OysterVPN review: score, privacy and prices

2.79

out of 10#140 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:Ireland, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
  • Data completeness93%
  • Checked2026-10-15

Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Platforms and support8.1 vs 4.3
  • Network and streaming6.3 vs 3.1
  • Security and protocols3.6 vs 2.1

Weakest against its segment

  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.7
  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
  • Price and fair terms4.3 vs 3.5
  • Stores session times
  • Auto-renewal on by default
  • Stores connection IP addresses

Compare OysterVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

OysterVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.70.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.13.6
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.54.3
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.16.3
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.38.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

OysterVPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €2.87 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, OysterVPN renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep OysterVPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year2 years3 years
1-Month (+2 months free promo), 1 mo €5.15 €61.82at the current price€123.63at the current price€185.45at the current price
1-Year, 12 mo €34.39 €34.39——
Lifetime, Lifetime €51.59 €51.59€51.59€51.59

Compare OysterVPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / month
1-Month (+2 months free promo)1 mo$5.99$5.99€5.15
1-Year12 mo$39.99$3.33€2.86
LifetimeLifetime$59.99——

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
30 days
Refund conditions
30 days from purchase, all plans; refund to original method; App Store/third-party store purchases excluded; not for ToS violations
Free trial
0 (no free trial; 30-day money-back instead)
Auto-renewal
Yes
How to cancel
cancel anytime stops auto-renewal (no refund); via account/support
Payment methods
PayPal; Stripe (cards) via third-party merchants

Everything OysterVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about OysterVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Oyster Digital Solutions Ltd
Registered in
Ireland
Address
29 Churchwell Road, Balgriffin, Dublin 13, D13EY67, Ireland
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
none
Website languages
EN (language switcher present, options not read)
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • 1-Month
  • 1-Year
  • Lifetime
Billing terms
  • 1m
  • 12m
  • lifetime
Cheapest price a month
1.99 (banner claim); 3.33 on 1-year
Monthly plan
$5.99
1-year plan, total
$39.99
1-year plan, a month
$3.33
Lifetime plan
$59.99
Family plan
No
Prices seen from other countries
  • 1m $5.99 (+2 months free promo)
  • 12m $39.99 ($3.33/mo)
  • Lifetime $59.99 (+password manager 1yr)
  • banner from $1.99/month
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
No
Password manager
Yes included 1 yr with Lifetime
eSIM
No
Identity protection
No
Cloud storage
No

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
58% (1-Year vs monthly)
Discount compared with
monthly plan
Sale running when checked
Limited time offer: 1-Month +2 months free; Lifetime deal
Student discount
Not stated
Bonus months
+2 months free on 1-Month plan
Affiliate programme
Yes /affiliates/

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
5
Data limit
unlimited
Torrenting / P2P policy
Yes P2P optimized servers advertised
Features locked to higher plans
No

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated
Other free plan terms
home page mentions free one-month subscription

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
PayPal; Stripe (cards) via third-party merchants
PayPal
Not stated
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes in-app via App Store/Google Play
Cryptocurrency
No review: cards and PayPal only
Cash
No
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
cancel anytime stops auto-renewal (no refund); via account/support
Email needed to sign up
Yes
Account-number login
No
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
30
Refund conditions
  • 30 days from purchase, all plans
  • refund to original method
  • App Store/third-party store purchases excluded
  • not for ToS violations

Free trial terms

Trial length
0 (no free trial; 30-day money-back instead)
Instead of a trial
30-day money-back
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
65 (home) / 39+ (pricing) / 18+ (servers page)
Servers
3200+ (home) / 402+ (pricing) / 152+ (servers page)
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Yes
Streaming servers
Yes
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Yes IPv6 leak protection
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✓ Yes
  • OpenVPN✓ Yes
  • IKEv2✓ Yes
  • L2TP/IPsecYes
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolLightshell (in-house)✓ Yes
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
  • PPTP✕ Yes
Encryption
AES-256
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Partial Camouflage Mode obfuscation; review says it doesn't work in China/Iran/Russia
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes
DNS leak protection
Yes
Split tunnelling
Yes
Ad and malware blocker
Yes anti-malware
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Not stated
Independent no-logs audit
No
Data retention
account data deleted 30 days after account deletion; otherwise unspecified
Shared with third parties
  • payment processors
  • Google Analytics
  • live chat provider
Trackers on the website
Google Tag Manager/Analytics; live chat (VooChat?) per cookie banner
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated
GDPR / data protection officer
no DPO named; GDPR/CCPA referenced
Privacy policy updated
2022-08-11

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • Connection IPpolicy: which VPN servers and IP addresses were used✕ Yes
  • Session timeswhen user connects to a VPN server✕ Yes
  • Device info✕ Yes
  • App analyticsGoogle Analytics web+app✕ Yes
  • Crash reportsoptional anonymous diagnostics✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TV✓ Yes
  • Fire TV✓ Yes
  • Apple TV✓ Yes
  • Chromebook✓ Yes
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
  • Chrome
  • Firefox
  • Edge
App Store rating
4.0 (27 ratings, US)
Google Play rating
2.6 (310 reviews)
Google Play installs
50K+

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
claims Netflix
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Yes claimed
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Yes P2P servers

Support

Live chat
Yes
Live chat 24/7
Yes
Email / tickets
Yes
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Support languages
EN (24/7 live chat, support@oystervpn.com)
Help articles
Yes support center, FAQs
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    3.50 of 5, smoothed

    From 39 collected reviews (raw average 3.28; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 3.50 from 2.

    The company replied to 4 of 14 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.72 of 5, smoothed

    From 23 collected reviews (raw average 4.13; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 1.

  • Google Play

    2.85 of 5, smoothed

    From 101 collected reviews (raw average 2.33; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 1.50 from 6.

    The company replied to 0 of 66 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 2.8 (39 reviews); App Store (US) 3.96 (27 ratings); Google Play 2.6 (310 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’254 reviews, average 2.0
  2. Nov ’2511 reviews, average 1.91
  3. Dec ’254 reviews, average 1.5
  4. Jan ’264 reviews, average 2.0
  5. Feb ’262 reviews, average 1.0
  6. Mar ’265 reviews, average 3.0
  7. Apr ’267 reviews, average 3.29
  8. May ’265 reviews, average 1.8
  9. Jun ’262 reviews, average 2.0
  10. Jul ’265 reviews, average 1.6
  11. Aug ’263 reviews, average 2.33
  12. Sep ’263 reviews, average 2.33
  13. Oct ’261 reviews, average 1.0
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

42 Reddit and forum threads mention OysterVPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 1★ · 02 Aug 2026 · US

    No more Philippines

  • App Store · 5★ · 28 May 2026 · GB

    Oyster VPN

  • App Store · 1★ · 17 Jan 2026 · US

    Don’t bother

  • Google Play · 1★ · 01 Oct 2026

    server is down

  • Google Play · 1★ · 21 Sep 2026

    Wireguard unavailable on android. IKEv2 is the default even in pc, but there at least you had an option to change it. No ipv6 either. Edit: None of the servers…

  • Google Play · 1★ · 16 Sep 2026

    Keeps Crashing and Can't Even Open the App, keeps getting timout...Doesn't Work...just useless

  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 28 Sep 2026 · IT

    My experience with Oyster VPN has been…

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 2★ · 04 Aug 2026 · IT

    Servers down for months

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 2★ · 17 Jul 2026 · GB

    Occasionally worth it

    Original review

Questions about OysterVPN

Answers built from what OysterVPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is OysterVPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 0.0/10 and security 3.6/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.1). Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses. Independent no-logs audit: ✕ No.

In 10 seconds

  • Kill switch
  • Stores connection IP
  • Stores session times

Privacy

Jurisdiction
Ireland, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
Legal entity
Oyster Digital Solutions Ltd
No-logs policy
claims strict no-logs, but policy lists timestamps, DNS queries & traffic destinations, servers/IPs used
Data retention
account data deleted 30 days after account deletion; otherwise unspecified
Shared with third parties
payment processors; Google Analytics; live chat provider
Trackers on the website
Google Tag Manager/Analytics; live chat (VooChat?) per cookie banner

Security

Kill switch
Yes
Encryption
AES-256
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

OysterVPN not working? Common causes and what to check

3 things to check, built from what OysterVPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Switch protocol in the app: OysterVPN lists WireGuard, OpenVPN, IKEv2, L2TP/IPsec, Own protocol.

If the network blocks VPNs, turn on obfuscation (Camouflage Mode obfuscation; review says it doesn't work in China/Iran/Russia).

Contact support: live chat, email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
Yes

OysterVPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

OysterVPN refund window: 30 days. Conditions: 30 days from purchase, all plans; refund to original method; App Store/third-party store purchases excluded; not for ToS violations

Refund terms

Refund window
30
Refund on monthly plans
Yes
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
0 (no free trial; 30-day money-back instead)

How to cancel OysterVPN and turn off auto-renewal

How OysterVPN says you cancel: cancel anytime stops auto-renewal (no refund); via account/support. Auto-renewal by default: yes.

Cancellation and renewal

Auto-renewal by default
Yes
Reminder before renewal
Not stated
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

OysterVPN coupons and discounts: official prices and promo terms

OysterVPN publishes no promo code on its own site in what we read, so we list none. We never invent codes or copy them from coupon sites; below are the official prices.

Discounts on the official site

Promo codes
Not stated
Sale running when checked
Limited time offer: 1-Month +2 months free; Lifetime deal
Discount shown
58% (1-Year vs monthly)
Discount compared with
monthly plan
Bonus months
+2 months free on 1-Month plan
Checked
2026-10-15

Who owns OysterVPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

OysterVPN is run by Oyster Digital Solutions Ltd, registered in Ireland.

Company

Address
29 Churchwell Road, Balgriffin, Dublin 13, D13EY67, Ireland

In our rankings

OysterVPN appears on 183 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 183

Cheaper with the same features

Higher score for the same money

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://oystervpn.com
Pages checked
https://oystervpn.com; https://oystervpn.com/pricing/; https://oystervpn.com/privacy-policy/; https://oystervpn.com/refund-policy/; https://oystervpn.com/features/; https://oystervpn.com/servers/
Other sources used
trial/wireguard/proprietary_protocol/l2tp/pptp/refund/p2p/support: https://oystervpn.com/support/faqs/; collects_*/payment_methods/nologs_claim/data_retention/site_trackers/browser_extensions: https://oystervpn.com/privacy-policy/; prices: https://oystervpn.com/pricing/; crypto: https://www.vpnmentor.com/reviews/oystervpn/ + https://uk.pcmag.com/vpn/153515/oystervpn; stealth_mode: https://www.safetydetectives.com/best-vpns/oystervpn/ (snippet obfuscation via the Camouflage Mode); nologs_audit: https://www.fahimai.com/oystervpn (snippet No independent audit has been completed); play: SERP snippet https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.oystervpn.app; appstore: SERP snippet https://apps.apple.com/us/app/1639558080

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error