LibertyShield VPN review: score, privacy and prices

1.52

out of 10#311 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:UK, 5 Eyes
  • Founded2008
  • Data completeness93%
  • Checked2026-10-15

Red flag: Public security incident. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Platforms and support5.2 vs 4.3
  • Network and streaming3.0 vs 3.1
  • Price and fair terms3.2 vs 3.5

Weakest against its segment

  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.7
  • Security and protocols1.1 vs 2.1
  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Public security incident

Compare LibertyShield VPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

LibertyShield VPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.70.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.11.1
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.53.2
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.13.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.35.2
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

LibertyShield VPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €5.38 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, LibertyShield VPN renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep LibertyShield VPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year2 years3 years
1 month, 1 mo €7.73 €92.78at the current price€185.55at the current price€278.33at the current price
6 months, 6 mo €35.24 €70.49at the current price€140.97at the current price€211.46at the current price
12 months (+free router), 12 mo €64.50 €64.50——

Compare LibertyShield VPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / month
1 month1 mo$8.99$8.99€7.73
6 months6 mo$40.98$6.83€5.87
12 months (+free router)12 mo$75.00$6.25€5.38

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
30 days
Free trial
2 (48h)
Auto-renewal
Not stated
Payment methods
credit/debit card

Everything LibertyShield VPN publishes

Every fact we collected about LibertyShield VPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Not stated
Registered in
UK (Scotland)
Related brands
UK Proxy Server (former name)
Founded
2008
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
Not stated
Currencies on the site
GBP billing (review)

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
1/6/12 months; router bundles
Billing terms
  • 1
  • 6
  • 12 months
Cheapest price a month
$6.25
Monthly plan
$8.99
1-year plan, total
$75.00
1-year plan, a month
$6.25
Lifetime plan
Not stated
Family plan
Not stated

Discounts and programmes

Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
unlimited (different server per device)
Data limit
none

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
credit/debit card
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
No
Cryptocurrency
No
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
Email needed to sign up
Not stated
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
30

Free trial terms

Trial length
2 (48h)
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
8
Servers
218

8 countries listed. A link opens our ranking of VPNs with servers there.

Europe 6

Americas 2

Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
No
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
No
Tor over VPN
No
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardNot stated
  • OpenVPN✓ Yes
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecrouterYes
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolNot stated
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
  • PPTProuter✕ Yes
Encryption
AES-256
Perfect forward secrecy
No
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
No
DNS leak protection
Yes leaks found (test)
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
No
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated
Known incidents
Yes VirusTotal flagged Windows installer (vpnMentor test)

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes no audit
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
personal data up to 2 years after last use
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timesmay record usage times◐ Partial
  • Bandwidthdaily transfer totals✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linuxmanual✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TV✓ Yes
  • Fire TV2nd gen✓ Yes
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersLITE/PRO preconfigured✓ Yes
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesproxy setup (Wii, PS, Xbox)✓ Yes
Browser extensions
  • Chrome
  • Edge
  • Firefox
  • Safari (proxy)

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Yes claimed works
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Yes
Prime Video
Yes
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Yes sales only
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes
Phone
Yes
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Response time (claimed)
~15 min (test)
Help articles
Yes
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    4.67 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 4.92; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 4.85 from 13.

    The company replied to 1 of 3 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.57 of 5, smoothed

    From 20 collected reviews (raw average 3.65; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 5.00 from 1.

  • Google Play

    4.17 of 5, smoothed

    From 142 collected reviews (raw average 4.26; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 5.00 from 1.

    The company replied to 5 of 23 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.9 (1092 reviews); App Store (US) 4.00 (4 ratings); Google Play 3.1 (211 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’254 reviews, average 5.0
  2. Nov ’253 reviews, average 5.0
  3. Dec ’257 reviews, average 5.0
  4. Jan ’265 reviews, average 5.0
  5. Feb ’269 reviews, average 4.56
  6. Mar ’265 reviews, average 5.0
  7. Apr ’262 reviews, average 5.0
  8. May ’263 reviews, average 5.0
  9. Jun ’267 reviews, average 5.0
  10. Jul ’263 reviews, average 5.0
  11. Aug ’264 reviews, average 5.0
  12. Sep ’268 reviews, average 4.75
  13. Oct ’262 reviews, average 5.0
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

34 Reddit and forum threads mention LibertyShield VPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 5★ · 20 Sep 2026 · GB

    Support

  • App Store · 5★ · 08 Sep 2025 · GB

    Excellent

  • App Store · 1★ · 08 Dec 2024 · GB

    Apo

  • Google Play · 5★ · 07 Sep 2026

    excellent app, does exactly what's needed 5*

  • Google Play · 1★ · 23 Feb 2026

    cannot get past login. website works fine

  • Google Play · 5★ · 13 Dec 2025

    very good.

  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 11 Oct 2026 · NL

    Excellent service support

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 01 Oct 2026 · DE

    great costumer service

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 27 Sep 2026 · SA

    Fantastic Company, with great customer service

    Original review

Questions about LibertyShield VPN

Answers built from what LibertyShield VPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is LibertyShield VPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 0.0/10 and security 1.1/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.1). Red flag: Public security incident. Independent no-logs audit: Not stated.

In 10 seconds

  • Public incident on record
  • Jurisdiction in 5 Eyes

Privacy

Jurisdiction
UK, 5 Eyes
Legal entity
Not stated
No-logs policy
Yes no audit
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
personal data up to 2 years after last use
Known incidents
VirusTotal flagged Windows installer (vpnMentor test)

Security

Kill switch
No
DNS leak protection
No
Encryption
AES-256
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

LibertyShield VPN not working? Common causes and what to check

2 things to check, built from what LibertyShield VPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Switch protocol in the app: LibertyShield VPN lists OpenVPN, L2TP/IPsec.

Contact support: live chat, email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
sales only
Email
Yes

LibertyShield VPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

LibertyShield VPN refund window: 30 days.

Refund terms

Refund window
30
Conditions
Not stated
Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
2 (48h)

LibertyShield VPN free trial: length, terms and payment details

LibertyShield VPN free trial: 2 (48h).

Trial terms

Card needed
Not stated
Refund window
30
Free plan
No

In our rankings

LibertyShield VPN appears on 97 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 97

Cheaper with the same features

Higher score for the same money

Owner and jurisdiction

Closed services LibertyShield VPN replaces

Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15.

Website
https://www.vpnmentor.com/reviews/libertyshield-vpn/

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error

When (UTC)FieldWasNow
2026-10-16rank_main336335
2026-10-16rank_consumer417416