Independent dVPN review: score, privacy and prices

1.34

out of 10#336 of 377 in the main ranking
Decentralised (dVPN) median 2.9

  • Decentralised (dVPN)
  • Jurisdiction:UK, 5 Eyes
  • Owner:Based Apps Ltd
  • Data completeness60%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • No email to sign up
  • Free plan
  • Open-source apps

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Network and streaming1.9 vs 1.9
  • Price and fair terms2.1 vs 2.8
  • Security and protocols2.1 vs 2.9

Weakest against its segment

  • Platforms and support1.1 vs 3.6
  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 2.4
  • Privacy and jurisdiction1.0 vs 2.7
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Ads in the free plan
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare Independent dVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Decentralised (dVPN) services in the main ranking (15 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Independent dVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.71.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.92.1
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 2.82.1
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 2.40.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 1.91.9
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.61.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Independent dVPN pricing

Independent dVPN does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: Yes site: Free on iOS and Android; free tier with ads, Premium monthly sub optional. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
Not stated
Free trial
Not stated
Auto-renewal
Yes App Store
Payment methods
in-app (App Store/Google Play); card, PayPal, Bitcoin via processors

Everything Independent dVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about Independent dVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Based Apps Ltd (SC775767)
Registered in
UK (Scotland)
Address
5 South Charlotte Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AN, UK
Parent company
Based Apps Ltd
Related brands
Sentinel dVPN ecosystem (white-label)
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
EN

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
Premium (monthly auto-renew)
Billing terms
1 month (App Store)
Cheapest price a month
Not stated
Monthly plan
Not stated
Lifetime plan
Not stated
Family plan
Not stated

Discounts and programmes

Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
Not stated
Features locked to higher plans
Premium: no ads, all locations, high-tier dVPN servers

Free plan

Free plan
Yes site: Free on iOS and Android; free tier with ads, Premium monthly sub optional
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Yes Premium removes ads

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
in-app (App Store/Google Play); card, PayPal, Bitcoin via processors
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Yes
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes in-app stores
Cryptocurrency
Yes
Coins accepted
BTC
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Yes App Store
Email needed to sign up
Not stated
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
Not stated

Free trial terms

Trial length
Not stated
Where the trial is offered
iOS (App Store: charged after trial period if eligible)
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
8 listed
Servers
5000+ dVPN nodes (site claim)
Cities
300+ (Play listing claim)

8 countries listed. A link opens our ranking of VPNs with servers there.

Europe 4

Americas 1

Asia and Oceania 3

Server countries, as published
Australia; France; Greece; India; Lithuania; UK; USA; Vietnam (App Store description)
Middle East and North Africa
No
Virtual locations
Not stated
Own servers
No decentralized Sentinel nodes
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✓ Yes
  • OpenVPNapp offers V2Ray and WireGuard✕ No
  • IKEv2app offers V2Ray and WireGuard✕ No
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolSentinel dVPN network; V2Ray/WireGuard✕ No
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Other protocols
V2Ray
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Yes claims fully open-source (repo not linked on site)

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Turkey (implied by keywords)
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Partial nodes don't collect traffic/IP/device info; abuse IPs may be kept
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
active accounts indefinitely; deleted on account closure
Shared with third parties
Google Analytics (site), payment processors, crash analytics, ByteConnect (opt-in), email partner
Trackers on the website
Google Analytics
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Yes crypto payments accepted anonymously
GDPR / data protection officer
GDPR contact email
Privacy policy updated
2026-04-02

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Emailoptional✕ Yes
  • Connection IPnot permanently; kept for abuse/fraud◐ Partial
  • Session timesNot stated
  • Device infowebsite analytics only✕ Yes
  • App analyticsoptional anonymous OS stats✕ Yes
  • Crash reports✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windowssite: iOS and Android only✕ No
  • macOS✕ No
  • Linuxsite: iOS and Android only✕ No
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • AndroidGoogle Play listing✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated
App Store rating
4.5 (1.1K ratings)
Google Play rating
4.6 (7.19K reviews)
Google Play installs
500K+
Last app update
v2.0.0 (Apr 2025)
App languages
14 locales (App Store)

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Not stated
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • App Store

    3.23 of 5, smoothed

    From 23 collected reviews (raw average 2.57; all VPNs 3.54).

  • Google Play

    4.22 of 5, smoothed

    From 400 collected reviews (raw average 4.25; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 4.47 from 60.

    The company replied to 0 of 58 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: App Store (US) 4.55 (1073 ratings); Google Play 4.6 (7.19K ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’2516 reviews, average 4.0
  2. Nov ’2521 reviews, average 4.29
  3. Dec ’257 reviews, average 4.86
  4. Jan ’2615 reviews, average 4.53
  5. Feb ’2613 reviews, average 4.46
  6. Mar ’2618 reviews, average 4.28
  7. Apr ’269 reviews, average 4.89
  8. May ’2614 reviews, average 3.0
  9. Jun ’2621 reviews, average 4.48
  10. Jul ’2611 reviews, average 4.64
  11. Aug ’2618 reviews, average 4.72
  12. Sep ’2622 reviews, average 4.36
  13. Oct ’2616 reviews, average 4.31
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

27 Reddit and forum threads mention Independent dVPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 1★ · 31 May 2026 · US

    Won’t open

  • App Store · 1★ · 24 May 2026 · US

    App keeps crashing

  • App Store · 1★ · 06 Oct 2025 · US

    Bug

  • Google Play · 5★ · 13 Oct 2026

    Sex

  • Google Play · 5★ · 11 Oct 2026

    good

  • Google Play · 4★ · 11 Oct 2026

    Good 👍

Questions about Independent dVPN

Answers built from what Independent dVPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is Independent dVPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 1.0/10 and security 2.1/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.9). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: Not stated.

In 10 seconds

  • Open-source apps
  • Jurisdiction in 5 Eyes

Privacy

Jurisdiction
UK, 5 Eyes
Legal entity
Based Apps Ltd (SC775767)
No-logs policy
Yes nodes don't collect traffic/IP/device info; abuse IPs may be kept
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
active accounts indefinitely; deleted on account closure
Shared with third parties
Google Analytics (site), payment processors, crash analytics, ByteConnect (opt-in), email partner
Trackers on the website
Google Analytics

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Open-source apps
claims fully open-source (repo not linked on site)
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

Is it safe? of similar VPNs

Independent dVPN not working? Common causes and what to check

1 things to check, built from what Independent dVPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Update the app: the last update we saw is dated v2.0.0 (Apr 2025).

Who owns Independent dVPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

Independent dVPN is run by Based Apps Ltd (SC775767), registered in UK (Scotland); parent company: Based Apps Ltd.

Company

Registered in
UK (Scotland)
Address
5 South Charlotte Street, Edinburgh EH2 4AN, UK
Related brands
Sentinel dVPN ecosystem (white-label)

Jurisdiction

Owners of similar VPNs

Independent dVPN compared

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15.

Website
https://independentdvpn.com
Pages checked
https://independentdvpn.com (JS-only, meta only); https://docs.sentinel.co/get-started/apps; https://mwm.ai/apps/independent-dvpn/6468454526 (App Store data); https://independentdvpn.com/legal/privacy -> https://basedapps.co.uk/privacy
Other sources used
free_tier/servers/platforms/open source: https://independentdvpn.com/; trial/premium features: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/independent-dvpn/id6468454526; protocols/cities/play stats: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bagimsizvpn.app&hl=en

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error

When (UTC)FieldWasNow
2026-10-16rank_main307306
2026-10-16rank_consumer364363