UpVPN review: score, privacy and prices

2.31

out of 10#203 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
  • Data completeness87%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Open-source apps

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Price and fair terms4.8 vs 3.5
  • Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
  • Security and protocols2.1 vs 2.1

Weakest against its segment

  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 3.1
  • Platforms and support3.8 vs 4.3
  • Privacy and jurisdiction2.3 vs 2.7
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Stores session times

Compare UpVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

UpVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.72.3
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.12.1
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.54.8
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.10.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.33.8
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

UpVPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €2.87 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, UpVPN renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep UpVPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year2 years3 years
Pay as you go (prepaid credits), Lifetime €4.29 €4.29€4.29€4.29
Yearly, 12 mo €34.39 €34.39——

Compare UpVPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal term
Pay as you go (prepaid credits)Lifetime$4.99———
Yearly12 mo$39.99$3.33€2.8612 mo

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
30 days
Refund conditions
first purchase only, within 30 days; not for upgrades, repeat or promo purchases; disconnect all devices first; App Store via Apple
Free trial
7 days, iOS / Apple platforms
Auto-renewal
Not stated
Payment methods
card (Stripe); crypto; Apple App Store; Google Play
Renewal note
PAYG: no subscription, balance never expires; yearly renewal terms not stated

Everything UpVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about UpVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
upvpn LLC
Registered in
USA (California LLC)
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
EN (WireGuard config tool: EN; FR; ZH; ES; AR; PT; DE; JA; HI; KO; UK; NO; SV; TH; VI; FI; ID; NL; HE)
Right-to-left languages
Yes config tool AR/HE
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
Pay as you go; Yearly
Billing terms
prepaid credits; 12m
Cheapest price a month
$3.33
Monthly plan
Not stated
1-year plan, total
$39.99
1-year plan, a month
$3.33
Lifetime plan
No prepaid balance never expires
Renewal
PAYG: no subscription, balance never expires; yearly renewal terms not stated
Family plan
No
Other add-ons
PAYG fees: 0.05 USD/session + 0.04 USD/GB + 0.02 USD/hour

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
No
Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
unlimited devices; 5 concurrent sessions (PAYG) / 7 (Yearly)
Data limit
PAYG metered; Yearly unlimited

Free plan

Free plan
Not stated
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
  • card (Stripe)
  • crypto
  • Apple App Store
  • Google Play
Bank card
Yes Stripe
PayPal
Not stated
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes in-app via App Store / Google Play
Cryptocurrency
Yes
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
Email needed to sign up
Yes or Google/Apple SSO
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
30
Refund conditions
  • first purchase only, within 30 days
  • not for upgrades, repeat or promo purchases
  • disconnect all devices first
  • App Store via Apple

Free trial terms

Trial length
7 days
Where the trial is offered
iOS / Apple platforms
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
Own servers
No on-demand cloud provider servers
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardonly✓ Yes
  • OpenVPN✕ No
  • IKEv2✕ No
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocol✕ No
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Yes Web Devices: WireGuard .conf / QR, single-session
Open-source apps
Yes https://github.com/upvpn/upvpn-app

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Own DNS servers
No Cloudflare 1.1.1.1 default
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes cloud servers never log traffic or DNS
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
  • session records 1 day (Yearly) / 1 month (PAYG)
  • server logs 2 weeks
  • backups 7 days
Shared with third parties
  • cloud providers (WG config, deleted at session end)
  • Stripe
  • Apple
  • Google
  • Google Workspace
Trackers on the website
strictly necessary cookies only
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated
Privacy policy updated
2026-03-08

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • IP at sign-upserver logs, deleted within 2 weeks✕ Yes
  • Connection IPserver public IP deleted at session end✓ No
  • Session timessession start/end, location✕ Yes
  • Bandwidthbytes up/down for billing✕ Yes
  • Device infoOS, arch, hostname/username, WG public key✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TV✓ Yes
  • Apple TVtvOS✓ Yes
  • Chromebook✓ Yes
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry Pi✓ Yes
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
No
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes email
Phone
No
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Discord or forum
GitHub; X
Help articles
Yes FAQ
Server status page
Yes upvpn.instatus.com

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • App Store

    3.48 of 5, smoothed

    From 6 collected reviews (raw average 3.00; all VPNs 3.54).

  • Google Play

    3.83 of 5, smoothed

    From 12 collected reviews (raw average 3.58; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 4.20 from 5.

    The company replied to 3 of 4 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: App Store (US) 4.47 (17 ratings); Google Play 3.3 (46 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Dec ’251 reviews, average 1.0
  2. Jun ’263 reviews, average 3.67
  3. Jul ’261 reviews, average 5.0
  4. Sep ’261 reviews, average 5.0
  5. Oct ’263 reviews, average 3.67
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

28 Reddit and forum threads mention UpVPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 5★ · 08 Apr 2025 · US

    Excellent

  • App Store · 1★ · 16 Nov 2024 · US

    Turns off in background

  • App Store · 5★ · 11 Jun 2024 · US

    VPN

  • Google Play · 5★ · 06 Oct 2026

    Its a simple and easy to use VPN tool, and good value for money.

  • Google Play · 5★ · 04 Oct 2026

    Fast speeds and good variety of server locations

  • Google Play · 1★ · 03 Oct 2026

    This app should have been made free at least, after watching ads you should have been allowed to connect to the server for some time and for those who want to…

Questions about UpVPN

Answers built from what UpVPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is UpVPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 2.3/10 and security 2.1/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.1). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: Not stated.

In 10 seconds

  • Open-source apps
  • Stores session times
  • Jurisdiction in 5 Eyes

Privacy

Jurisdiction
USA, 5 Eyes
Legal entity
upvpn LLC
No-logs policy
Yes cloud servers never log traffic or DNS
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
session records 1 day (Yearly) / 1 month (PAYG); server logs 2 weeks; backups 7 days
Shared with third parties
cloud providers (WG config, deleted at session end); Stripe; Apple; Google; Google Workspace
Trackers on the website
strictly necessary cookies only

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Open-source apps
https://github.com/upvpn/upvpn-app
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

UpVPN not working? Common causes and what to check

3 things to check, built from what UpVPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Check the provider’s status page for an outage (upvpn.instatus.com).

Try a manual configuration (Web Devices: WireGuard .conf / QR, single-session).

Contact support: email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
No
Email
Yes email
Status page
Yes upvpn.instatus.com

UpVPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

UpVPN refund window: 30 days. Conditions: first purchase only, within 30 days; not for upgrades, repeat or promo purchases; disconnect all devices first; App Store via Apple

Refund terms

Refund window
30
Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Yes
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
7

UpVPN free trial: length, terms and payment details

UpVPN free trial: 7, iOS / Apple platforms.

Trial terms

Length
7
Card needed
Not stated
Refund window
30

Who owns UpVPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

UpVPN is run by upvpn LLC, registered in USA (California LLC).

Company

Registered in
USA (California LLC)

Jurisdiction

In our rankings

UpVPN appears on 105 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 105

Higher score for the same money

Also similar to UpVPN

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://upvpn.app
Pages checked
["https://upvpn.app", "https://upvpn.app/pricing/", "https://upvpn.app/privacy-policy/", "https://upvpn.app/faq/"]

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error