Phoenix Contact mGuard review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:Germany, alliance not disclosed
- Owner:Phoenix Contact Group
- Data completeness47%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Trial without a card
- Free plan
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Platforms and support3.8 vs 3.9
- Price and fair terms3.0 vs 3.4
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Security and protocols0.0 vs 1.8
- Auto-renewal on by default
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Phoenix Contact mGuardsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.80.0
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.43.0
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.93.8
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Phoenix Contact mGuard pricing
Phoenix Contact mGuard does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: Yes Secure Cloud basic. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
All plans as published
| Plan |
|---|
| mGuard Secure Cloud Basic |
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 30 (mGuard Secure VPN Client trial version), site (downloadable VPN client trial)
- Card needed for trial
- No free trial download
- Auto-renewal
- Yes Secure Cloud add-on packages renew yearly
- How to cancel
- notice 4 weeks before annual renewal
- Payment methods
- Not stated
- Renewal note
- Secure Cloud add-on packages (e.g. CLOUD-SC-CHINA+): 1-year term, auto-renewed yearly, 4-week notice period; ordered/activated only in cloud interface
Everything Phoenix Contact mGuard publishes
Every fact we collected about Phoenix Contact mGuard, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Phoenix Contact (US: Phoenix Contact USA)
- Registered in
- Germany (group); US subsidiary
- Address
- 586 Fulling Mill Road, Middletown, PA 17057, USA (US site)
- Parent company
- Phoenix Contact Group
- Related brands
- mGuard
- mGuard Secure Cloud
- PLCnext
- TC routers
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- Not stated
- Website languages
- EN (US region site read; regional sites exist)
- Currencies on the site
- none
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Secure Cloud Basic (free); add-ons Remote Access+, China VPN+, Traffic+ 10/100/1000, Support+ (annual)
- Billing terms
- annual add-ons
- Cheapest price a month
- 0 (Basic)
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Renewal
- Secure Cloud add-on packages (e.g. CLOUD-SC-CHINA+): 1-year term, auto-renewed yearly, 4-week notice period; ordered/activated only in cloud interface
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Other add-ons
- Remote Access+ (1 connection, 4 GB/mo)
- China VPN+ (flat-rate, 99% availability)
- Traffic+ 10GB/100GB/1TB
- Support+
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- mGuard Secure VPN Client license: single end device
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes Secure Cloud basic
- Free data
- No 8 GB
- Free devices
- 2 service connections
- Ads in the free plan
- No
Payment and subscription
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Yes Secure Cloud add-on packages renew yearly
- How to cancel
- notice 4 weeks before annual renewal
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- 30 (mGuard Secure VPN Client trial version)
- Where the trial is offered
- site (downloadable VPN client trial)
- Trial limits
- VPN client trial valid 30 days, then only connections for licensing
- Instead of a trial
- free basic tier
- Card needed for the trial
- No free trial download
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuardmGuard 10.x manual lists IPsec and OpenVPN✕ No
- OpenVPNfree OpenVPN client✓ Yes
- IKEv2Not stated
- L2TP/IPsecNot stated
- SSTPNot stated
- SoftEtherNot stated
- Own protocolstandard IPsec✕ No
- VLESS / RealityNot stated
- VMessNot stated
- TrojanNot stated
- ShadowsocksNot stated
- Hysteria2Not stated
- TUICNot stated
- NaiveProxyNot stated
- obfs4Not stated
- AmneziaWGNot stated
- Other protocols
- IPsec (recommended on security page)
- Encryption
- AES 128/192/256 (mGuard Secure VPN Client, IPsec)
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Not stated
- Open-source apps
- Not stated
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- China (China VPN+, officially approved)
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Not stated
- Ad and malware blocker
- Not stated
- Two-factor sign-in
- Not stated
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
- Certifications
- IEC 62443-4-1 process; several devices IEC 62443-4-2
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- server logs 7 days
- GA 14 months
- Pardot 365 days
- Trackers on the website
- Google Analytics
- Pardot
- Google Ads
- Microsoft Ads
- LinkedIn Insight
- Meta Pixel
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
- GDPR / data protection officer
- Yes DPO listing by country
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- IP at sign-upsite logs IP (7 days)✕ Yes
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesNot stated
Apps and devices
- WindowsOpenVPN client✓ Yes
- macOS✓ Yes
- Linux✓ Yes
- iOS✓ Yes
- Android✓ Yes
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TVNot stated
- RoutersmGuard security routers, TC routers✓ Yes
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Not stated
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes Support+
- Phone
- Yes Support+
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Server status page
- Not stated
- Uptime guarantee (SLA)
- 99% (China VPN+)
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- Admin panel
- Yes web interface
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes mGuard hardware
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- No VPN remote maintenance
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
No reviews collected for this service.
35 Reddit and forum threads mention Phoenix Contact mGuard (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Reviews of similar VPNs
- INSYS icom reviews
- RingLink reviews
- OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) reviews
- Azure VPN Gateway reviews
- Alibaba Cloud VPN Gateway reviews
- IXON Cloud reviews
- Advantech WebAccess/VPN reviews
- Cisco Duo reviews
- Netgate pfSense reviews
- Securepoint reviews
- Sophos reviews
- Weidmueller u-link reviews
Show all 14
In our rankings
Phoenix Contact mGuard appears on 2 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- INSYS icom1.07
- RingLink1.05
- IXON Cloud1.19
Also similar to Phoenix Contact mGuard
Owner and jurisdiction
Closed services Phoenix Contact mGuard replaces
Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://phoenixcontact.com
- Pages checked
- https://phoenixcontact.com; https://www.phoenixcontact.com/en-us/industries/industrial-remote-communication; https://www.phoenixcontact.com/en-us/industries/industrial-security; https://www.phoenixcontact.com/en-us/products/industrial-communication/industrial-routers-and-cybersecurity/cloud-based-remote-maintenance; https://www.phoenixcontact.com/en-us/legal-information/phoenix-contact-on-data-protection
- Other sources used
- renewal_note/autorenew_default/cancel_method: https://www.phoenixcontact.com/en-us/products/smart-services-cloud-sc-china-1490436; trial_days/trial_where/card_required_for_trial/trial_limits/simultaneous_devices: https://www.phoenixcontact.com/en-us/m-guard-secure-vpn-client-activation; encryption/ikev2/notes: https://www.phoenixcontact.com/en-us/products/remote-control-software-mguard-secure-vpn-client-lic-2702579; https://help.mguard.com/en/mguard10/manual/10.4/110191_en_08/Section02/Section02.htm; https://assets.phoenixcontact.com/file/ba565392-5516-4fbd-ae58-557f00954251/media/original?General_mGuard_IT-related_FAQs.pdf (snippet: standard IPSec VPN)
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error