OctoVPN review: score, privacy and prices

2.05

out of 10#246 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:Norway, 9 Eyes
  • Founded2017
  • Owner:OctoSEC AS
  • Data completeness93%
  • Checked2026-10-15

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Privacy and jurisdiction3.4 vs 2.7
  • Platforms and support3.8 vs 4.3
  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5

Weakest against its segment

  • Price and fair terms1.8 vs 3.5
  • Network and streaming1.6 vs 3.1
  • Security and protocols1.1 vs 2.1
  • Jurisdiction in the 9 Eyes alliance
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare OctoVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

OctoVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.73.4
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.11.1
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.51.8
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.11.6
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.33.8
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

OctoVPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €6.01 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, OctoVPN renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep OctoVPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year2 years3 years
Basic (1 device), 1 mo €6.01 €72.14at the current price€144.27at the current price€216.41at the current price
Advanced (2 devices), 1 mo €9.45 €113.42at the current price€226.83at the current price€340.25at the current price
Ultimate (3 devices), 1 mo €13.75 €165.02at the current price€330.03at the current price€495.05at the current price

Compare OctoVPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal term
Basic (1 device)1 mo$6.99$6.99€6.011 mo
Advanced (2 devices)1 mo$10.99$10.99€9.451 mo
Ultimate (3 devices)1 mo$15.99$15.99€13.751 mo
CoD VPN——$4.17€3.59—

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
14 (EU/EEA statutory withdrawal only)
Refund conditions
No general refund window; per consumer law; EU/EEA 14-day withdrawal via support
Free trial
No
Auto-renewal
Yes
How to cancel
account settings
Payment methods
Visa; Mastercard; Apple Pay; Google Pay (via Stripe)
Renewal note
Auto-renews each billing period; price changes with reasonable notice

Everything OctoVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about OctoVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
OctoSEC AS
Registered in
Norway
Address
Kristiansand, Norway
Related brands
CoD VPN (OctoVPN product)
Founded
2017
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
9
Website languages
EN
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Basic
  • Advanced
  • Ultimate
  • CoD VPN
  • Private VPN Servers (no price)
Billing terms
monthly
Cheapest price a month
$4.17
Monthly plan
$6.99
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
Auto-renews each billing period; price changes with reasonable notice
Family plan
No
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
No
Password manager
No
eSIM
No
Identity protection
No
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
Private VPN Servers

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
No
Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
1 / 2 / 3 by plan
Prohibited by the terms
illegal activity, malware, hacking, spam/fraud, IP infringement, CSAM, commercial use without consent

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • Apple Pay
  • Google Pay (via Stripe)
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
No
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes
Cryptocurrency
No
Coins accepted
No
Cash
No
Gift cards
No
Mobile carrier billing
No
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
account settings
Email needed to sign up
Yes
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
14 (EU/EEA statutory withdrawal only)
Refund conditions
Yes general refund window; per consumer law; EU/EEA 14-day withdrawal via support

Free trial terms

Trial length
No
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
11 listed (claims 40+ locations)
Servers
Not stated
Cities
20 listed

11 countries listed. A link opens our ranking of VPNs with servers there.

Europe 6

Americas 2

Asia and Oceania 3

Middle East and North Africa
none
Virtual locations
Not stated
Port speed
10-40 Gbps
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✓ Yes
  • OpenVPNTCP/UDP✓ Yes
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocol✕ No
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Other protocols
DNS-based CoD VPN
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
  • account: active + reasonable period
  • payments 5-7 yrs
  • support 2 yrs
Shared with third parties
  • Stripe
  • unnamed hosting providers
  • no selling
Trackers on the website
claims no tracking cookies
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Law enforcement requests
not described; says no usage data to give
Anonymous sign-up
No
GDPR / data protection officer
no DPO; controller OctoSEC AS, post@octosec.io
Privacy policy updated
2026-01-04

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • Connection IPclaimed✓ No
  • Session timesclaimed✓ No
  • Bandwidthper-session (aggregate server load only)✓ No
  • App analyticsaggregated website analytics◐ Partial
  • Crash reportsanonymous✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • Routers✓ Yes
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesCoD VPN via DNS✓ Yes
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

Claimed speed
10-40 Gbps ports
10 Gbps servers
Yes claimed
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Yes low-latency routing, DDoS protection, Discord Rich Presence, CoD VPN
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
No
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Discord or forum
Yes Discord
Support languages
EN
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    4.49 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 4.70; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 1.

    The company replied to 2 of 12 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 2.1 (208 reviews).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Jan ’262 reviews, average 1.5
  2. Mar ’261 reviews, average 5.0
  3. May ’261 reviews, average 1.0
  4. Aug ’261 reviews, average 1.0
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

42 Reddit and forum threads mention OctoVPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 25 Aug 2026 · US

    Scam from the beginning...

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 03 May 2026 · HR

    VPN doesn't work

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 05 Mar 2026 · US

    Easy and effective VPN

    Original review

Rankings by user reviews

Questions about OctoVPN

Answers built from what OctoVPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is OctoVPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 3.4/10 and security 1.1/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.1). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: Not stated.

In 10 seconds

  • Jurisdiction in 9 Eyes

Privacy

Jurisdiction
Norway, 9 Eyes
Legal entity
OctoSEC AS
No-logs policy
Yes
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
account: active + reasonable period; payments 5-7 yrs; support 2 yrs
Shared with third parties
Stripe; unnamed hosting providers; no selling
Trackers on the website
claims no tracking cookies

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

OctoVPN not working? Common causes and what to check

1 things to check, built from what OctoVPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Switch protocol in the app: OctoVPN lists WireGuard, OpenVPN.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
No

OctoVPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

OctoVPN refund window: 14 (EU/EEA statutory withdrawal only). Conditions: No general refund window; per consumer law; EU/EEA 14-day withdrawal via support

Refund terms

Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
No

How to cancel OctoVPN and turn off auto-renewal

How OctoVPN says you cancel: account settings. Auto-renewal by default: yes.

Cancellation and renewal

Auto-renewal by default
Yes
Reminder before renewal
Not stated
Renewal note
Auto-renews each billing period; price changes with reasonable notice
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

Who owns OctoVPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

OctoVPN is run by OctoSEC AS, registered in Norway; parent company: OctoSEC AS.

Company

Address
Kristiansand, Norway
Related brands
CoD VPN (OctoVPN product)
Founded
2017

In our rankings

OctoVPN appears on 54 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 54

Similar VPNs

Cheaper with the same features

Higher score for the same money

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://octovpn.com
Pages checked
["https://octovpn.com", "https://octovpn.com/privacy-policy", "https://octovpn.com/tos"]

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error