OpenVPN review: score, privacy and prices

2.46

out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5

  • Business VPN / ZTNA
  • Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
  • Founded2002 (copyright 2002-2024)
  • Owner:OpenVPN, Inc.
  • Data completeness87%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Trial without a card
  • Free plan
  • Open-source apps

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Security and protocols5.0 vs 1.8
  • Platforms and support6.7 vs 3.9
  • Price and fair terms4.8 vs 3.4

Weakest against its segment

  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
  • Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
  • Stores session times

Compare OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa)segment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.85.0
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.44.8
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.96.7
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) pricing

The cheapest way in is €6.02 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) renews at its standard price, the same per month as the first term. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Price per month over 3 years, Access Server Growth yearly, per connection plan

€6.02/mo for 12 months then €6.02/mo €5€10

first termrenewalmarket median €3.13/momonths →

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst paymentThen1 year2 years3 years
Access Server Growth monthly, per connection, 1 mo €7.74 €7.74 / 1 mo€92.88€185.76€278.64
Access Server Growth yearly, per connection, 12 mo €72.24 €72.24 / 12 mo€72.24€144.48€216.72
CloudConnexa Essential, per seat, 1 mo €6.02 —€72.24at the current price€144.48at the current price€216.72at the current price
CloudConnexa Premium, per seat, 1 mo €8.17 —€98.04at the current price€196.08at the current price€294.12at the current price

Compare OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa)’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal priceRenewal term
Access Server FreeLifetime$0.00$0.00€0.00——
Access Server Growth monthly, per connection1 mo$9.00$9.00€7.74$9.001 mo
Access Server Growth yearly, per connection12 mo$84.00$7.00€6.02$84.0012 mo
CloudConnexa Starter1 mo$0.00$0.00€0.00——
CloudConnexa Essential, per seat1 mo$7.00$7.00€6.02——
CloudConnexa Premium, per seat1 mo$9.50$9.50€8.17——

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
30 days
Refund conditions
subscriptions refundable within 30 days of purchase; renewals not refundable except defects; fixed license keys only if not activated; email sales@openvpn.net
Free trial
14 (Access Server Growth / CloudConnexa Essential & Premium); free tier forever, site
Card needed for trial
No
Auto-renewal
Not stated
How to cancel
cancel anytime; unused funds credited to account
Payment methods
card (credit card); invoicing
VAT
No customer pays applicable taxes
Renewal note
subscriptions; renewal terms per Product and Service Agreement

Everything OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) publishes

Every fact we collected about OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa), as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
OpenVPN, Inc. (Delaware corporation)
Registered in
US
Address
6200 Stoneridge Mall Road, 3rd Floor, Pleasanton, CA 94588, USA
Parent company
OpenVPN, Inc.
Related brands
  • Access Server
  • CloudConnexa
  • OpenVPN Connect
  • OpenVPN community (open source)
Founded
2002 (copyright 2002-2024)
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
EN
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Access Server: Free
  • Growth
  • Enterprise. CloudConnexa: Free (5 seats) + paid
Billing terms
monthly; yearly (save $240 on Growth example)
Cheapest price a month
7 per connection
Monthly plan
7 per connection/month (starting)
1-year plan, a month
7 per connection/month billed yearly (Access Server Growth; e.g. $70/mo for 10 connections)
Lifetime plan
No fixed license keys exist
Renewal
subscriptions; renewal terms per Product and Service Agreement
VAT included
No customer pays applicable taxes
Family plan
No
Business price per user
from 7 USD per concurrent connection/month
Business minimum seats
2 connections (Access Server)
Prices seen from other countries
USD: Access Server Growth $9/connection/mo monthly, $7/connection/mo billed yearly (save $240 for 10 conn); CloudConnexa Starter free, Essential $7/seat/mo, Premium $9.50/seat/mo
Password manager
No
eSIM
No
Identity protection
No
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
CloudConnexa: content filtering (40+ categories), IDS/IPS

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
yearly saving ($240 on Growth example)
Discount compared with
monthly billing
Sale running when checked
No
Student discount
Not stated
Referral programme
Yes customer referral program

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
Not stated
Country restrictions
US export control laws
Features locked to higher plans
Growth/Enterprise: SAML/SSO, LDAP/RADIUS, clustering, REST API, priority support (exact matrix JS-rendered)
Prohibited by the terms
account sharing, reverse engineering, harvesting, malware, spam, illegal use

Free plan

Free plan
Yes
Free data
Yes unlimited
Free devices
Access Server 2 concurrent connections; CloudConnexa 5 seats
Ads in the free plan
No
Other free plan terms
no credit card required

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
card (credit card); invoicing
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
No
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
How to cancel
cancel anytime; unused funds credited to account
Email needed to sign up
Yes
Account-number login
Not stated
Identity check (KYC)
No
Money-back guarantee, days
30
Refund conditions
  • subscriptions refundable within 30 days of purchase
  • renewals not refundable except defects
  • fixed license keys only if not activated
  • email sales@openvpn.net

Free trial terms

Trial length
14 (Access Server Growth / CloudConnexa Essential & Premium); free tier forever
Where the trial is offered
site
Trial limits
2 connections (AS) / 5 seats (CloudConnexa)
Card needed for the trial
No

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Yes
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✕ No
  • OpenVPN✓ Yes
  • IKEv2✕ No
  • L2TP/IPsecNo
  • SSTPNo
  • SoftEther✕ No
  • Own protocolOpenVPN (DCO data channel offload)✓ Yes
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
  • PPTP✓ No
Other protocols
IPsec (CloudConnexa site connections)
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Yes ovpn profiles (import via URL)
Open-source apps
Yes OpenVPN community open source

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Yes OpenVPN Connect App Kill Switch on Android/iOS since Nov 2021; Seamless Tunnel on desktop
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Own DNS servers
Yes secure DNS (CloudConnexa)
Split tunnelling
Yes domain-based routing
Ad and malware blocker
Yes CloudConnexa content filtering, IDS/IPS
Two-factor sign-in
Yes TOTP MFA, Duo, Google Authenticator
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Yes vulnerability disclosure policy
Certifications
  • SOC 2 Type 2
  • ISO/IEC 27001:2022
  • HIPAA
  • GDPR

Privacy

No-logs policy
No session/connection logs, access & DNS logs, log streaming are features
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Shared with third parties
  • trusted third parties operating business
  • card processor
  • may list customers in marketing
Trackers on the website
cookies via consent management platform
Transparency report
No
Warrant canary
No
Law enforcement requests
releases info to comply with law
Anonymous sign-up
No
GDPR / data protection officer
no DPO named; privacy@openvpn.net

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Email✕ Yes
  • IP at sign-upwebsite logs: source IP, user agent✕ Yes
  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timessession logs (customer)✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✓ Yes
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linuxserver: RHEL, Debian, Ubuntu✓ Yes
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookChromeOS, CloudConnexa✓ Yes
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersOpenVPN-capable routers✓ Yes
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
No

Speed, streaming and gaming

Claimed speed
DCO fastest VPN protocol
10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Fastest protocol (claimed)
OpenVPN with DCO
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Yes site messaging widget with guided chat: support/sales
Live chat 24/7
No 24/7 technical support portal
Email / tickets
Yes support portal 24/7
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Help articles
Yes support.openvpn.com
Server status page
Yes status.openvpn.com
Uptime guarantee (SLA)
SLA document (Enterprise)

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Yes SAML/SSO in Access Server
Admin panel
Yes Admin Web UI / Access Server Hub; CloudConnexa admin portal
API
Yes REST API
Dedicated gateway
Yes self-hosted gateways; CloudConnexa connectors
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Yes CloudConnexa Zero Trust: posture checks, micro-segmentation
Identity providers
  • LDAP
  • RADIUS
  • SAML
  • Duo
  • LastPass
  • iVALT

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    3.39 of 5, smoothed

    From 10 collected reviews (raw average 2.00; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 1.

    The company replied to 0 of 7 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    2.95 of 5, smoothed

    From 814 collected reviews (raw average 2.92; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.67 from 3.

  • Google Play

    4.04 of 5, smoothed

    From 400 collected reviews (raw average 4.05; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.78 from 18.

    The company replied to 9 of 81 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 2.3 (10 reviews); App Store (US) 4.84 (40029 ratings); Google Play 4.1 (55.4K ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’254 reviews, average 3.5
  2. Nov ’254 reviews, average 4.5
  3. Dec ’254 reviews, average 1.75
  4. Jan ’269 reviews, average 3.11
  5. Feb ’2612 reviews, average 1.92
  6. Mar ’267 reviews, average 3.71
  7. Apr ’265 reviews, average 4.2
  8. May ’266 reviews, average 1.83
  9. Jun ’263 reviews, average 3.33
  10. Jul ’262 reviews, average 4.5
  11. Aug ’268 reviews, average 3.12
  12. Sep ’269 reviews, average 3.67
  13. Oct ’264 reviews, average 3.5
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

54 Reddit and forum threads mention OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 3★ · 11 Oct 2026 · US

    How do I make a bug report?

  • App Store · 4★ · 17 Sep 2026 · US

    Why No Haptic Touch / Quick Actions?

  • App Store · 1★ · 13 Aug 2026 · US

    makes my internet slow

  • Google Play · 5★ · 09 Oct 2026

    Nice vpn

  • Google Play · 1★ · 04 Oct 2026

    no longer I have no connection.

  • Google Play · 5★ · 03 Oct 2026

    good

  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 21 Aug 2026 · GB

    Totally useless

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 10 Jun 2025 · GR

    Extremely laggy

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 4★ · 10 Jun 2025 · SG

    Buono ma da implementare

    Original review

Questions about OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa)

Answers built from what OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) publishes. Open a question to read the details.

OpenVPN alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score

6 alternatives to OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) (2.46) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: Connectasec (1.90).

Alternatives to OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa)

6 alternatives: similar features
#ServiceScoreFrom
1Connectasec
Business VPN / ZTNA · jurisdiction not stated
1.90€5.00per month
2Netskope Private Access
Business VPN / ZTNA · USA
1.80—
3Shieldoo
Business VPN / ZTNA · Czechia Free plan
1.57—
4NetFoundry
Business VPN / ZTNA · USA Free plan
1.19—
5MicroZAccess (COSGrid)
Business VPN / ZTNA · India
0.93€4.30per month
6Phoenix Contact mGuard
Business VPN / ZTNA · Germany Free plan
0.83—

In our rankings

OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) appears on 4 topic pages. Its place on each:

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://openvpn.net
Pages checked
https://openvpn.net/; https://openvpn.net/access-server/pricing/ (webfetch + browser); https://openvpn.net/cloud-vpn/; https://openvpn.net/privacy-policy/; https://openvpn.net/legal/
Other sources used
price_12m_pm/plans/browser prices: https://openvpn.net/access-server/pricing/; CloudConnexa plans/countries_count: https://openvpn.net/cloud-vpn/pricing/; kill_switch: https://blog.openvpn.net/vpn-kill-switch/ and https://openvpn.net/connect-docs/tutorials/tutorial--turn-on-seamless-tunnel-to-ensure-secure-internet-browsing.html; live_chat: https://openvpn.net/access-server/pricing/ (chat widget)

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error