Our IPVanish review: every device covered, a bill that jumps after the first term

4.10

out of 10#30 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
  • Owner:Ziff Davis, Inc.
  • Data completeness87%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
  • RAM-only servers

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Platforms and support8.1 vs 4.3
  • Security and protocols4.6 vs 2.1
  • Privacy and jurisdiction5.0 vs 2.7

Weakest against its segment

  • Network and streaming2.0 vs 3.1
  • Price and fair terms2.5 vs 3.5
  • Censorship bypass1.9 vs 0.5
  • Renewal price is 3.5× the first term
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare IPVanish side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

IPVanishsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.75.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.14.6
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.52.5
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.51.9
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.12.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.38.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

IPVanish pricing

From €2.06 a month, ×3.5 at renewal

  • Monthly plan: €12.89
  • 9 plans published · market median €3.13 a month
Full pricing breakdown

Everything IPVanish publishes

Every fact we collected about IPVanish, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
IPVanish (Ziff Davis company)
Registered in
USA
Address
360 Park Avenue South, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10010, USA
Parent company
Ziff Davis, Inc.
Related brands
Ziff Davis brands; Livedrive (cloud storage in Advanced)
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
  • EN (US/AU/CA/GB/IE etc.)
  • PT-BR
  • DE
  • JA
  • NO
  • PL (hreflang)
  • privacy policy also NL
  • FR
  • DE
  • PT
  • ES
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Essential
  • Complete
  • Advanced
Billing terms
  • 1 month
  • 1 year
  • 2 years
Cheapest price a month
$2.39
Monthly plan
$14.99
1-year plan, total
$46.68
1-year plan, a month
$3.89
2-year plan, total
$57.36
2-year plan, a month
$2.39
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
Intro price for first term; yearly & 2-year renew yearly at $99.99 (Essential) / $109.99 (Complete) / $129.99 (Advanced); monthly renews at same price
Family plan
No unlimited devices
Double VPN add-on
Yes included (Double Hop)
Antivirus
Yes included in Complete/Advanced
Password manager
No password generator tool only
eSIM
Yes included: 3GB eSIM data (Advanced 5GB)
Identity protection
data breach checker (all plans)
Cloud storage
included in Advanced: 1TB Livedrive cloud backup
Other add-ons
  • Secure Browser (Advanced)
  • phone support (Complete+)
  • URL checker, QR scanner

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
up to 84% (Essential 2y); 1y 74%/70%
Discount compared with
vs crossed-out retail ($359.76 2y, $179.88 1y Essential)
Student discount
Not stated
Discount for crypto payment
No
Bonus months
No
Affiliate programme
Yes Partners page

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
unlimited (not metered)
Data limit
unlimited
Speed limit
No
Features locked to higher plans
Antivirus & phone support (Complete+); Secure Browser, 1TB storage, extra eSIM (Advanced)
Prohibited by the terms
spam (account cancellation), header forging; binding arbitration

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
  • Visa
  • Discover
  • Amex
  • Mastercard
  • UnionPay
  • Diners Club
  • PayPal
  • Google Pay
  • Apple Pay
  • Amazon Pay
  • App Store/Google Play/Amazon in-app
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Yes
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes
Cryptocurrency
No
Coins accepted
No
Cash
No
Gift cards
Not stated
Local payment methods
UnionPay; Amazon Pay
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
Control Panel (account portal); in-app via store
Email needed to sign up
Yes email verification
Phone needed to sign up
No
Account-number login
No
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
30
Refund conditions
30 days for yearly/2-year plans only (auto refund within 3 business days when cancelled in Control Panel); monthly plans not auto-refunded

Free trial terms

Trial length
Not stated
Instead of a trial
30-day money-back (yearly/2-year)
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
3400
Cities
150 locations

5 countries listed (the provider’s list is incomplete). A link opens our ranking of VPNs with servers there.

Middle East and Africa 5

Middle East and North Africa
  • AE (Dubai)
  • SA (Jeddah)
  • EG (Cairo)
  • JO (Amman)
  • IL (Tel Aviv)
  • TR (Istanbul)
  • LB (Beirut)
  • DZ
  • MA
  • no QA/KW/BH/OM
  • physical/virtual not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Yes Obfuscation

Network features

RAM-only servers
Yes RAM server access; rolling upgrade
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Yes Double Hop
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Yes
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✓ Yes
  • OpenVPNTCP/UDP✓ Yes
  • IKEv2✓ Yes
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEther✕ No
  • Own protocol✕ No
  • VLESS / Reality✕ No
  • VMess✕ No
  • Trojan✕ No
  • Shadowsocks✕ No
  • Hysteria2✕ No
  • TUIC✕ No
  • NaiveProxy✕ No
  • obfs4✕ No
  • AmneziaWG✕ No
Other protocols
IPSec
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
No

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Yes Obfuscation
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Yes
Ad and malware blocker
Yes Threat Protection: ads, trackers, malware
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Yes Vulnerability Disclosure Program
Certifications
  • VTI Verified Member
  • EU-US DPF (Ziff Davis)
  • APEC CBPR

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes no browsing activity logged
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
account data anonymized 45 days after termination; payment data with processors ≥7 years
Shared with third parties
  • processors (Stripe, PayPal, Adyen, analytics)
  • within Ziff Davis group
  • law enforcement when legally required
Trackers on the website
Google Analytics, pixels, marketing cookies
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Law enforcement requests
provides info only when legally required; no browsing logs to provide
Copyright (DMCA) notices
Yes DMCA Policy page
Anonymous sign-up
No
GDPR / data protection officer
Yes dpo@ipvanish.com; EU rep J2 Global Ireland Ltd
Privacy policy updated
2025-02-18

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • IP at sign-upbilling/fraud: IP address✕ Yes
  • Connection IPaggregated app data excludes IPs✓ No
  • Session times(aggregate data excludes connection timestamps); session lengths aggregated✓ No
  • Bandwidthaggregated server usage◐ Partial
  • Device infodevice brand/model, OS, aggregated✕ Yes
  • App analyticsFirebase, aggregated anonymous✕ Yes
  • Crash reports✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TVNVIDIA SHIELD guide✓ Yes
  • Fire TV✓ Yes
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookChrome OS✓ Yes
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

Claimed speed
Global High-Speed VPN; unlimited bandwidth
10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Fastest protocol (claimed)
WireGuard (implied)
Netflix
No specific claim (Safe Streaming)
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Yes
Live chat 24/7
Yes
Email / tickets
Yes
Phone
Yes Complete/Advanced
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Help articles
Yes Support Center, setup guides
Server status page
Yes status.ipvanish.com

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    3.53 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 3.50; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 3.09 from 79.

    The company replied to 60 of 68 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • Google Play

    3.09 of 5, smoothed

    From 400 collected reviews (raw average 2.99; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.19 from 100.

    The company replied to 183 of 190 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.0 (10011 reviews); Google Play 4.4 (71.2K ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Jan ’268 reviews, average 2.12
  2. Feb ’2667 reviews, average 2.9
  3. Mar ’26106 reviews, average 3.49
  4. Apr ’2682 reviews, average 2.87
  5. May ’2670 reviews, average 3.1
  6. Jun ’2662 reviews, average 3.55
  7. Jul ’2656 reviews, average 3.0
  8. Aug ’2652 reviews, average 3.06
  9. Sep ’2671 reviews, average 3.3
  10. Oct ’2626 reviews, average 3.12
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

39 Reddit and forum threads mention IPVanish (titles and search snippets only).

All IPVanish user reviews

Questions about IPVanish

Answers built from what IPVanish publishes. Open a question to read the details.

IPVanish coupons and discounts: official prices and promo terms

IPVanish publishes no promo code on its own site in what we read, so we list none. We never invent codes or copy them from coupon sites; below are the official prices.

Discounts on the official site

Promo codes
Not stated
Sale running when checked
none seen
Discount shown
up to 84% (Essential 2y); 1y 74%/70%
Discount compared with
vs crossed-out retail ($359.76 2y, $179.88 1y Essential)
Bonus months
No
Crypto discount
No
Checked
2026-10-15

Official prices

Official prices
PlanFirst paymentThen
Essential, 24 mo€49.33€85.99 / 12 mo
Complete, 24 mo€63.78€94.59 / 12 mo
Advanced, 24 mo€74.10€111.79 / 12 mo
Essential, 12 mo€40.14€85.99 / 12 mo
Complete, 12 mo€49.43€94.59 / 12 mo
Advanced, 12 mo€55.62€111.79 / 12 mo
Essential, 1 mo€12.89€12.89 / 1 mo
Complete, 1 mo€13.75€13.75 / 1 mo

IPVanish works well as one subscription for a device-packed household with 24/7 chat support, but it loses points on renewal pricing and censorship bypass. VPNRadarLab scores it 4.1 out of 10, putting it 30th of 377 services and 30th among consumer VPNs against a median of 2.6, with facts checked on 15 October 2026 and no red flag on record.

Where the 4.1 out of 10 comes from

Apps and support earn 8.1 against a consumer median of 4.3, the widest margin on the card. Privacy and security also clear the bar. Deductions come from two directions. The price sub-score of 2.5 sits under its median of 3.5 almost entirely because of the renewal penalty: the yearly charge after the first term lands at roughly 3.5 times the intro rate, and that item takes the full −2. Network scores 2.0, below its median, because IPVanish publishes no country total, so VPNRadarLab's record has none, and that costs the largest network item even with 3,400 servers across 150 locations. Bypass scores 1.9 out of 10; the obfuscation mode earns 2 of the 10.5 available bypass points.

Privacy record and the Ziff Davis parent behind IPVanish

The independent no-logs audit and the no-logs policy itself carry most of the privacy points, with the unstored connection IP and timestamps adding the rest to 7.5 of 15. The jurisdiction item goes the other way: IPVanish (Ziff Davis company), with Ziff Davis, Inc. as parent and a New York address on Park Avenue South, sits in the USA, a Five Eyes member, and that costs the whole jurisdiction item. The account ties to a real identity too: sign-up requires email verification, and crypto and cash are unavailable. Warrant canary and transparency report are not stated in VPNRadarLab's record. The clause-by-clause breakdown of the policy and US law is on the IPVanish safety page.

Essential, Complete or Advanced: what it costs now and at renewal

Plan 2 years 1 year 1 month Yearly renewal What it adds
Essential $57.36 ($2.39/mo) $46.68 ($3.89/mo) $14.99 $99.99 eSIM data (3 GB), breach checker
Complete $74.16 ($3.09/mo) $57.48 ($4.79/mo) $15.99 $109.99 antivirus, phone support
Advanced $86.16 ($3.59/mo) $64.68 ($5.39/mo) $17.99 $129.99 Secure Browser, 1 TB Livedrive backup, 5 GB eSIM

Every tier carries the VPN with unlimited devices, so one plan covers a family and its TVs. Two years of Essential at $57.36 turns into a $99.99 bill every following year, and the bill follows unless you cancel in the Control Panel before the renewal date, since auto-renewal is on by default. The 30-day money-back rule covers only the yearly and 2-year terms and refunds automatically within 3 business days when you cancel in the Control Panel. Monthly plans get no such automatic refund, which makes them a bad way to test. Payment runs through cards, PayPal, Google Pay, Apple Pay, Amazon Pay and the app stores. VPNRadarLab's conversion puts the best rate at about €2.06 a month, against a consumer median of about €2.92. Full tiers and the real cost over time sit on the pricing page.

How IPVanish handles real situations

Situation What IPVanish publishes The catch
Household of screens no device cap, apps for Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Fire TV, Android TV, Chromebook routers and browser extensions are not on record
Hotel or café Wi-Fi kill switch, WireGuard, Threat Protection DNS leak protection is not stated
A censored network obfuscation mode, Double Hop multi-hop no VLESS Reality, Trojan, Shadowsocks or Hysteria2 for strict DPI
Streaming night unlimited data, no speed cap no named platform is promised, and VPNRadarLab does not test unblocking
Gulf or North Africa trip UAE, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Jordan, Israel, Turkey and more whether locations are physical or virtual is not stated

The locations come from IPVanish's own server list, which counts servers and cities but publishes no country total. WireGuard, OpenVPN (TCP/UDP), IKEv2 and IPSec are supported, and the apps are not open source.

Who IPVanish suits and who should pass

It fits a household running Windows, Mac, phones and a Fire TV that wants 24/7 chat and is disciplined about cancelling before the renewal. It fits poorly anyone who wants anonymous payment, a jurisdiction outside Five Eyes, or tools for beating heavy national filtering; similar VPNs are ranked on the alternatives page. User reviews are decent on their own terms (Trustpilot 4.0 from 10,011 reviews, Google Play 4.4 from about 71.2K ratings) but do not affect the score, and connection complaints have their own page.

IPVanish review FAQ

Is IPVanish worth paying for?

For a first term, yes, when one subscription must cover many devices. Past the renewal, the yearly rate is hard to justify for what the score shows.

Is IPVanish free?

No. The refund window on yearly and 2-year plans is the closest thing to a trial.

Does IPVanish keep logs?

The audited policy rules out storing connection IP and timestamps; account and payment records exist because you pay with a card or wallet tied to your name.

Can I pay for IPVanish with crypto?

No, and cash is not accepted either.

IPVanish in one paragraph

A wide app line-up, an audited no-logs policy and unlimited devices make IPVanish a reasonable first-term buy for a device-heavy home. A US parent in Five Eyes, an email-bound account, thin anti-censorship tooling and a renewal roughly 3.5 times the intro rate hold it at 4.1 out of 10. Take the two-year Essential plan, cancel in the Control Panel well before the term ends, and re-evaluate when the two-year term ends.

In our rankings

IPVanish appears on 217 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 217

Cheaper with the same features

Higher score for the same money

Same owner

Also similar to IPVanish

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://ipvanish.com
Pages checked
https://www.ipvanish.com/pricing/ (browser, all 3 tabs + FAQ schema); https://www.ipvanish.com/privacy-policy/ (browser); https://www.ipvanish.com/money-back-guarantee/ (browser); https://www.ipvanish.com/ (browser); https://www.ipvanish.com/tos/ (browser); https://www.ipvanish.com/servers/ (browser)

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error