connect

Answers built from what MacKeeper Private Connect publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is MacKeeper Private Connect safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 2.3/10 and security 1.1/10 (segment medians 1.3 and 2.5). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: Not stated.

In 10 seconds

  • Stores session times

Privacy

Jurisdiction
Not stated
Legal entity
Clario Tech FZCO
No-logs policy
Partial no browsing history, traffic, sites, DNS logged
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
as long as needed; some after inactivity; erasure up to 30 days
Shared with third parties
service providers; Facebook custom audiences (emails); LogMeIn/TeamViewer; not sold

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Yes (yes (DNS + WebRTC leak shield))
Encryption
AES-256
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

Is it safe? of similar VPNs

MacKeeper Private Connect not working? Common causes and what to check

2 things to check, built from what MacKeeper Private Connect publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Update the app: the last update we saw is dated 7.8 (Sep 2026).

Contact support: live chat, email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
Yes in-app
Live chat 24/7
Yes

MacKeeper Private Connect refund policy: how to ask for your money back

MacKeeper Private Connect refund window: 14 (monthly); 30 (yearly). Conditions: 30d yearly / 14d monthly; licenses used >6 months non-refundable

Refund terms

Refund on monthly plans
Yes
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated

Refund policies of similar VPNs

How to cancel MacKeeper Private Connect and turn off auto-renewal

How MacKeeper Private Connect says you cancel: cancel subscription (subscription-termination page). Auto-renewal by default: yes.

Cancellation and renewal

Auto-renewal by default
Yes
Renewal note
auto-renews; email at least 7 days before charge; subsequent payments billed annually on all cards; also a +10% discounted variant (12m 1 Mac $64.26) and 15% coupon popup
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

MacKeeper Private Connect coupons and discounts: official prices and promo terms

What MacKeeper Private Connect itself publishes about codes: yes (coupon field; 15% special offer popup). We never invent codes or copy them from coupon sites; below are the official prices.

Discounts on the official site

Sale running when checked
none seen
Discount shown
46%
Discount compared with
vs $131.40/yr (monthly x12)
Bonus months
No
Crypto discount
No
Checked
2026-10-15

Who owns MacKeeper Private Connect? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

MacKeeper Private Connect is run by Clario Tech FZCO, registered in AE (Dubai); parent company: Clario Tech FZCO.

Company

Address
Jumeirah Lakes Towers, Dubai, UAE
Related brands
Clario; MacKeeper StopAd

Owners of similar VPNs

In our rankings

MacKeeper Private Connect appears on 47 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 47

Higher score for the same money

Also similar to MacKeeper Private Connect

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://mackeeper.com
Pages checked
https://mackeeper.com; https://mackeeper.com/mac-vpn/; https://mackeeper.com/pricing/; https://mackeeper.com/privacy-policy/; https://mackeeper.com/terms-conditions/
Other sources used
payment_methods/paypal: https://mackeeper.com/pricing/ (FAQ); affiliate: https://mackeeper.com/affiliate-program/; collects_connection_ip/traffic_limit/ios/android: https://mackeeper.com/privacy-policy/; openvpn: https://www.pcmag.com/reviews/mackeeper (snippet); split_tunneling/stealth: https://www.comparitech.com/antivirus/reviews/mackeeper-antivirus-review/ (snippet), PCMag (snippet); site https://mackeeper.com/mac-vpn/ (browser) only states AES-256, no protocol

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error