Dashlane VPN review: score, privacy and prices

0.96

out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
VPN in a security suite median 1.8

  • VPN in a security suite
  • Jurisdiction:USA, alliance not disclosed
  • Data completeness40%
  • Checked2026-10-15

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.0
  • Network and streaming2.0 vs 2.3
  • Price and fair terms2.5 vs 3.3

Weakest against its segment

  • Platforms and support2.4 vs 4.2
  • Security and protocols0.7 vs 2.5
  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 1.3

Compare Dashlane VPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of VPN in a security suite services in the main ranking (23 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Dashlane VPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 1.30.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.50.7
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.32.5
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.00.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.32.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.22.4
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Dashlane VPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €3.96 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Dashlane VPN renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep Dashlane VPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 EUR = €1). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year
Premium (incl. Hotspot Shield VPN), 12 mo €47.52 €47.52
Friends & Family (10 members; VPN only for plan manager), 12 mo €72.00 €72.00
Business Omnix Password Management, per user, incl. VPN, 12 mo €96.00 €96.00

Compare Dashlane VPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer monthRenewal term
Premium (incl. Hotspot Shield VPN)12 mo€47.52€3.9612 mo
Friends & Family (10 members; VPN only for plan manager)12 mo€72.00€6.0012 mo
Business Omnix Password Management, per user, incl. VPN12 mo€96.00€8.0012 mo

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
30 days
Free trial
14 days, site (Premium)
Auto-renewal
Not stated
Payment methods
credit card (website); PayPal (UK only for new purchases); Google Play; Apple App Store
Renewal note
billed annually

Everything Dashlane VPN publishes

Every fact we collected about Dashlane VPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Dashlane, Inc. (Delaware; New York) / Dashlane SAS (Paris, France)
Registered in
US (Delaware) / France
Related brands
VPN powered by Hotspot Shield
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
Not stated
Website languages
  • EN
  • FR
  • DE
  • NL
  • ES
Currencies on the site
none rendered
Prices depend on country
likely (prices hidden for RU)

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Premium (incl. VPN)
  • Friends & Family (VPN only for manager)
  • Business: Password Management, Credential Protection, Enterprise
Billing terms
billed annually
Cheapest price a month
Not stated
Monthly plan
Not stated
1-year plan, a month
€3.96
2-year plan, total
No
Lifetime plan
No
Family plan
Partial Friends & Family, 10 members; VPN only for plan manager
Prices seen from other countries
  • Premium €3.96/mo +VAT billed annually
  • Friends&Family €6.00/mo +VAT (10 members) billed annually
  • Business Omnix Password Mgmt €8/user/mo, Credential Protection €4/user/mo (USD FAQ: $8/$4)
Dedicated IP add-on
No
Port forwarding add-on
No
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
No
Password manager
Yes included (core product)
eSIM
No
Identity protection
dark web monitoring; AI scam protection included
Cloud storage
1GB encrypted document storage
Other add-ons
VPN itself is a Premium feature

Discounts and programmes

Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
5 (Hotspot Shield VPN via Dashlane)
Data limit
no bandwidth limits (claim)
Features locked to higher plans
VPN only in Premium / F&F manager

Free plan

Free plan
Not stated
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
  • credit card (website)
  • PayPal (UK only for new purchases)
  • Google Play
  • Apple App Store
PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
No not offered
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
Email needed to sign up
Not stated
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
30

Free trial terms

Trial length
14 days
Where the trial is offered
site (Premium)
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
80+ (via Hotspot Shield; 35+ cities)
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardNot stated
  • OpenVPNNot stated
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolNot stated
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Yes
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Not stated
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timesNot stated

Apps and devices

  • WindowsNot stated
  • macOSNot stated
  • LinuxNot stated
  • iOSNot stated
  • AndroidNot stated
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Yes
Live chat 24/7
Yes Hotspot Shield 24/7 tech support for VPN; Dashlane live chat
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Support languages
EN; FR (help center)
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Yes business Password Management plan
SCIM provisioning
Yes business Password Management plan
Admin panel
Yes business
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated
Identity providers
SSO/SCIM integrations

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    2.42 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 2.11; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 17.

    The company replied to 17 of 144 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    4.59 of 5, smoothed

    From 1000 collected reviews (raw average 4.64; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 4.75 from 607.

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 2.7 (6057 reviews); App Store (US) 4.79 (107258 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’2519 reviews, average 2.68
  2. Nov ’2528 reviews, average 3.46
  3. Dec ’2518 reviews, average 3.28
  4. Jan ’2617 reviews, average 4.0
  5. Feb ’2612 reviews, average 2.67
  6. Mar ’2622 reviews, average 4.18
  7. Apr ’2623 reviews, average 4.0
  8. May ’2623 reviews, average 4.43
  9. Jun ’2625 reviews, average 3.6
  10. Jul ’2618 reviews, average 3.72
  11. Aug ’26180 reviews, average 4.42
  12. Sep ’26294 reviews, average 4.72
  13. Oct ’26139 reviews, average 4.86
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

41 Reddit and forum threads mention Dashlane VPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 1★ · 14 Oct 2026 · US

    Deleted my data - can’t recommend

  • App Store · 5★ · 13 Oct 2026 · GB

    Dashlane

  • App Store · 5★ · 13 Oct 2026 · GB

    Excellent app

  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 14 Oct 2026 · FR

    Facturation, Service, ... Une erreur de leur faire comfiance

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 07 Oct 2026 · CA

    Used very happily for many years, then POOF, gone

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 22 Sep 2026 · US

    Horrible customer service.

    Original review

Questions about Dashlane VPN

Answers built from what Dashlane VPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Dashlane VPN alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score

6 alternatives to Dashlane VPN (0.96) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: McAfee VPN (3.19).

Alternatives to Dashlane VPN

6 alternatives: similar features
#ServiceScoreFrom
1McAfee VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
3.19€2.15per month
2Webroot WiFi Security
VPN in a security suite · USA
2.31€2.58per month
3Aura VPN
VPN in a security suite · USA
2.14€10.32per month
4Trend Micro VPN
VPN in a security suite · Japan
1.51€2.15per month
5Clario
VPN in a security suite · jurisdiction not stated
1.35—
6Trend Micro VPN Proxy One
VPN in a security suite · USA
1.11€2.15per month

Dashlane VPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

Dashlane VPN refund window: 30 days.

Refund terms

Refund window
30
Conditions
Not stated
Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
14

Dashlane VPN free trial: length, terms and payment details

Dashlane VPN free trial: 14, site (Premium).

Trial terms

Length
14
Card needed
Not stated
Refund window
30

Who owns Dashlane VPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

Dashlane VPN is run by Dashlane, Inc. (Delaware; New York) / Dashlane SAS (Paris, France), registered in US (Delaware) / France.

Company

Registered in
US (Delaware) / France
Related brands
VPN powered by Hotspot Shield

Jurisdiction

Owner and jurisdiction

Closed services Dashlane VPN replaces

Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15.

Website
https://dashlane.com
Pages checked
https://www.dashlane.com/features/vpn; https://www.dashlane.com/pricing; https://www.dashlane.com/pricing-personal (webfetch + browser); support.dashlane.com article (fetch error)
Other sources used
prices/plans: https://www.dashlane.com/pricing-personal, https://www.dashlane.com/pricing; money_back/payment: https://support.dashlane.com/hc/en-us/articles/12248372111506-Get-a-refund-for-my-Dashlane-subscription; devices/live_chat_247: https://support.dashlane.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000037900-VPN-protection-with-Hotspot-Shield; countries: https://www.dashlane.com/blog/improved-vpn-experience/; legal_entity/registration: https://www.dashlane.com/terms; site_languages: hreflang on dashlane.com/terms

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error

When (UTC)FieldWasNow
2026-10-16rank_consumer459458