Cisco Secure Client review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:Cisco Systems, Inc.
- Data completeness60%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Trial without a card
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Platforms and support5.0 vs 3.9
- Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
- Security and protocols1.8 vs 1.8
Weakest against its segment
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Network and streaming0.6 vs 2.8
- Price and fair terms1.7 vs 3.4
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
- Stores session times
Compare Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) side by side with other VPNs
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect)segment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.81.8
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.41.7
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.6
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.95.0
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) pricing
Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: No client complimentary with Secure Connect, Secure Endpoint, Umbrella. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 28 days, Cisco license portal (Demo and Evaluation)
- Card needed for trial
- No
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- How to cancel
- via Cisco/partner
- Payment methods
- Cisco Commerce / partners
- Renewal note
- term subscriptions 12-60 months; perpetual needs separate SWSS support contract
Everything Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) publishes
Every fact we collected about Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect), as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Cisco Systems, Inc.
- Registered in
- USA
- Related brands
- Cisco Duo
- Umbrella
- Secure Access (SSE)
- Meraki
- Secure Firewall/ASA
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN-US selector (multi-country site)
- Currencies on the site
- none
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Advantage (ex-AnyConnect Plus)
- Premier (ex-Apex)
- VPN Only
- Billing terms
- Advantage: 12-60 mo subscription or perpetual
- Premier: 12-60 mo (default 36)
- VPN Only: perpetual per headend
- Cheapest price a month
- Not stated
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Renewal
- term subscriptions 12-60 months; perpetual needs separate SWSS support contract
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- not public, per Unique User
- Business minimum seats
- 25 users (VPN Only: 25-10,000 concurrent per SKU)
- Other add-ons
- ISE Premier/Apex posture, Secure Endpoint, Cloud Web Security, SWSS support — licensed separately
Discounts and programmes
- Discount shown
- discounts for 3-5 year terms (no %)
- Discount compared with
- vs shorter term
- Sale running when checked
- No
- Student discount
- Not stated
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
- Speed limit
- headend-dependent
- Features locked to higher plans
- Premier only: SAML (vs Advantage), NVM, ISE posture, Suite B, management tunnel, ASA multicontext
Free plan
- Free plan
- No client complimentary with Secure Connect, Secure Endpoint, Umbrella
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- Not stated
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- Cisco Commerce / partners
- PayPal
- No
- Apple Pay / Google Pay
- No
- Cryptocurrency
- No
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- How to cancel
- via Cisco/partner
- Email needed to sign up
- Yes Cisco ID
- Account-number login
- No
- Identity check (KYC)
- Yes contract number linked to Cisco ID to download
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- 28 days
- Where the trial is offered
- Cisco license portal (Demo and Evaluation)
- Trial limits
- 4-week Premier evaluation licence
- Instead of a trial
- Trials and demos page
- Card needed for the trial
- No
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- Own servers
- Yes customer headends (Secure Firewall/FTD, ASA, ISR, Meraki MX)
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- No
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Yes customer headend
- Static IP
- Yes customer headend
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- No
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✕ No
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2IPsec IKEv2, incl. third-party IKEv2 clients✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecNo
- SSTPNo
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocolAnyConnect SSL/TLS + DTLS✓ Yes
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✓ No
- Other protocols
- DTLS; TCP-based TLS
- Encryption
- Suite B next-gen encryption (Premier/VPN Only); FIPS compliant
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Yes admin XML profiles
- Open-source apps
- No
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- No
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- No
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Partial always-on VPN (claimed never off duty; details not on pages read)
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Own DNS servers
- Yes Umbrella Roaming (DNS security)
- Split tunnelling
- Yes per-app VPN (yes)
- Ad and malware blocker
- Yes via Umbrella/Secure Endpoint modules
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes SAML auth (MFA via IdP)
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
- Certifications
- FIPS compliance
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- customer-controlled
- Trackers on the website
- Cookies / Do not sell or share link
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- No
- Anonymous sign-up
- No
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timescustomer-controlled✕ Yes
- Bandwidthcustomer-controlled✕ Yes
- Device infoendpoint context, NVM✕ Yes
- App analyticsNetwork Visibility Module, Premier✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windows✓ Yes
- macOS✓ Yes
- LinuxNot stated
- iOSNot stated
- Androidcertain Android platforms✓ Yes
- Android TV✕ No
- Fire TV✕ No
- Apple TV✕ No
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TV✕ No
- Routersheadends: ISR/ASR/Meraki MX✓ Yes
- NAS✕ No
- Raspberry Pi✕ No
- Game consoles✕ No
- Browser extensions
- No
Speed, streaming and gaming
- Claimed speed
- No
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Fastest protocol (claimed)
- DTLS (adaptive tunnelling)
- Speed test in the app
- No
- Netflix
- No
- BBC iPlayer
- No
- Disney+
- No
- Prime Video
- No
- DAZN
- No
- beIN Sports
- No
- Shahid
- No
- OSN+
- No
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Yes Ask Cisco AI chat
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes Cisco TAC with subscription
- Phone
- Yes TAC
- Telegram
- No
- No
- Discord or forum
- Yes Cisco Community
- Help articles
- Yes
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Yes SAML; Premier & VPN Only
- Admin panel
- Yes SecureX / single cloud console; ASA/FMC
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes customer headends
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes (ZTA module / Secure Access) + VPN
- Identity providers
- SAML IdPs (Duo, others)
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Trustpilot
2.73 of 5, smoothed
From 62 collected reviews (raw average 1.98; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 3.
The company replied to 0 of 45 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
-
App Store
2.68 of 5, smoothed
From 329 collected reviews (raw average 2.55; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.67 from 3.
-
Google Play
3.18 of 5, smoothed
From 400 collected reviews (raw average 3.09; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.75 from 8.
The company replied to 0 of 178 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 1.6 (62 reviews); App Store (US) 3.89 (2094 ratings); Google Play 3.7 (15.5K ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
46 Reddit and forum threads mention Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 2★ · 02 Oct 2026 · US
Blocks site on all my devices
App Store · 1★ · 13 Aug 2026 · US
Can’t see the “accept” button anymore
App Store · 5★ · 31 Jul 2026 · US
Nice
Google Play · 5★ · 09 Oct 2026
very good
Google Play · 1★ · 03 Oct 2026
dose not work
Google Play · 5★ · 27 Sep 2026
Excellent application and easy to use.
Trustpilot · 1★ · 03 Oct 2026 · US
This is the Worst and most garbage…
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 28 Jul 2026 · ZA
Basically a VIRUS
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 24 Jul 2026 · GB
USELESS
Original review
Rankings by user reviews
Questions about Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect)
Answers built from what Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) publishes. Open a question to read the details.
Cisco Secure Client alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score
7 alternatives to Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) (1.24) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) (2.46).
Alternatives to Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect)
| # | Service | Score | Why it is here | From | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) | 2.46 | similar features | similar features | €6.02per month |
| 2 | Aryaka Unified SASE | 1.37 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 3 | Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client | 1.24 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 4 | LANCOM VPN | 1.22 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 5 | WatchGuard | 0.91 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 6 | Cisco Duo | 0.90 | same owner | same owner | €2.58per month |
| 7 | Akamai Enterprise Application Access | 0.87 | similar features | similar features | — |
In our rankings
Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) appears on 4 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- LANCOM VPN1.22
- WatchGuard0.91
Same owner
- Cisco Duo0.90
Also similar to Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect)
Owner and jurisdiction
Closed services Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) replaces
Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.
Tools for Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect)
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://cisco.com
- Pages checked
- https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/security/anyconnect-secure-mobility-client/secure-client-og.html; https://www.cisco.com/site/us/en/products/security/secure-client/index.html; WebSearch (Cisco Secure Client ordering guide)
- Pricing page: none public (Cisco Global Price List; secureclient-pricing@cisco.com)
- Privacy policy: Cisco Privacy (footer link)
- Terms of service: Cisco Terms & Conditions (footer link)
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error