VPN cat review: score, privacy and prices

1.64

out of 10#297 of 377 in the main ranking
Free / mobile app median 2.3

  • Free / mobile app
  • Jurisdiction:not stated, alliance not disclosed
  • Data completeness73%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • No email to sign up
  • Free plan

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Price and fair terms4.8 vs 3.4
  • Censorship bypass1.9 vs 0.5
  • Security and protocols1.1 vs 1.2

Weakest against its segment

  • Platforms and support0.6 vs 2.8
  • Privacy and jurisdiction1.0 vs 2.7
  • Network and streaming0.7 vs 1.7
  • Trial needs a card
  • Ads in the free plan
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare VPN cat side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Free / mobile app services in the main ranking (80 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

VPN catsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.71.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.21.1
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.44.8
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.51.9
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 1.70.7
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 2.80.6
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

VPN cat pricing

The cheapest way in is €2.15 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, VPN cat renews at its standard price, the same per month as the first term. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Price per month over 3 years, Yearly plan

€2.15/mo for 12 months then €2.15/mo €5

first termrenewalmarket median €3.13/momonths →

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep VPN cat running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst paymentThen1 year2 years3 years
Monthly, 1 mo €4.29 €4.29 / 1 mo€51.50€102.99€154.49
Yearly, 12 mo €25.79 €25.79 / 12 mo€25.79€51.58€77.37

Compare VPN cat’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal priceRenewal term
Monthly1 mo$4.99$4.99€4.29$4.991 mo
Yearly12 mo$29.99$2.50€2.15$29.9912 mo

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
No Apple refund policy
Refund conditions
Via Apple only; no refund for unused portion
Free trial
7 days, iOS
Card needed for trial
Yes Apple subscription trial
Auto-renewal
Yes
How to cancel
Apple ID subscription settings
Payment methods
Apple App Store in-app
Renewal note
Auto-renews via Apple ID at same price; yearly has 7-day free trial then 29.99/yr

Everything VPN cat publishes

Every fact we collected about VPN cat, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
SAFDAR NETWORK SMC-PRIVATE LIMITED
Registered in
Not stated
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
Not stated
Website languages
  • EN
  • ZH-Hans
  • ZH-Hant
  • RU
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
USD
Prices depend on country
Yes App Store local pricing

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Free
  • Premium Monthly
  • Premium Yearly
Billing terms
1m; 12m
Cheapest price a month
$2.50
Monthly plan
$4.99
1-year plan, total
$29.99
1-year plan, a month
$2.50
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
Auto-renews via Apple ID at same price; yearly has 7-day free trial then 29.99/yr
Family plan
No
Prices seen from other countries
USD (US App Store prices on site): monthly $4.99; yearly $29.99 ($2.50/mo) with 7-day free trial
Dedicated IP add-on
No
Port forwarding add-on
No
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
No
Password manager
No
eSIM
No
Identity protection
No
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
No

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
50% (yearly vs 59.88)
Discount compared with
12 x monthly price
Sale running when checked
No
Student discount
Not stated
Bonus months
No

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
unmetered (ToS: prices quoted for an unmetered number of devices)
Features locked to higher plans
4 countries (ES, SE, IT, PH) + high-speed servers + stays connected when locked are premium-only
Prohibited by the terms
  • spam
  • illegal use
  • 18+ only

Free plan

Free plan
Yes
Free data
Not stated
Free locations
12 countries (US, JP, UK, DE, FR, NL, AU, SG, CA, IN, KR, ID)
Ads in the free plan
Yes Google ads on free servers
Other free plan terms
no time limit; no account

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
Apple App Store in-app
PayPal
Not stated
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes App Store
Cryptocurrency
No
Cash
No
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
Apple ID subscription settings
Email needed to sign up
No
Phone needed to sign up
No
Account-number login
No account (anonymous device ID)
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
No Apple refund policy
Refund conditions
Via Apple only; no refund for unused portion

Free trial terms

Trial length
7 days
Where the trial is offered
iOS
Trial limits
yearly plan only
Instead of a trial
free ad-supported tier
Card needed for the trial
Yes Apple subscription trial

Server locations

Countries
16
Servers
Not stated

16 countries listed. A link opens our ranking of VPNs with servers there.

Europe 7

Americas 2

Asia and Oceania 7

Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardNot stated
  • OpenVPNNot stated
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocol✓ Yes
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Yes claimed (premium: stay connected even after blocking)
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Partial (strict zero-log for activity) but keeps connection records
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
connection records up to 7 days
Shared with third parties
Google (AdMob ads, Firebase), Apple, hosting providers
Trackers on the website
No site claims no cookies/3rd-party resources
Transparency report
No
Warrant canary
No
Law enforcement requests
discloses as required by law or legal process
Anonymous sign-up
Yes no account
GDPR / data protection officer
No

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Emailonly if contacting support✓ No
  • Connection IPconnection record up to 7 days◐ Partial
  • Session timesNot stated
  • Device infodevice type, app version✕ Yes
  • App analyticsApp Store label: identifiers, usage data linked; identifiers used to track✕ Yes
  • Crash reportsvia Google Mobile Ads SDK✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✕ No
  • macOS✕ No
  • Linux✕ No
  • iOSiPhone/iPad✓ Yes
  • Android✕ No
  • Android TV✕ No
  • Fire TV✕ No
  • Apple TV✕ No
  • Chromebook✕ No
  • Smart TV✕ No
  • Routers✕ No
  • NAS✕ No
  • Raspberry Pi✕ No
  • Game consoles✕ No
Browser extensions
No
App Store rating
4.6 (51K ratings, US)
Last app update
2026-10-07 (v2.13.4)
App languages
EN + 44 more (App Store); site claims 50+

Speed, streaming and gaming

Claimed speed
premium 10x faster than free
10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
No
Live chat 24/7
No
Email / tickets
Yes support email
Phone
No
Telegram
No
WhatsApp
No
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • App Store

    3.46 of 5, smoothed

    From 677 collected reviews (raw average 3.46; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.89 from 285.

  • Google Play

    3.55 of 5, smoothed

    From 73 collected reviews (raw average 3.32; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.21 from 43.

    The company replied to 0 of 29 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: App Store (US) 4.59 (50694 ratings); Google Play 3.4 (696 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Dec ’252 reviews, average 5.0
  2. Jan ’268 reviews, average 3.88
  3. Feb ’2636 reviews, average 3.61
  4. Mar ’2643 reviews, average 3.4
  5. Apr ’2638 reviews, average 3.68
  6. May ’2655 reviews, average 3.75
  7. Jun ’2647 reviews, average 3.17
  8. Jul ’2665 reviews, average 2.86
  9. Aug ’2676 reviews, average 3.16
  10. Sep ’26120 reviews, average 2.7
  11. Oct ’2698 reviews, average 3.05
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

39 Reddit and forum threads mention VPN cat (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 5★ · 13 Oct 2026 · US

    最棒的vpn

  • App Store · 5★ · 13 Oct 2026 · US

    Использование на маке

  • App Store · 1★ · 13 Oct 2026 · US

    mac用不了

  • Google Play · 4★ · 13 Oct 2026

    very helpful

  • Google Play · 1★ · 12 Oct 2026

    it says tap to select server I tap but nothing happens

  • Google Play · 1★ · 11 Oct 2026

    server list doesn't open. cant do anything

Questions about VPN cat

Answers built from what VPN cat publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is VPN cat safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 1.0/10 and security 1.1/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 1.2). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: Not stated.

Privacy

Jurisdiction
Not stated
Legal entity
SAFDAR NETWORK SMC-PRIVATE LIMITED
No-logs policy
Yes (strict zero-log for activity) but keeps connection records
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
connection records up to 7 days
Shared with third parties
Google (AdMob ads, Firebase), Apple, hosting providers
Trackers on the website
No site claims no cookies/3rd-party resources

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

VPN cat not working? Common causes and what to check

3 things to check, built from what VPN cat publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

If the network blocks VPNs, turn on obfuscation (claimed (premium: stay connected even after blocking)).

Update the app: the last update we saw is dated 2026-10-07 (v2.13.4).

Contact support: email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
No
Live chat 24/7
No
Telegram
No
Email
Yes support email

VPN cat refund policy: how to ask for your money back

VPN cat refund window: no (Apple refund policy). Conditions: Via Apple only; no refund for unused portion

Refund terms

Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Yes
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
7

How to cancel VPN cat and turn off auto-renewal

How VPN cat says you cancel: Apple ID subscription settings. Auto-renewal by default: yes.

Cancellation and renewal

Auto-renewal by default
Yes
Reminder before renewal
Not stated
Renewal note
Auto-renews via Apple ID at same price; yearly has 7-day free trial then 29.99/yr
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

VPN cat free trial: length, terms and payment details

VPN cat free trial: 7, iOS. Card needed: yes (Apple subscription trial).

Trial terms

Length
7
Where
iOS
Limits
yearly plan only
Instead of a trial
free ad-supported tier
Refund window
No Apple refund policy
Free plan
Yes

Who owns VPN cat? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

VPN cat is run by SAFDAR NETWORK SMC-PRIVATE LIMITED.

In our rankings

VPN cat appears on 78 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 78

Higher score for the same money

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15.

Website
https://vpncat.net
Pages checked
https://vpncat.net; https://vpncat.net/privacy/com.vpn.cat.html; https://vpncat.net/terms-of-service/com.vpn.cat.html
Other sources used
proprietary_protocol/appstore_rating/app_last_update/app_languages/collects_app_analytics: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/vpn-cat-fast-secure-unlimited/id1134784923; stealth_mode/free_tier_ads: https://vpncat.net/

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error

When (UTC)FieldWasNow
2026-10-16rank_main329328
2026-10-16rank_consumer403402