OVPN review: score, privacy and prices

3.39

out of 10#80 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
  • Owner:OVPN Inc. (acquirer, 2025)
  • Data completeness87%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • RAM-only servers
  • No email to sign up

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Security and protocols4.3 vs 2.1
  • Platforms and support5.7 vs 4.3
  • Network and streaming4.4 vs 3.1

Weakest against its segment

  • Price and fair terms2.3 vs 3.5
  • Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
  • Privacy and jurisdiction3.7 vs 2.7
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Stores session times
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare OVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

OVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.73.7
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.14.3
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.52.3
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.14.4
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.35.7
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

OVPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €3.63 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, OVPN renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Price per month over 3 years, OVPN plan

€10.32/mo for 1 months then €10.32/mo €5€10€15

first termrenewalmarket median €3.13/momonths →

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep OVPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst paymentThen1 year2 years3 years
OVPN, 1 mo €10.32 €10.32 / 1 mo€123.84€247.68€371.52
OVPN, 12 mo €51.50 —€51.50——
OVPN, 36 mo €130.65 —€130.65€130.65€130.65

Compare OVPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal priceRenewal term
OVPN1 mo$12.00$12.00€10.32$12.001 mo
OVPN12 mo$59.88$4.99€4.29—12 mo
OVPN36 mo$151.92$4.22€3.63—36 mo

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
10 days
Refund conditions
10-day money-back advertised; ToS: otherwise non-refundable; no refunds for reseller purchases or breach terminations
Free trial
No
Auto-renewal
Yes
How to cancel
email support or account, >=1 day before next cycle
Payment methods
Not stated
Renewal note
Auto-renews each billing cycle unless cancelled >=1 day before; reminder email for >6-month subs; 30 days notice of fee changes

Everything OVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about OVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
OVPN Inc.
Registered in
US
Address
541 Jefferson Ave, Ste 100, Redwood City, CA 94063, USA
Parent company
OVPN Inc. (acquirer, 2025)
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
  • EN
  • SV
  • DE
  • NO
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
  • USD
  • EUR
  • SEK
Prices depend on country
currency switcher

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
OVPN (single tier)
Billing terms
  • 1 month
  • 12 months
  • 36 months
Cheapest price a month
$4.22
Monthly plan
$12.00
1-year plan, total
$59.88
1-year plan, a month
$4.99
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
  • Auto-renews each billing cycle unless cancelled >=1 day before
  • reminder email for >6-month subs
  • 30 days notice of fee changes
Family plan
No
Dedicated IP add-on
Yes
Port forwarding add-on
Yes included (up to 7 ports)
Double VPN add-on
Yes included (Multihop)
Antivirus
No
Password manager
No
eSIM
No
Identity protection
No
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
insurance covering legal fees; extra devices per year

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
71% (12 mo); 75% (36 mo)
Discount compared with
vs monthly $12
Student discount
Not stated
Bonus months
No
Affiliate programme
Yes /affiliates

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
4 (1 mo) / 5 (12 mo) / 7 (36 mo)
Data limit
unlimited (average non-commercial use)
Speed limit
No
Country restrictions
sanctioned countries prohibited; geo restrictions at discretion
Features locked to higher plans
device count by term
Prohibited by the terms
spam, illegal activity, hacking, commercial use, reverse engineering

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
Not stated
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
email support or account, >=1 day before next cycle
Email needed to sign up
No username/password; billing email optional
Account-number login
Not stated
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
10
Refund conditions
  • 10-day money-back advertised
  • ToS: otherwise non-refundable
  • no refunds for reseller purchases or breach terminations

Free trial terms

Trial length
No
Instead of a trial
10-day money-back
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
20
Servers
96
Cities
32

20 countries listed. A link opens our ranking of VPNs with servers there.

Europe 15

Americas 2

Asia and Oceania 3

Middle East and North Africa
none
Virtual locations
No
Own servers
Yes owned hardware, colocation
Port speed
1 GbE / 10 GbE NICs depending on location
P2P servers
Not stated
Streaming servers
Yes all servers in supported regions
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Yes no hard drives, OS in RAM
IPv6
Yes native
Dedicated IP
Yes Public IPv4 add-on
Static IP
Yes Public IPv4
Residential IP
No
Double VPN / multi-hop
Yes
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardCurve25519, ChaCha20✓ Yes
  • OpenVPNAES-256-GCM, 2048-bit DH✓ Yes
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocol✕ No
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Encryption
AES-256-GCM; ChaCha20
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Yes ovpn and WireGuard configs (/configurations)
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Yes own log-free DNS; leak tests
Own DNS servers
Yes
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Yes block ads & trackers
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Yes responsible disclosure with rewards

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes
Independent no-logs audit
No
No-logs proven in practice
Yes won information injunction court case
Data retention
account/payment data while active + reasonable time; VPN activity not stored beyond session
Shared with third parties
affiliates, processors (email), analytics vendors, Zendesk chatbot; no sale
Transparency report
Yes monthly since 2014
Warrant canary
Not stated
Law enforcement requests
shares to comply with law/legal process
Copyright (DMCA) notices
  • abuse@ovpn.com
  • repeat infringers may be disabled
  • cannot identify users by IP
Anonymous sign-up
Partial no email required
GDPR / data protection officer
Data Privacy Director, privacy@ovpn.com
Privacy policy updated
2026-06

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Emailoptional (billing)✕ Yes
  • IP at sign-upfor payment fraud protection✕ Yes
  • Connection IPWireGuard IP in memory until session ends◐ Partial
  • Session timesaccount timestamps✕ Yes
  • App analyticswebsite pixel tags (anonymous)✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • LinuxUbuntu, Fedora, Debian, openSUSE✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersAsusWrt, DD-WRT, OpenWrt, Tomato, EdgeOS, Vilfo, GL.iNet✓ Yes
  • NASSynology✓ Yes
  • Raspberry Piguide✓ Yes
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
claims Netflix (supported regions)
BBC iPlayer
Yes
Disney+
Yes
Prime Video
Yes
DAZN
No
beIN Sports
No
Shahid
No
OSN+
No
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Yes chatbot (Zendesk)
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes ticket form
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Help articles
Yes support.ovpn.com
Server status page
Yes status.ovpn.com
Uptime guarantee (SLA)
99.5%

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    2.87 of 5, smoothed

    From 53 collected reviews (raw average 2.11; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 3.00 from 2.

    The company replied to 7 of 39 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.18 of 5, smoothed

    From 312 collected reviews (raw average 3.12; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.60 from 5.

  • Google Play

    3.30 of 5, smoothed

    From 120 collected reviews (raw average 3.06; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 2.00 from 4.

    The company replied to 3 of 54 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 2.2 (53 reviews); App Store (US) 4.43 (11061 ratings); Google Play 2.8 (387 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’254 reviews, average 2.75
  2. Nov ’253 reviews, average 3.67
  3. Dec ’253 reviews, average 2.33
  4. Jan ’266 reviews, average 1.33
  5. Feb ’263 reviews, average 1.0
  6. Mar ’261 reviews, average 5.0
  7. Apr ’263 reviews, average 1.33
  8. May ’262 reviews, average 5.0
  9. Jul ’262 reviews, average 3.0
  10. Aug ’262 reviews, average 1.0
  11. Sep ’267 reviews, average 2.71
  12. Oct ’261 reviews, average 1.0
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

53 Reddit and forum threads mention OVPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 5★ · 22 Sep 2026 · US

    You need to stop telling me to connect after 30 minutes 😡😡😡😡😡😡😡

  • App Store · 5★ · 21 Sep 2026 · US

    Sniperfunds

  • App Store · 1★ · 12 Sep 2026 · US

    I called it wickedness

  • Google Play · 1★ · 29 Sep 2026

    You made fun of people. Enter your email and password for an hour, then log in and see that there is not even a free server. Well, our country is under…

  • Google Play · 1★ · 06 Sep 2026

    can't even create an account

  • Google Play · 1★ · 31 Aug 2026

    When this was owned by the swedish creator it was great. Now it is owned by an American company that I do not trust about not storing logs.

  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 11 Oct 2026 · SE

    Tydlig skillnad sen de sålde ut

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 19 Sep 2026 · DE

    Vielen Herzlichen Dank an Support

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 04 Apr 2026 · US

    The stopped working after a month

    Original review

Questions about OVPN

Answers built from what OVPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is OVPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 3.7/10 and security 4.3/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.1). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: ✕ No.

In 10 seconds

  • RAM-only servers
  • Stores session times
  • Jurisdiction in 5 Eyes

Privacy

Jurisdiction
USA, 5 Eyes
Legal entity
OVPN Inc.
No-logs policy
Yes
Data retention
account/payment data while active + reasonable time; VPN activity not stored beyond session
Shared with third parties
affiliates, processors (email), analytics vendors, Zendesk chatbot; no sale

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Yes (yes (own log-free DNS; leak tests))
Encryption
AES-256-GCM; ChaCha20
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

Is it safe? of similar VPNs

OVPN not working? Common causes and what to check

4 things to check, built from what OVPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Check the provider’s status page for an outage (status.ovpn.com).

Switch protocol in the app: OVPN lists WireGuard, OpenVPN.

Try a manual configuration (.ovpn and WireGuard configs (/configurations)).

Contact support: live chat, email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
chatbot (Zendesk)
Email
Yes ticket form
Status page
Yes status.ovpn.com

Troubleshooting of similar VPNs

OVPN alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score

11 alternatives to OVPN (3.39) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: Proton VPN (6.12).

Alternatives to OVPN

11 alternatives
#ServiceScoreWhy it is hereFrom
1Proton VPN
Consumer VPN · Switzerland Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes Free plan
6.12higher score, same pricehigher score, same price€3.00per month
2NordVPN
Consumer VPN · Panama Independent no-logs audit: ✓ Yes
5.58higher score, same pricehigher score, same price€3.00per month
3Xeovo VPN
Consumer VPN · Finland
4.17higher score, same pricehigher score, same price€2.99per month
4Cryptostorm
Consumer VPN · USA
4.05similar featuressimilar features€3.34per month
5RocketVPN
Consumer VPN · USA
3.70higher score, same pricehigher score, same price€3.59per month
6LimeVPN
Consumer VPN · Singapore
3.47similar featuressimilar features€3.51per month
7ClearVPN
Consumer VPN · Cyprus
3.42higher score, same pricehigher score, same price€3.75per month
8TrueVPN
Consumer VPN · Australia
2.61similar featuressimilar features€2.57per month
9SecretsLine VPN
Consumer VPN · BVI
2.37similar featuressimilar features€3.44per month
10OctoVPN
Consumer VPN · Norway
2.05similar featuressimilar features€3.59per month
11Hideman
Consumer VPN · jurisdiction not stated
1.90similar featuressimilar features—

Alternatives of similar VPNs

OVPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

OVPN refund window: 10 days. Conditions: 10-day money-back advertised; ToS: otherwise non-refundable; no refunds for reseller purchases or breach terminations

Refund terms

Refund window
10
Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
No

Refund policies of similar VPNs

How to cancel OVPN and turn off auto-renewal

How OVPN says you cancel: email support or account, >=1 day before next cycle. Auto-renewal by default: yes.

Cancellation and renewal

Auto-renewal by default
Yes
Renewal note
Auto-renews each billing cycle unless cancelled >=1 day before; reminder email for >6-month subs; 30 days notice of fee changes
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

OVPN coupons and discounts: official prices and promo terms

OVPN publishes no promo code on its own site in what we read, so we list none. We never invent codes or copy them from coupon sites; below are the official prices.

Discounts on the official site

Promo codes
Not stated
Sale running when checked
none seen
Discount shown
71% (12 mo); 75% (36 mo)
Discount compared with
vs monthly $12
Bonus months
No
Checked
2026-10-15

Who owns OVPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

OVPN is run by OVPN Inc., registered in US; parent company: OVPN Inc. (acquirer, 2025).

Company

Registered in
US
Address
541 Jefferson Ave, Ste 100, Redwood City, CA 94063, USA

Jurisdiction

Owners of similar VPNs

In our rankings

OVPN appears on 133 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 133

Similar VPNs

Cheaper with the same features

Higher score for the same money

Owner and jurisdiction

Closed services OVPN replaces

Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://ovpn.com
Pages checked
https://www.ovpn.com/en; https://www.ovpn.com/en/pricing; https://www.ovpn.com/en/privacy-notice; https://www.ovpn.com/en/tos; https://www.ovpn.com/en/network

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error