Safing SPN review: score, privacy and prices

2.93

out of 10#120 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:Austria, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
  • Data completeness87%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Monero payments
  • Free plan
  • Open-source apps

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Security and protocols4.3 vs 2.1
  • Privacy and jurisdiction3.7 vs 2.7
  • Price and fair terms4.4 vs 3.5

Weakest against its segment

  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 3.1
  • Platforms and support3.0 vs 4.3
  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare Safing SPN (Portmaster) side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Safing SPN (Portmaster)segment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.73.7
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.14.3
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.54.4
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.10.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.33.0
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Safing SPN (Portmaster) pricing

The cheapest way in is €3.33 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Safing SPN (Portmaster) renews at its standard price, the same per month as the first term. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Price per month over 3 years, Portmaster Plus plan

€3.33/mo for 12 months then €3.33/mo €5

first termrenewalmarket median €3.13/momonths →

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep Safing SPN (Portmaster) running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 EUR = €1). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst paymentThen1 year2 years3 years
Portmaster Plus, 12 mo €40.00 €40.00 / 12 mo€40.00€80.00€120.00
Portmaster Pro, 1 mo €8.00 €8.00 / 1 mo€96.00€192.00€288.00
Portmaster Pro, 12 mo €80.00 €80.00 / 12 mo€80.00€160.00€240.00

Compare Safing SPN (Portmaster)’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer monthRenewal priceRenewal term
Portmaster Free—€0.00€0.00——
Portmaster Plus12 mo€40.00€3.33€40.0012 mo
Portmaster Pro1 mo€8.00€8.00€8.001 mo
Portmaster Pro12 mo€80.00€6.67€80.0012 mo

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
14 (statutory withdrawal, initial order only)
Refund conditions
14-day cooling-off for initial order only; used service and 15% admin fee deducted; renewals not refundable; no refund on ToS termination
Free trial
0 days
Auto-renewal
Yes
How to cancel
Email cancellations@safing.io / support@safing.io at least 72h before expiry
Payment methods
Card; PayPal; Stripe; bank wire; cash by post; Bitcoin; Monero
Renewal note
Auto-renews at original subscription rate unless cancelled 72h before expiry; price changes apply at renewal

Everything Safing SPN (Portmaster) publishes

Every fact we collected about Safing SPN (Portmaster), as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Safing ICS Technologies GmbH (FN464654S)
Registered in
Austria
Address
Postal address on request via office@safing.io
Related brands
  • Portmaster
  • SPN
  • partnership with IVPN
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
none
Website languages
EN
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
EUR

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Free
  • Plus
  • Pro
Billing terms
1m (Pro); 12m (Plus, Pro)
Cheapest price a month
€3.33
Monthly plan
€8.00
1-year plan, total
€80.00
1-year plan, a month
€6.67
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
Auto-renews at original subscription rate unless cancelled 72h before expiry; price changes apply at renewal
Family plan
No
Dedicated IP add-on
No
Port forwarding add-on
No
Double VPN add-on
Yes included (multi-hop onion routing in SPN)
Antivirus
No
Password manager
No
eSIM
No
Identity protection
No
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
Plus/Pro add investigative network-monitoring features, priority support

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
No annual Pro ~17% cheaper than monthly
Discount compared with
monthly price
Sale running when checked
No
Student discount
Not stated
Discount for crypto payment
No
Bonus months
No

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
5
Data limit
no explicit cap; AUP bans overburdening network with high sustained/burst loads
Country restrictions
May limit availability by area (e.g. war zones)
Features locked to higher plans
SPN, investigative features, priority support only in Plus/Pro
Prohibited by the terms
Unlawful use, spam, hacking, CSAM, hate content, copyright infringement, malware, overburdening network, sharing logins, reverse engineering

Free plan

Free plan
Yes Portmaster firewall only, no SPN
Free data
Not stated
Free locations
none (SPN not included)
Ads in the free plan
No
Other free plan terms
Free open-source firewall, DNS ad/tracker blocking

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
  • Card
  • PayPal
  • Stripe
  • bank wire
  • cash by post
  • Bitcoin
  • Monero
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Yes
Cryptocurrency
Yes
Coins accepted
BTC; XMR (ToS also mentions ETH)
Cash
Yes by post with payment token
Gift cards
Not stated
Mobile carrier billing
No
Local payment methods
bank wire (Sparkasse)
Auto-renewal by default
Yes
How to cancel
Email cancellations@safing.io / support@safing.io at least 72h before expiry
Email needed to sign up
Partial username; email if required by payment method
Phone needed to sign up
No
Account-number login
No
Identity check (KYC)
No payments up to EUR 400 need no customer info
Money-back guarantee, days
14 (statutory withdrawal, initial order only)
Refund conditions
  • 14-day cooling-off for initial order only
  • used service and 15% admin fee deducted
  • renewals not refundable
  • no refund on ToS termination

Free trial terms

Trial length
0 days
Trial limits
No free SPN trial (FAQ)
Instead of a trial
Free Portmaster firewall
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Streaming servers
No claims automatic geo-unblocking
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
No
Static IP
No
Residential IP
No
Double VPN / multi-hop
Yes onion routing, separate path per connection
Tor over VPN
No
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
No

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✕ No
  • OpenVPN✕ No
  • IKEv2✕ No
  • L2TP/IPsecNo
  • SSTPNo
  • SoftEther✕ No
  • Own protocolSPN (onion routing, Jess crypto library)✓ Yes
  • VLESS / Reality✕ No
  • VMess✕ No
  • Trojan✕ No
  • Shadowsocks✕ No
  • Hysteria2✕ No
  • TUIC✕ No
  • NaiveProxy✕ No
  • obfs4✕ No
  • AmneziaWG✕ No
  • PPTP✓ No
Other protocols
No
Encryption
Layered encryption at each hop (Jess)
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
No
Open-source apps
Yes https://github.com/safing/portmaster

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
No
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Own DNS servers
Yes DNS-level filtering in Portmaster
Split tunnelling
Yes per app/domain exclusions; split tunneling in 2.2.1
Ad and malware blocker
Yes DNS-level ad/tracker blocking
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Yes Cure53 pentest of Jess crypto component
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes no browsing history, destinations, content, IPs or DNS queries on SPN
Independent no-logs audit
No
Data retention
  • Web IP/user agent up to 72h
  • payment records 7 years
  • SPN none
Shared with third parties
Processors: Hetzner, GitHub Pages, PayPal, Stripe, Sparkasse, Mailbox.org, Rapidmail; no sale of PII
Trackers on the website
First-party cookies only; self-hosted Plausible
Transparency report
No
Warrant canary
No
Law enforcement requests
  • Requires written request with valid Austrian court order
  • single-account data only
  • SPN data does not exist
Anonymous sign-up
Partial username, cash/crypto payments
GDPR / data protection officer
no named DPO; privacymatters@safing.io
Privacy policy updated
2023-11-16 (Amendment 0.8)

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Emailoptional/if required by payment method✕ Yes
  • Connection IPSPN✓ No
  • Session timesNot stated
  • Device infoweb: user agent (72h)✕ Yes
  • App analyticsweb only, self-hosted Plausible aggregate✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✕ No
  • Linux.deb, .rpm✓ Yes
  • iOS✕ No
  • Android✕ No
  • Android TV✕ No
  • Fire TV✕ No
  • Apple TV✕ No
  • Chromebook✕ No
  • Smart TV✕ No
  • Routers✕ No
  • NAS✕ No
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consoles✕ No
Browser extensions
No

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
No
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
No
Live chat 24/7
No
Email / tickets
Yes support@safing.io
Phone
No
Telegram
No
WhatsApp
No
Discord or forum
Discord; Reddit r/safing
Support languages
EN
Help articles
Yes wiki.safing.io
Video guides
Yes YouTube
Server status page
Not stated
Uptime guarantee (SLA)
SLA rebate credited per full day of SPN downtime caused by provider

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    3.69 of 5, smoothed

    From 1 collected reviews (raw average 5.00; all VPNs 3.66).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 3.7 (1 reviews).

26 Reddit and forum threads mention Safing SPN (Portmaster) (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 18 Aug 2025 · PL

    Literally the best software you can ever use

    Original review

Rankings by user reviews

Questions about Safing SPN (Portmaster)

Answers built from what Safing SPN (Portmaster) publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is Safing SPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 3.7/10 and security 4.3/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.1). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: ✕ No.

In 10 seconds

  • Open-source apps

Privacy

Jurisdiction
Austria, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
Legal entity
Safing ICS Technologies GmbH (FN464654S)
No-logs policy
Yes no browsing history, destinations, content, IPs or DNS queries on SPN
Data retention
Web IP/user agent up to 72h; payment records 7 years; SPN none
Shared with third parties
Processors: Hetzner, GitHub Pages, PayPal, Stripe, Sparkasse, Mailbox.org, Rapidmail; no sale of PII
Trackers on the website
First-party cookies only; self-hosted Plausible

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Encryption
Layered encryption at each hop (Jess)
Security audits
Cure53 pentest of Jess crypto component
Open-source apps
https://github.com/safing/portmaster
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

Safing SPN not working? Common causes and what to check

1 things to check, built from what Safing SPN (Portmaster) publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Contact support: email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
No
Live chat 24/7
No
Telegram
No
Mirrors or channel
No
Email
Yes support@safing.io

Safing SPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

Safing SPN (Portmaster) refund window: 14 (statutory withdrawal, initial order only). Conditions: 14-day cooling-off for initial order only; used service and 15% admin fee deducted; renewals not refundable; no refund on ToS termination

Refund terms

Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
0

How to cancel Safing SPN and turn off auto-renewal

How Safing SPN (Portmaster) says you cancel: Email cancellations@safing.io / support@safing.io at least 72h before expiry. Auto-renewal by default: yes.

Cancellation and renewal

Auto-renewal by default
Yes
Reminder before renewal
Not stated
Renewal note
Auto-renews at original subscription rate unless cancelled 72h before expiry; price changes apply at renewal
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

Who owns Safing SPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

Safing SPN (Portmaster) is run by Safing ICS Technologies GmbH (FN464654S), registered in Austria.

Company

Address
Postal address on request via office@safing.io
Related brands
Portmaster; SPN; partnership with IVPN

In our rankings

Safing SPN (Portmaster) appears on 61 topic pages. Its place on each:

Show all 61

Similar VPNs

Higher score for the same money

Closed services Safing SPN (Portmaster) replaces

Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://safing.io
Pages checked
["https://safing.io", "https://safing.io/pricing/", "https://safing.io/privacy/", "https://safing.io/terms/", "https://safing.io/spn/"]

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error