Windscribe VPN review: free plan, pay-per-location pricing and open-source apps

4.09

out of 10#32 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:Canada, 5 Eyes
  • Owner:Windscribe Limited
  • Data completeness93%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • RAM-only servers
  • No email to sign up
  • Free plan
  • Open-source apps

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Security and protocols5.4 vs 2.1
  • Platforms and support7.1 vs 4.3
  • Price and fair terms4.8 vs 3.5

Weakest against its segment

  • Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
  • Network and streaming3.1 vs 3.1
  • Privacy and jurisdiction4.0 vs 2.7
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Stores session times
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare Windscribe side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Windscribesegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.74.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.15.4
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.54.8
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.13.1
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.37.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Windscribe pricing

From €0.86 a month, same price at renewal

  • Monthly plan: €0.86
  • 4 plans published · market median €3.13 a month
Full pricing breakdown

Everything Windscribe publishes

Every fact we collected about Windscribe, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Windscribe Limited
Registered in
Canada (Ontario)
Address
Toronto, Ontario, Canada (street not on pages read)
Related brands
Control D (managed DNS); ScribeForce
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
Not stated
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Free
  • Pro
  • Build-A-Plan
Billing terms
  • 1 month
  • 1 year
  • Build-A-Plan monthly
Cheapest price a month
3.00 (Build-A-Plan minimum) / 5.75 Pro yearly
Monthly plan
$9.00
1-year plan, total
$69.00
1-year plan, a month
$5.75
2-year plan, total
No
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
Renews automatically at same price; cancel anytime
Family plan
No
Dedicated IP add-on
Yes Static IP add-on
Port forwarding add-on
Yes
Antivirus
No
Password manager
No
eSIM
No
Identity protection
No
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
Control D managed DNS; gift purchase

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
No yearly ~36% cheaper than monthly, derived
Student discount
Not stated
Discount for crypto payment
No
Bonus months
No
Referral programme
Yes Refer a Friend

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
unlimited (personal devices)
Data limit
  • unlimited (Pro)
  • limited (Free)
  • 10GB per location (Build-A-Plan)
Features locked to higher plans
locations and bandwidth
Prohibited by the terms
  • reselling
  • circumventing usage limits
  • malware/spam
  • port scans
  • account sharing

Free plan

Free plan
Yes
Free data
No limited
Free locations
some locations
Ads in the free plan
Not stated
Other free plan terms
differs from Pro only in bandwidth and locations (ToS)

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
  • credit card
  • PayPal
  • crypto
  • local payments
  • cash (help article)
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Yes
Cryptocurrency
Yes
Cash
Yes Buy with Cash
Gift cards
Yes buy as gift
Local payment methods
Yes
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
Email needed to sign up
No optional
Phone needed to sign up
No
Account-number login
No username/password
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
7 business days
Refund conditions
within 7 business days of start and under 10 GB used; initial payment only, renewals excluded

Free trial terms

Trial length
No
Instead of a trial
free plan
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
69+
Servers
Not stated
Cities
135+
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Yes
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Yes static IP
Static IP
Yes
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✓ Yes
  • OpenVPN✓ Yes
  • IKEv2✓ Yes
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEther✕ No
  • Own protocolNot stated
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Other protocols
6 protocols total
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Yes GitHub linked

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Yes Telegram channel (social)
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes Firewall
DNS leak protection
Yes firewall blocks leaks
Own DNS servers
Yes Free DNS / Control D
Split tunnelling
Yes
Ad and malware blocker
Yes R.O.B.E.R.T.
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes no historical logs
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
  • payment transaction IDs 30 days
  • bandwidth 30 days
  • inactive accounts pruned
Shared with third parties
payment processors only
Trackers on the website
no third-party (self-hosted Piwik)
Transparency report
Yes
Warrant canary
Not stated
Law enforcement requests
no historical logs to provide
Copyright (DMCA) notices
no DMCA procedure; abuse@windscribe.com
Anonymous sign-up
Yes no email required; cash/crypto
Privacy policy updated
2024-07-30

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Emailoptional✕ Yes
  • Connection IPsource IP not stored✓ No
  • Session timeslast activity timestamp; session time in RAM only✕ Yes
  • Bandwidth30-day byte counter✕ Yes
  • Device infosite: user-agent, language, resolution, 3 IP octets (self-hosted Piwik)✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TV✓ Yes
  • Apple TV✓ Yes
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • Routers✓ Yes
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
  • Chrome
  • Firefox
  • Edge (proxy + fingerprint protection)

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
No
BBC iPlayer
No
Disney+
No
Prime Video
No
DAZN
No
beIN Sports
No
Shahid
No
OSN+
No
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Not stated
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes support
Phone
No
Telegram
Yes channel
WhatsApp
Not stated
Discord or forum
Yes Discord, Reddit
Help articles
Yes
Video guides
YouTube channel
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    4.44 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 4.63; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 4.61 from 160.

    The company replied to 9 of 15 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.67 of 5, smoothed

    From 1282 collected reviews (raw average 3.67; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 3.77 from 92.

  • Google Play

    4.12 of 5, smoothed

    From 1982 collected reviews (raw average 4.13; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 4.35 from 940.

    The company replied to 167 of 351 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.7 (13174 reviews); App Store (US) 4.64 (35359 ratings); Google Play 4.7 (322K ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’2553 reviews, average 4.42
  2. Nov ’2543 reviews, average 3.86
  3. Dec ’2558 reviews, average 3.81
  4. Jan ’2677 reviews, average 4.05
  5. Feb ’2664 reviews, average 4.31
  6. Mar ’2672 reviews, average 4.1
  7. Apr ’2669 reviews, average 4.35
  8. May ’26112 reviews, average 4.42
  9. Jun ’26100 reviews, average 4.15
  10. Jul ’26247 reviews, average 4.51
  11. Aug ’26258 reviews, average 4.24
  12. Sep ’26412 reviews, average 4.37
  13. Oct ’26382 reviews, average 4.31
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

42 Reddit and forum threads mention Windscribe (titles and search snippets only).

All Windscribe user reviews

Windscribe works well as a cheap everyday VPN: free start, cash payment, no device cap and open-source apps. It falls short in two spots that matter to privacy-minded users and travellers behind national firewalls, and that is where the 4.09/10 mark comes from.

Where the 4.09 comes from

On paper the service beats the consumer median almost everywhere: platforms and support at 7.1, security and protocols at 5.4, price and fair terms at 4.8. The two areas that pull it down are structural. Privacy and jurisdiction carries the largest weight in the formula (30%), and although 4.0 still clears the median, Windscribe collects only 6 of 15 privacy points. The lack of a published independent no-logs audit is the largest single gap there, with the Five Eyes base, the kept timestamp, the username login and no warrant canary or court proof on record costing the rest. The other drag is censorship bypass at 0.5, level with the median and the lowest line on the card: VPNRadarLab has no record of a stealth mode or any DPI-resistant protocol, so the only credit comes from the Telegram channel counting as a mirror route. The mark reflects published facts only; VPNRadarLab runs no speed or unblocking tests, and store ratings do not move it.

What the company keeps and who runs it

Windscribe Limited is registered in Ontario with an address in Toronto; related brands include the Control D managed DNS service and ScribeForce. The privacy picture is mixed. On the plus side, the policy states there are no historical logs, the connection source IP is not stored, a transparency report exists, sign-up without an email is allowed (no phone number, no identity check), and session time is held in RAM only. On the minus side, a last-activity timestamp is retained and login goes through a username and password rather than an anonymous account number. Payment transaction IDs and a 30-day bandwidth byte counter are also kept; inactive accounts eventually get pruned. Paying with cryptocurrency or cash and skipping the email gets you close to anonymous, which matters more than any policy wording. The deeper legal analysis sits on the safety page.

Free, Build-A-Plan or Pro

Plan Price (USD) Data Locations Best for
Free $0 capped, amount not published a subset testing the apps
Build-A-Plan $1 per location/month, min $3 10 GB per location up to 7 chosen one or two countries
Pro Monthly $9 unlimited all short-term use
Pro Yearly $69 ($5.75/mo) unlimited all daily driving

The cheap entry point is real: VPNRadarLab's conversion puts the lowest rate at about €2.58 a month, under the consumer median of roughly €2.92. Renewals bill at the first-term price, so there is no second-year penalty, though auto-renewal is switched on by default. The refund window is tight: 7 business days, under 10 GB used, first payment only, which makes the free tier the safer way to test. Cards, PayPal, crypto, cash and local payment methods are accepted, and a plan can also be bought as a gift. A static IP (price not shown), port forwarding and Control D managed DNS are offered as add-ons. The full cost picture is on the pricing page.

Windscribe in daily use

Situation What the record shows The catch
A houseful of gadgets unlimited personal devices at once account sharing violates the terms
Browser-only protection Chrome, Firefox, Edge extensions with fingerprint shielding they proxy the browser, other apps stay exposed
TV and routers Fire TV, Apple TV, router support Android TV is not on record
Hotel Wi-Fi Firewall kill switch, DNS leak protection no multi-hop or two-factor sign-in stated
Censored network Telegram channel as a mirror no published obfuscation mode
Streaming unlimited data on Pro Windscribe makes no claim for Netflix, BBC iPlayer, Disney+ or Prime Video

The apps are open source and their code is public on Windscribe's GitHub, so anyone can inspect what the client does. R.O.B.E.R.T. blocks ads and malware, and split tunnelling lets a banking app stay outside the tunnel.

Who should pick Windscribe, and who should not

Take it if you want a capable free tier, flat renewals, cash payment and unlimited devices. Look elsewhere if a published no-logs audit, a non-Five Eyes base or proven DPI resistance tops your list; the alternatives page ranks the replacements. Trustpilot shows 4.7 and Google Play 4.7, and the user reviews page covers what buyers say.

Windscribe review FAQ

Is Windscribe free to use?

Yes. The data cap and reduced location list are the only differences from Pro, under the same privacy policy.

Is Windscribe Pro worth it?

For daily use, the $69 yearly plan is the natural choice since renewals stay at that price. If you need only one or two countries, Build-A-Plan can cost less.

Does Windscribe keep logs?

It states no historical session logs and no stored source IP, but a last-activity timestamp, a 30-day byte counter and payment transaction IDs are kept.

Does Windscribe work in censored countries?

Unproven as far as the published record goes: no stealth or obfuscation mode is documented, so do not count on it behind heavy DPI.

Windscribe at a glance

Windscribe earns its above-median rank on the strength of app coverage, security tooling and honest pricing: $0 to start, flat renewals, cash and crypto accepted, unlimited devices, code you can audit. The score is held back by three gaps: no published independent audit of the no-logs promise, a Canadian Five Eyes base, and near-zero published bypass capability. Ordinary privacy at home and on the road, yes; national firewalls and audit-grade anonymity, no.

In our rankings

Windscribe appears on 244 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 244

Also similar to Windscribe

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://windscribe.com
Pages checked
https://windscribe.com; https://windscribe.com/upgrade; https://windscribe.com/privacy; https://windscribe.com/terms

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error