ActiVPN review: score, privacy and prices

1.19

out of 10#355 of 377 in the main ranking
Consumer VPN median 2.6

  • Consumer VPN
  • Jurisdiction:France, 14 Eyes
  • Data completeness80%
  • Checked2026-10-15

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
  • Platforms and support3.8 vs 4.3
  • Network and streaming2.5 vs 3.1

Weakest against its segment

  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.5 vs 2.7
  • Security and protocols0.0 vs 2.1
  • Price and fair terms2.1 vs 3.5
  • Jurisdiction in the 14 Eyes alliance

Compare ActiVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Consumer VPN services in the main ranking (233 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

ActiVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.70.5
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 2.10.0
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.52.1
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 3.12.5
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 4.33.8
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

ActiVPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €1.72 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, ActiVPN renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep ActiVPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year2 years3 years
1 month, 1 mo €9.46 €113.52at the current price€227.04at the current price€340.56at the current price
1 year (limited quantity), 12 mo €41.28 €41.28——
2 years, 24 mo €41.28 €41.28€41.28—

Compare ActiVPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / month
1 month1 mo$11.00$11.00€9.46
1 year (limited quantity)12 mo$48.00$4.00€3.44
2 years24 mo$48.00$2.00€1.72

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
0 (refunds case-by-case)
Free trial
0 days
Auto-renewal
Not stated
How to cancel
email support
Payment methods
Not stated

Everything ActiVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about ActiVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Not stated
Registered in
France (Legals page)
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
14
Website languages
Not stated
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • 1 month
  • 1 year
  • 2 years
Billing terms
  • 1
  • 12
  • 24
Cheapest price a month
$2.00
Monthly plan
$11.00
1-year plan, total
$48.00
1-year plan, a month
$4.00
2-year plan, total
$48.00
2-year plan, a month
$2.00
Lifetime plan
Not stated
Family plan
Not stated

Discounts and programmes

Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
5

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
Not stated
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
How to cancel
email support
Email needed to sign up
Not stated
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
0 (refunds case-by-case)

Free trial terms

Trial length
0 days
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
32
Servers
66+

5 countries listed (the provider’s list is incomplete). A link opens our ranking of VPNs with servers there.

Europe 2

Americas 3

Server countries, as published
partial: US; CA; RO; RU; CU
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✕ No
  • OpenVPN✓ Yes
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecL2TP/IPSecYes
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolNot stated
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
  • PPTP✕ Yes
Encryption
AES-256-CBC, RSA-2048 PKI
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Yes ovpn (OpenVPN setup)
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
not confirmed for China
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
No leaks observed
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
No
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Not stated
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timesNot stated

Apps and devices

  • Windowsmanual (OpenVPN)✓ Yes
  • macOSmanual✓ Yes
  • Linuxmanual✓ Yes
  • iOSmanual✓ Yes
  • Androidmanual✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • Routers✓ Yes
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesXbox; PlayStation (setup)✓ Yes
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Yes inconsistent HD
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
No
Prime Video
No
Gaming features
Yes low ping claim
Torrenting
No table: not supported; no P2P servers

Support

Live chat
No
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes tickets
Phone
No
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Response time (claimed)
~30 min (took ~1 day)
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

No reviews collected for this service.

33 Reddit and forum threads mention ActiVPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Questions about ActiVPN

Answers built from what ActiVPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Is ActiVPN safe? Logging policy, audits and jurisdiction

Privacy and jurisdiction 0.5/10 and security 0.0/10 (segment medians 2.7 and 2.1). No red flag in our data. Independent no-logs audit: Not stated.

In 10 seconds

  • Jurisdiction in 14 Eyes

Privacy

Jurisdiction
France, 14 Eyes
Legal entity
Not stated
No-logs policy
table says no logs, but no privacy policy found
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
No
Encryption
AES-256-CBC, RSA-2048 PKI
Security audits
none
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated

ActiVPN not working? Common causes and what to check

3 things to check, built from what ActiVPN publishes about its apps, protocols and support. We do not test connections ourselves.

What to check

Switch protocol in the app: ActiVPN lists OpenVPN, L2TP/IPsec.

Try a manual configuration (.ovpn (OpenVPN setup)).

Contact support: email.

Support when the VPN is blocked

Live chat
No
Email
Yes tickets

ActiVPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

ActiVPN refund window: 0 (refunds case-by-case).

Refund terms

Conditions
Not stated
Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated
Free trial
0

How to cancel ActiVPN and turn off auto-renewal

How ActiVPN says you cancel: email support.

Cancellation and renewal

Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
Reminder before renewal
Not stated
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

Similar VPNs

Cheaper with the same features

Higher score for the same money

Closed services ActiVPN replaces

Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15.

Website
https://www.vpnmentor.com/reviews/activpn/
Pages checked
https://www.vpnmentor.com/reviews/activpn/ (updated 2026-05-27); https://activpn.com/ (WebFetch robots-disallowed; browser tab failed)

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error

When (UTC)FieldWasNow
2026-10-16rank_main298297
2026-10-16rank_consumer351350