Hotspot Shield coupon codes and discounts: a $29 first year that renews at $95.99

Hotspot Shield publishes no promo code on its own site in what we read, so we list none. We never invent codes or copy them from coupon sites; below are the official prices.

Discounts on the official site

Promo codes
Not stated
Sale running when checked
promo countdown on home page
Discount shown
30% (Plus), 38% (Premium), 40% (Family) in older version
Bonus months
No
Crypto discount
No
Checked
2026-10-15

Official prices

Official prices
PlanFirst paymentThen
Premium (latest version, intro), 12 mo€24.94€82.55 / 12 mo
Premium monthly (intro), 1 mo€1.71€11.17 / 1 mo

There is no Hotspot Shield promo code in the data VPNRadarLab collected on 2026-10-15, so this page lists none. The discount is already applied on the plan page: Premium costs $29 for the first year, or $1.99 for the first month if you prefer not to prepay a larger sum. Both intro prices renew automatically at the standard rates, $95.99 a year and $12.99 a month, which is where the real cost of the subscription sits.

Do you need a Hotspot Shield promo code?

No. The reduced price shows for every visitor, so a voucher pasted at checkout can, at best, get you the identical figure. Coupon sites make their money differently: Hotspot Shield runs an affiliate programme that pays publishers for sending buyers, and that is why one ordinary offer turns up on many sites under an "exclusive" banner. For context on how deals and coupons behave across other providers, see the VPNRadarLab coupon overview. When the pages were checked on 2026-10-15, the home page was also running a promo countdown, a sales device that tells you nothing about a code.

The offers Hotspot Shield publishes

Offer First term After that
Premium, billed annually $29 for the first year (about $2.42/month) $95.99 per year
Premium, monthly $1.99 for the first month $12.99 per month
Basic, free $0 Stays free, with tight limits

The full price breakdown for every tier is on the pricing page. An older version of the plan page still showed percentage badges of 30% on Plus, 38% on Premium and 40% on Premium Family, alongside slightly different monthly figures ($6.99, $7.99 and $11.99 billed annually). The page as checked mixed several pricing versions, so treat the number on your own checkout screen as the one that counts.

What the percentage is measured against

The provider never states the baseline, so any percentage there is arithmetic you do yourself on published prices. Two sums work. The 38% Premium badge lines up with $7.99 billed annually set against the $12.99 month-to-month rate. The gap between the current $29 first year and the $95.99 renewal is far larger, about 70%, and coupon sites prefer to quote that. Note also what is absent: only a 1-year term exists (plus the intro monthly option), with no 2-year plan, no lifetime option and no bonus months.

What happens after the first year

Renewal is the expensive part. The yearly plan jumps from $29 to $95.99, a factor of 3.31, which works out to roughly $8 a month in year two against about $2.42 in year one. On the monthly route, the $1.99 opening month is followed by $12.99 every month. Auto-renewal is switched on by default; turn it off in the account on the day you subscribe if you only want the intro year. Direct purchases carry a 45-day money-back guarantee, full refund with no questions asked, and the refund page covers how to claim it. In VPNRadarLab's scoring the renewal jump takes the maximum 2-point penalty in the price and terms sub-index (3.7 of 10); the service sits at 3.94 overall, place 44 in the main ranking.

Students, referrals and other ways to pay less

  • Student discount: not in the collected data, so no percentage can be quoted.
  • Referral programme: also not stated in the data.
  • Affiliate programme: real, but it pays the publisher who referred the buyer, not the buyer.
  • Crypto: not accepted (card or PayPal only), so there is no crypto discount to chase.
  • Households: Premium Family covers up to 5 members and 25 devices, the option to split one bill among several people.

If your needs are light, the free Basic plan gives 500 MB daily, speeds capped at 2 Mbps, one virtual US location and a single device.

Hotspot Shield discount FAQ

Is there a Hotspot Shield free trial?

No. For paid plans, the 45-day money-back guarantee on direct purchases plays that role; the free Basic plan lets you try the apps within its limits.

Does the $29 price carry into the second year?

No. Year two bills at $95.99 unless you cancel or turn off auto-renewal first.

Is a code from a coupon site worth trying?

You can try it, but the price will match what the plan page already shows. The affiliate link behind such a site pays the site a commission and gives the buyer no extra discount.

Do students get a lower price?

Nothing about student pricing appears in the collected data, so verify on the provider's site before counting on it.

Hotspot Shield deals in brief

There is no code in the collected data and therefore none printed here. The deal Hotspot Shield itself publishes is $29 for the first Premium year (renewing at $95.99, a x3.31 jump) or $1.99 for the first month (then $12.99 monthly). Percentage badges of 30%, 38% and 40% come from an older page version, and the provider never names the base for them. Student and referral offers are absent from the data, crypto is not accepted, auto-renewal is on by default, and the nearest substitute for a trial is the 45-day refund window.