Netgate pfSense review: score, privacy and prices

1.38

out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5

  • Business VPN / ZTNA
  • Jurisdiction:USA, alliance not disclosed
  • Data completeness60%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Free plan

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Platforms and support5.1 vs 3.9
  • Price and fair terms3.8 vs 3.4
  • Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5

Weakest against its segment

  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
  • Security and protocols1.1 vs 1.8

Compare Netgate pfSense side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Netgate pfSensesegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.81.1
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.43.8
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.95.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Netgate pfSense pricing

The cheapest way in is €9.24 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Netgate pfSense renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep Netgate pfSense running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year2 years3 years
pfSense Plus software (3rd-party HW/VM), 12 mo €110.94 €110.94——
pfSense Plus appliance (from), Lifetime €162.54 €162.54€162.54€162.54

Compare Netgate pfSense’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal term
pfSense Plus software (3rd-party HW/VM)12 mo$129.00$10.75€9.2412 mo
pfSense Plus appliance (from)Lifetime$189.00———

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
30 (hardware returns only, unused, 25% open-box fee; software downloads/virtual products non-refundable)
Refund conditions
30 days, unused in original packaging, 25% open-box fee; software downloads & virtual products not refundable; shipping not refunded
Free trial
30 (cloud AWS/Azure), cloud marketplaces
Auto-renewal
Not stated
Payment methods
Visa; Mastercard; American Express; Discover; Diners Club; Shop Pay; AWS/Azure marketplace billing
Renewal note
software priced per year; renewal terms not stated

Everything Netgate pfSense publishes

Every fact we collected about Netgate pfSense, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Rubicon Communications LLC (Netgate)
Registered in
USA (HQ Austin, TX)
Address
4616 West Howard Lane #900, Austin, TX 78728, USA
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
Not stated
Website languages
EN
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • pfSense Plus appliance
  • pfSense Plus software
  • pfSense Plus cloud (AWS/Azure)
  • TNSR (contact sales)
  • TAC Lite/Pro/Enterprise
  • Business Assurance
Billing terms
  • one-time appliance
  • annual software
  • hourly cloud
Cheapest price a month
$10.75
Monthly plan
Not stated
1-year plan, total
$129.00
1-year plan, a month
$10.75
Lifetime plan
appliance from 189 one-time
Renewal
software priced per year; renewal terms not stated
Family plan
Not stated
Prices seen from other countries
  • USD: pfSense+ software $129/yr (TAC Lite), $399/yr (TAC Pro), $799/yr (TAC Ent)
  • appliances from $189
  • cloud $0.08-$0.40/hr
Other add-ons
  • TAC support tiers
  • extended warranty
  • memory/storage upgrades

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
No
Student discount
Not stated
Affiliate programme
No partner/reseller program

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
Not stated
Data limit
No
Speed limit
hardware-dependent

Free plan

Free plan
Yes pfSense home/lab free offering; cloud 30-day trial
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
No
Other free plan terms
no feature or throughput upcharges

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
  • Visa
  • Mastercard
  • American Express
  • Discover
  • Diners Club
  • Shop Pay
  • AWS/Azure marketplace billing
Bank card
Yes
PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
No store accepts Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Discover, wire transfer, PayPal, gov/edu purchase orders
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
Email needed to sign up
Not stated
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
30 (hardware returns only, unused, 25% open-box fee; software downloads/virtual products non-refundable)
Refund conditions
  • 30 days, unused in original packaging, 25% open-box fee
  • software downloads & virtual products not refundable
  • shipping not refunded

Free trial terms

Trial length
30 (cloud AWS/Azure)
Where the trial is offered
cloud marketplaces
Instead of a trial
Zero Cost PoC for cloud
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Yes
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuard✓ Yes
  • OpenVPN✓ Yes
  • IKEv2IPsec✓ Yes
  • L2TP/IPsecL2TP/IPsecYes
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEther✕ No
  • Own protocol✕ No
  • VLESS / Reality✕ No
  • VMess✕ No
  • Trojan✕ No
  • Shadowsocks✕ No
  • Hysteria2✕ No
  • TUIC✕ No
  • NaiveProxy✕ No
  • obfs4✕ No
  • AmneziaWG✕ No
  • PPTP✓ No
Other protocols
PPPoE server
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Yes self-hosted server; OpenVPN client export
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Own DNS servers
Yes Unbound resolver
Split tunnelling
Yes
Ad and malware blocker
Yes pfBlockerNG, Snort/Suricata IDS/IPS
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Not stated
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Trackers on the website
Google Tag Manager; LinkedIn Ads pixel
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timesNot stated

Apps and devices

  • WindowsNot stated
  • macOSremote-access clients via OpenVPN Client Export, e.g. Viscosity bundle; third-party client✓ Yes
  • Linuxremote-access via standard OpenVPN/WireGuard clients; third-party✓ Yes
  • iOSOpenVPN Connect inline config export; third-party client✓ Yes
  • AndroidAndroid inline config export for OpenVPN app; third-party client✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • Routersis a router/firewall✓ Yes
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
No support via forum, portal, email, phone, remote login
Live chat 24/7
No TAC support 24/7/365 by phone/email/portal for paid TAC
Email / tickets
Yes TAC
Phone
Yes +1 512-646-4100, support 24x7x365
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Discord or forum
Yes forum.netgate.com
Response time (claimed)
TAC Lite 24h; TAC Pro/Ent 4h initial response SLA
Help articles
Yes docs, FAQ
Server status page
Not stated
Uptime guarantee (SLA)
24x7 TAC with SLAs (claim)

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Yes web GUI
Dedicated gateway
Yes
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
No classic firewall/VPN gateway
Identity providers
RADIUS; LDAP

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    3.57 of 5, smoothed

    From 5 collected reviews (raw average 2.60; all VPNs 3.66).

    The company replied to 0 of 3 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 2.7 (5 reviews).

38 Reddit and forum threads mention Netgate pfSense (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 12 Jul 2025 · US

    I’ve been a longtime tech user

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 08 May 2025 · US

    Negate is the Worst!

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 13 Sep 2024 · DK

    Nice products for SMB networking.

    Original review

Rankings by user reviews

In our rankings

Netgate pfSense appears on 2 topic pages. Its place on each:

Also similar to Netgate pfSense

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://netgate.com
Pages checked
https://netgate.com; https://www.netgate.com/pricing-pfsense-plus; https://www.netgate.com/pfsense-features; https://www.netgate.com/company/privacy-policy
Other sources used
price_24m_pm/plan_names/live_chat/live_chat_247/response_time_claimed: https://www.netgate.com/pfsense-plus-software/software-types; money_back_days/refund_conditions: https://shop.netgate.com/policies/refund-policy; payment_methods/card: shop.netgate.com footer payment icons; registration_country/address/phone: https://www.netgate.com/contact-us; card_required_for_trial: https://www.netgate.com/pricing-pfsense-plus; crypto: https://shop.netgate.com/pages/how-to-order (snippet); macos/ios/android/linux: https://docs.netgate.com/pfsense/en/latest/recipes/openvpn-ra-client-macos.html, .../openvpn-ra-client-ios.html, .../openvpn-ra-client-android.html, .../openvpn-ra-client.html (snippets)

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error