Cisco Duo review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:Cisco Systems, Inc.
- Data completeness47%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Free plan
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Price and fair terms3.3 vs 3.4
- Security and protocols1.4 vs 1.8
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Platforms and support1.1 vs 3.9
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Cisco Duosegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.81.4
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.43.3
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.91.1
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Cisco Duo pricing
The cheapest way in is €2.58 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Cisco Duo renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years
What you pay to keep Cisco Duo running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.
| Plan and first term | First payment | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duo Essentials, 1 mo | €2.58 | €30.96at the current price | €61.92at the current price | €92.88at the current price |
| Duo Advantage, 1 mo | €5.16 | €61.92at the current price | €123.84at the current price | €185.76at the current price |
| Duo Premier, 1 mo | €7.74 | €92.88at the current price | €185.76at the current price | €278.64at the current price |
Compare Cisco Duo’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices
All plans as published
| Plan | Term | Price for term | Per month | € / month | Renewal price | Renewal term |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duo Free | 1 mo | $0.00 | $0.00 | €0.00 | $0.00 | 1 mo |
| Duo Essentials | 1 mo | $3.00 | $3.00 | €2.58 | — | — |
| Duo Advantage | 1 mo | $6.00 | $6.00 | €5.16 | — | — |
| Duo Premier | 1 mo | $9.00 | $9.00 | €7.74 | — | — |
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 30 days, site (signup.duo.com)
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- credit card (self-service); sales
Everything Cisco Duo publishes
Every fact we collected about Cisco Duo, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Cisco Systems, Inc. (copyright)
- Registered in
- USA
- Address
- not on pages read
- Parent company
- Cisco Systems, Inc.
- Related brands
- Cisco Secure Client
- Cisco Identity Intelligence
- Duo Passport
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN (no switcher seen)
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- USD
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Free
- Essentials
- Advantage
- Premier
- Billing terms
- per user/month
- Cheapest price a month
- 3 per user (Essentials); 9 per user for VPN-less access (Premier)
- Monthly plan
- 3, per user, Essentials
- Lifetime plan
- No
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- Essentials $3
- Advantage $6
- Premier $9 /user/month
- Business minimum seats
- self-service in blocks of 10 (<100 users) / 25 (>100)
- Other add-ons
- ITDR/ISPM (Advantage+); device trust with EPP check (Premier)
Discounts and programmes
- Discount shown
- No
- Sale running when checked
- No
- Student discount
- Not stated
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
- Features locked to higher plans
- SSO/Directory Essentials+
- ITDR Advantage+
- VPN-less remote access Premier
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes up to 10 users
- Free data
- Not stated
- Free devices
- up to 10 users
- Ads in the free plan
- No
- Other free plan terms
- MFA, integrations, authenticator app
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- credit card (self-service); sales
- Bank card
- Yes
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- No
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Yes
- Account-number login
- No
- Identity check (KYC)
- No
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- 30 days
- Where the trial is offered
- site (signup.duo.com)
- Instead of a trial
- Duo Free up to 10 users
- Card needed for the trial
- Not stated
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- No
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuardNot stated
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2Not stated
- L2TP/IPsecNo
- SSTPNo
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocolNot stated
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✓ No
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Not stated
- Open-source apps
- No
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- No
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- No
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Not stated
- Ad and malware blocker
- No
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes core product: MFA/passwordless
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Yes security response page exists
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- No
- Anonymous sign-up
- No
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Email✕ Yes
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesNot stated
- Device infodevice trust✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- WindowsNot stated
- macOSNot stated
- LinuxNot stated
- iOSDuo Mobile authenticator✓ Yes
- AndroidDuo Mobile authenticator✓ Yes
- Android TV✕ No
- Fire TV✕ No
- Apple TV✕ No
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TV✕ No
- Routers✕ No
- NAS✕ No
- Raspberry Pi✕ No
- Game consoles✕ No
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Speed test in the app
- No
- Netflix
- No
- BBC iPlayer
- No
- Disney+
- No
- Prime Video
- No
- DAZN
- No
- beIN Sports
- No
- Shahid
- No
- OSN+
- No
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Not stated
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes duo.com/support
- Phone
- Not stated
- Telegram
- No
- No
- Help articles
- Yes
- Server status page
- Not stated
- Uptime guarantee (SLA)
- SLA published (duo.com/legal/sla)
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Yes Essentials+
- Admin panel
- Yes
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes Premier Zero Trust access package, VPN-less
- Identity providers
- brokers existing identity sources
- Duo Directory
- Active Directory
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
App Store
3.82 of 5, smoothed
From 707 collected reviews (raw average 3.84; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 4.17 from 296.
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 3.5 (0 reviews); App Store (US) 4.87 (2316064 ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
37 Reddit and forum threads mention Cisco Duo (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 5★ · 13 Oct 2026 · US
Works every time
App Store · 5★ · 13 Oct 2026 · US
Thank goodness for Duo
App Store · 5★ · 13 Oct 2026 · US
easy
Rankings by user reviews
Questions about Cisco Duo
Answers built from what Cisco Duo publishes. Open a question to read the details.
Cisco Duo alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score
8 alternatives to Cisco Duo (0.90) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: Shieldoo (1.57).
Alternatives to Cisco Duo
| # | Service | Score | Why it is here | From | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Shieldoo | 1.57 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 2 | Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client | 1.24 | same owner | same owner | — |
| 3 | Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) | 1.24 | same owner | same owner | — |
| 4 | HMS Ewon (Talk2M / Cosy) | 1.09 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 5 | RingLink | 1.05 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 6 | Phoenix Contact mGuard | 0.83 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 7 | Microsoft Entra Private Access | 0.72 | similar features | similar features | €4.30per month |
| 8 | MORA VPN Zero-Con | 0.70 | similar features | similar features | €87.00per month |
In our rankings
Cisco Duo appears on 4 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
Same owner
Also similar to Cisco Duo
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://duo.com
- Pages checked
- https://duo.com; https://duo.com/editions-and-pricing
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error