Aura VPN review: score, privacy and prices

2.14

out of 10#235 of 377 in the main ranking
VPN in a security suite median 1.8

  • VPN in a security suite
  • Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
  • Owner:Aura
  • Data completeness80%
  • Checked2026-10-15

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Network and streaming5.0 vs 2.3
  • Platforms and support5.1 vs 4.2
  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.0

Weakest against its segment

  • Security and protocols1.4 vs 2.5
  • Price and fair terms3.0 vs 3.3
  • Privacy and jurisdiction1.3 vs 1.3
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Stores session times

Compare Aura VPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of VPN in a security suite services in the main ranking (23 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Aura VPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 1.31.3
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.51.4
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.33.0
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.00.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.35.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.25.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Aura VPN pricing

From €8.60 a month

  • Monthly plan: €11.18
  • 8 plans published · market median €3.13 a month
Full pricing breakdown

Everything Aura VPN publishes

Every fact we collected about Aura VPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Aura Sub, LLC (dba Aura)
Registered in
USA
Address
250 Northern Ave., 3rd Floor, Boston, MA 02210, USA
Parent company
Aura
Related brands
Circle Media Labs (Circle); Qustodio
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
EN
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Individual
  • Couple
  • Family
  • Kids
Billing terms
1; 12 months
Cheapest price a month
$12.00
Monthly plan
$15.00
1-year plan, total
$144.00
1-year plan, a month
$12.00
2-year plan, total
No
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
Renewal prices not stated; annual totals computed from per-month price
Family plan
Yes Couple 2 adults; Family 5 adults + unlimited kids
Prices seen from other countries
  • USD: Individual $12/mo annual or $15 monthly
  • Couple $22/$29
  • Family $32/$50
  • Kids $10/$13 (14-day free trial, 60-day MBG on annual)
Dedicated IP add-on
No
Port forwarding add-on
No
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
Yes included
Password manager
Yes included
eSIM
No
Identity protection
included ($1M-$5M insurance)
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
  • credit monitoring
  • data broker removal
  • parental controls
  • spam call protection
  • cyber insurance up to $50K

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
50-60% (Individual 50, Couple 54, Family 60)
Student discount
Not stated
Bonus months
No
Affiliate programme
Yes
Affiliate commission
  • $65 per qualified enrollment
  • 60-day cookie
  • net-30 monthly payouts

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
10 per adult (Individual 10, Couple 20, Family unlimited)
Country restrictions
US-focused (identity verification, credit eligibility)
Features locked to higher plans
kill switch/split tunneling may not be available with all plans; Kids plan has no VPN

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
Not stated
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
How to cancel
refund requests by phone 1-833-552-2123
Email needed to sign up
Yes
Phone needed to sign up
Yes
Account-number login
No
Identity check (KYC)
Yes identity verification; SSN for ID protection
Money-back guarantee, days
60
Refund conditions
Annual plans bought via Aura website/support only (not Amazon, not monthly); request by phone within 60 days of initial purchase/trial start

Free trial terms

Trial length
14 days
Where the trial is offered
site
Trial limits
once per customer; full access depends on identity verification and credit eligibility
Instead of a trial
60-day money-back (annual)
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
~80 countries (review); site says 100+ virtual locations
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Yes 100+ virtual locations
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
No
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardNot stated
  • OpenVPNNot stated
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolNot stated
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Encryption
AES-128 fixed (review)
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
No
Open-source apps
No

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
No
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes may not be in all plans
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Yes by site; may not be in all plans
Ad and malware blocker
Yes Anti-Track & Ad Blocker; Safe Browsing; VPN blocks known malicious resources
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes do not log or record online activities over VPN tied to you
Independent no-logs audit
No
Data retention
  • VPN: connection IP deleted at session end
  • anonymized domain stats aggregated ~monthly
  • device hashes kept
Shared with third parties
  • service providers
  • affiliates (Circle Media Labs)
  • co-brand partners
  • ad pixels may count as sale/share
Trackers on the website
Yes third-party advertising cookies/pixels; GPC honored
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Law enforcement requests
no VPN activity data to share; otherwise discloses when legally required, challenges overbroad
Anonymous sign-up
No
GDPR / data protection officer
Yes Dentons Europe, Berlin; DPO.Aura.Europe@dentons.com
Privacy policy updated
2026-09-17 (effective 2026-10-01)

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • IP at sign-updevice identifiers incl. IP✕ Yes
  • Connection IPcollected at connect, encrypted, deleted at end of VPN session; used for payment fraud prevention◐ Partial
  • Session timesVPN session duration logged✕ Yes
  • Bandwidthbandwidth per session logged✕ Yes
  • Device info✕ Yes
  • App analytics✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows10+✓ Yes
  • macOS12+✓ Yes
  • LinuxNot stated
  • iOS16+✓ Yes
  • Android12+✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Yes

Speed, streaming and gaming

Claimed speed
'speeds that won't slow you down'
10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
mentioned (no guarantee)
BBC iPlayer
Yes worked in test (review)
Disney+
Partial worked in test, some blocks (review)
Prime Video
No blocked in test (review)
Gaming features
Yes in-game cyberbullying alerts (parental)
Torrenting
Yes (P2P on all servers) (review)

Support

Live chat
Yes (bot first, live agent on request ~1-2 min) (review)
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes help center/contact
Phone
Yes +1 833.552.2123; 24/7 US-based fraud specialists
Telegram
No
WhatsApp
No
Support languages
EN
Help articles
Yes
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    4.34 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 4.51; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 4.49 from 191.

    The company replied to 22 of 22 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.01 of 5, smoothed

    From 500 collected reviews (raw average 2.96; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.96 from 183.

  • Google Play

    3.90 of 5, smoothed

    From 4 collected reviews (raw average 4.00; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 5.00 from 1.

    The company replied to 1 of 1 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.3 (1301 reviews); App Store (US) 4.67 (110010 ratings); Google Play 3.4 (21 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Jan ’262 reviews, average 3.0
  2. Feb ’2649 reviews, average 2.96
  3. Mar ’2666 reviews, average 3.32
  4. Apr ’2652 reviews, average 2.75
  5. May ’2661 reviews, average 3.1
  6. Jun ’2647 reviews, average 2.77
  7. Jul ’26105 reviews, average 3.55
  8. Aug ’26132 reviews, average 3.56
  9. Sep ’26136 reviews, average 3.9
  10. Oct ’2653 reviews, average 3.51
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

37 Reddit and forum threads mention Aura VPN (titles and search snippets only).

All Aura VPN user reviews

Questions about Aura VPN

Answers built from what Aura VPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Aura VPN not working? Common causes and what to check

1 things to check, built from what Aura VPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Contact support: live chat, email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
Yes (bot first, live agent on request ~1-2 min) (review)
Live chat 24/7
24/7 customer support claimed on pricing page
Telegram
No
Mirrors or channel
No
Email
Yes help center/contact

Aura VPN coupons and discounts: official prices and promo terms

Aura VPN publishes no promo code on its own site in what we read, so we list none. We never invent codes or copy them from coupon sites; below are the official prices.

Discounts on the official site

Promo codes
Not stated
Sale running when checked
none seen
Discount shown
50-60% (Individual 50, Couple 54, Family 60)
Bonus months
No
Checked
2026-10-15

Official prices

Official prices
PlanFirst paymentThen
Individual, 12 mo€123.84—
Individual, 1 mo€12.90€12.90 / 1 mo
Couple, 12 mo€227.04—
Couple, 1 mo€24.94€24.94 / 1 mo
Family, 12 mo€330.24—
Family, 1 mo€43.00€43.00 / 1 mo
Kids (no VPN), 12 mo€103.20—
Kids (no VPN), 1 mo€11.18€11.18 / 1 mo

In our rankings

Aura VPN appears on 82 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 82

Also similar to Aura VPN

Owner and jurisdiction

Closed services Aura VPN replaces

Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15.

Website
https://aura.com
Pages checked
https://www.aura.com/; https://www.aura.com/pricing; https://www.aura.com/vpn; https://www.aura.com/legal/privacy-policy
Other sources used
affiliate_program/affiliate_commission: https://www.aura.com/affiliate-program; collects_connection_ip/collects_timestamps/collects_bandwidth/data_retention/adblock_malware_blocker: https://www.aura.com/privacy/vpn-products; live_chat_247/adblock_malware_blocker: https://www.aura.com/pricing; wireguard/openvpn/proprietary_protocol/encryption/countries_count/live_chat/nologs_audit/torrenting_allowed/bbc_iplayer/disney_plus/prime_video: https://www.security.org/vpn/aura/

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error

When (UTC)FieldWasNow
2026-10-16rank_main289288
2026-10-16rank_consumer337336