Is Hotspot Shield safe to use? What its audit proves and what it leaves open

Privacy and jurisdiction 3.0/10 and security 3.6/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.1). Red flag: Public security incident. Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes.

In 10 seconds

  • Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
  • Kill switch
  • Public incident on record
  • Jurisdiction in 5 Eyes

Privacy

Jurisdiction
USA, 5 Eyes
Legal entity
Anchorfree, LLC (copyright line); publisher Pango
No-logs policy
Yes does not log data that could be tied to users
Trackers on the website
Yes Your Privacy Choices, Do not sell
Known incidents
2017 CDT complaint to FTC alleging user data collection (press reports, search results)

What the privacy policy says is collected

Red ✕: collected. Green ✓: not collected. Grey: the policy does not say.

  • EmailNot stated
  • IP at sign-upNot stated
  • Connection IP✓ No
  • Session timesNot stated
  • BandwidthNot stated
  • Device infoNot stated
  • App analyticsNot stated
  • Crash reportsNot stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes
Encryption
military-grade
Security audits
Security Audit page linked (not read)
Open-source apps
No
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

Straight answer: the apps ship with a kill switch, DNS leak protection and encryption the vendor describes as military-grade, which addresses the risks of café and airport Wi-Fi. As a privacy product, though, Hotspot Shield sits near the bottom of VPNRadarLab's table: 44th place at 3.94 of 10, a public-incident red flag, privacy at 3.0 against a consumer median of 2.7 and security at 3.6 against 2.1.

What the Aon review checked and what the logging policy says

The vendor states it keeps no data that could be tied to users. In August 2023 the firm Aon reviewed the privacy policy behind that claim and found no plaintext IP logging; this was a document review, with no server inspection on record. Services with deeper verification appear in VPNRadarLab's ranking of audited no-logs VPNs.

Signing up without an email or via an account-number login is not published either. Payment runs through card or PayPal, with no crypto and no identity check (KYC).

Data item What the record shows
Connection IP No plaintext logging found by Aon, 2023
Connection timestamps Not published
Transparency report Not on record
Warrant canary Not on record
No-logs tested in a real incident Not on record

Hydra, WireGuard and what stops leaks

Hydra is the in-house protocol, patented and promoted as the fastest option, shipped alongside WireGuard, OpenVPN and IKEv2/IPSec. A proprietary design resists outside inspection in a way WireGuard's public construction does not.

Protection Status
Kill switch Yes
DNS leak protection Yes
Split tunnelling Yes (site-based only on iOS)
Open-source apps No
Multi-hop, Tor over VPN No
Separate security audit Not on record

Each control has a job on café Wi-Fi: the kill switch cuts traffic if the tunnel drops so your real IP never reaches the router, DNS leak protection keeps queries inside the tunnel, split tunnelling routes chosen apps outside it.

The 2017 FTC complaint behind the red flag

The red flag traces to one event: in 2017 the CDT asked the FTC to investigate undisclosed data collection and sharing in the free app. The complaint is on record, no outcome is listed, and the incident costs two points in the privacy pillar.

Pango, Aura and a US address

Anchorfree, LLC holds the copyright, Pango is the publisher, and the parent group is Aura; the ownership page has the chain. US registration places the service in the 5 Eyes alliance, worth zero of two alliance points. Ownership explains the product shape: Premium bundles Aura Antivirus and 1Password alongside the VPN.

Hotspot Shield Basic: the free tier pays with privacy

Basic limits you to one device plus one virtual US location, 500 MB a day at up to 2 Mbps. Mobile users can stretch the allowance by watching ads, and the mobile app carries ads by design. An ad-funded model puts an advertiser between you and the service, which makes the free tier the weaker privacy choice. Streaming on Basic is limited, and 24/7 chat is not included.

Why the safety score is so low

Points come from the audited logging policy, the lack of plaintext IP records on file, and the leak controls on paper. Privacy stops at 4.5 of 15, dragged down by the US base, the complaint penalty and everything unpublished. Security gets 5 of 14, where the missing security-audit record and closed-source apps bite hardest. Multi-hop and Tor over VPN are a plain no, while RAM-only servers, post-quantum encryption, two-factor sign-in and a bug bounty are not on record.

Questions about Hotspot Shield safety

Does Hotspot Shield sell your data?

The policy denies user-linked logging, and the 2023 review supports the IP part. The website runs trackers with a "Do not sell" opt-out, and the 2017 complaint alleged undisclosed sharing in the free app.

Is Hotspot Shield a virus?

No. It is a commercial product from Pango; Premium even includes Aura Antivirus on Windows and Mac.

Is Hotspot Shield safe on a Windows PC?

For everyday use, yes: the Windows client offers the kill switch, DNS leak protection, WireGuard and split tunnelling per app.

Can it beat heavy censorship?

Barely. Obfuscation is Premium-only, and VLESS Reality, Trojan, Shadowsocks, Hysteria2, AmneziaWG and obfs4 are all absent, with no manual config files.

Verdict: who can rely on it and who should not

Pick Premium for travel, streaming and public Wi-Fi with the kill switch on; the published spec lists what the apps offer. A US base, one policy review, a proprietary protocol and the 2017 FTC complaint mean trust rests on documents alone, so look elsewhere if your threat is government surveillance or you need verifiable anonymity.