Sophos review: score, privacy and prices

0.58

out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5

  • Business VPN / ZTNA
  • Jurisdiction:UK, 5 Eyes
  • Data completeness47%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Trial without a card

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
  • Platforms and support3.1 vs 3.9
  • Security and protocols0.7 vs 1.8

Weakest against its segment

  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
  • Price and fair terms0.8 vs 3.4
  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
  • Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance

Compare Sophos side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Sophossegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.80.7
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.40.8
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.93.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Sophos pricing

Sophos does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: No. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
Not stated
Free trial
Not stated
Card needed for trial
No trial via Sophos Central account, no upfront costs
Auto-renewal
Not stated
Payment methods
via partners/resellers

Everything Sophos publishes

Every fact we collected about Sophos, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Sophos Limited (company no. 2096520, England & Wales)
Registered in
UK
Address
The Pentagon, Abingdon Science Park, Abingdon, OX14 3YP, United Kingdom
Related brands
  • Sophos ZTNA
  • Sophos Workspace Protection
  • Protected Browser
  • Sophos Firewall
  • Sophos Endpoint
  • Sophos MDR/XDR
  • Taegis XDR
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
5
Website languages
EN (en-us only in switcher)
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
none

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
Sophos ZTNA (in Workspace Protection bundle)
Cheapest price a month
Not stated
Monthly plan
Not stated
Lifetime plan
Not stated
Family plan
Not stated
Business price per user
quote only (via partners)
Other add-ons
  • DNS protection
  • email monitoring
  • Protected Browser (Workspace Protection bundle)

Discounts and programmes

Discount shown
No
Sale running when checked
No
Student discount
Not stated
Affiliate programme
No partner program https://www.sophos.com/en-us/partners

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
Not stated

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
via partners/resellers
PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
No
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
Email needed to sign up
Not stated
Account-number login
No
Identity check (KYC)
Yes business account
Money-back guarantee, days
Not stated

Free trial terms

Trial length
Not stated
Where the trial is offered
site (free trial: https://www.sophos.com/en-us/free-trials)
Instead of a trial
Sophos Central free trial
Card needed for the trial
No trial via Sophos Central account, no upfront costs

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardreview✕ No
  • OpenVPN(Sophos Firewall SSL VPN uses OpenVPN-based .ovpn configs) (review)✓ Yes
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocol✕ No
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Other protocols
ZTNA RDP/SSH client in Protected Browser
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Yes DNS protection (Workspace Protection)
Two-factor sign-in
Yes MFA required for ZTNA access
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated
Certifications
business certifications page linked (not read)

Privacy

No-logs policy
Not stated
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
as long as necessary for purposes / legal, tax, regulatory requirements
Shared with third parties
section 'With whom might we share your personal data' (affiliates, providers); also receives data from third parties for compliance checks
Trackers on the website
performance, functional and targeting cookies (OneTrust preference center)
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
No
GDPR / data protection officer
dataprotection@sophos.com
Privacy policy updated
2026-07-01

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Emailcontact/account data✕ Yes
  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timesNot stated
  • App analyticsperformance/targeting cookies on site✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • WindowsZTNA agent Win10 1803+; Sophos Connect✓ Yes
  • macOSZTNA agent macOS 11+; Sophos Connect✓ Yes
  • Linuxnative client; SSL VPN via third-party OpenVPN client (review)✕ No
  • iOSSophos client; IPsec profile via VPN Portal / third-party .ovpn (review)✓ Yes
  • AndroidSophos client; third-party IPsec/.ovpn clients (review)✕ No
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Not stated
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes support portal https://support.sophos.com/support
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Discord or forum
Sophos Community forums
Help articles
Yes docs.sophos.com
Server status page
Yes https://status.sophos.com/

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Yes Sophos Central / Sophos Fusion
Dedicated gateway
Yes ZTNA gateway built into Sophos Firewall
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Yes ZTNA, per-app least-privilege, device posture + Synchronized Security; gateway in firewall; Protected Browser clientless RDP/SSH

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    2.57 of 5, smoothed

    From 64 collected reviews (raw average 1.72; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 2.

    The company replied to 0 of 52 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    3.59 of 5, smoothed

    From 71 collected reviews (raw average 3.63; all VPNs 3.54).

  • Google Play

    3.92 of 5, smoothed

    From 400 collected reviews (raw average 3.92; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.95 from 43.

    The company replied to 27 of 87 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 1.5 (64 reviews); App Store (US) 4.01 (253 ratings); Google Play 4.0 (47.7K ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’258 reviews, average 4.75
  2. Nov ’2526 reviews, average 4.38
  3. Dec ’2517 reviews, average 3.82
  4. Jan ’2621 reviews, average 3.9
  5. Feb ’2618 reviews, average 3.44
  6. Mar ’2610 reviews, average 4.3
  7. Apr ’2616 reviews, average 4.0
  8. May ’2613 reviews, average 3.54
  9. Jun ’2616 reviews, average 3.81
  10. Jul ’2613 reviews, average 4.0
  11. Aug ’2614 reviews, average 3.79
  12. Sep ’2618 reviews, average 3.61
  13. Oct ’266 reviews, average 4.17
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

41 Reddit and forum threads mention Sophos (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 3★ · 28 Apr 2026 · US

    Ummm I think I’m hacked

  • App Store · 3★ · 04 Nov 2025 · GB

    Its okay

  • App Store · 5★ · 12 Mar 2025 · US

    Works well

  • Google Play · 4★ · 14 Oct 2026

    This app is exceptional,for free this is the gold standard for protection. However the battery consumption is a little increased. Some bugs like lock screen…

  • Google Play · 1★ · 09 Oct 2026

    pretty new front page on desktop but your monkeys locked everyone out

  • Google Play · 5★ · 09 Oct 2026

    Very Good job this antivirus app device and sdcard both very good scan I recommend all antivirus user use this app. please I advise one booster or cache…

  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 28 Sep 2026 · AU

    3 year auto renewal process- no warning…

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 15 Sep 2026 · US

    Terrible customer service

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 28 Jun 2026 · CH

    It was not possible to install Sophos…

    Original review

In our rankings

Sophos appears on 3 topic pages. Its place on each:

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://sophos.com
Pages checked
https://sophos.com; https://www.sophos.com/en-us/products/zero-trust-network-access; https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/sophos-group-privacy-notice
Other sources used
windows/macos (ZTNA agent): https://docs.sophos.com/central/ZTNA/startup/en-us/setup/InstallAgent/; openvpn/ikev2/wireguard/linux/ios/android: https://www.avanet.com/kb/vergleich-sophos-connect-client-oder-ssl-vpn-client/ (Sophos partner KB); trial_where/card_required_for_trial: https://www.sophos.com/en-us/free-trials and https://prod.cms.sophos.com/en-us/products/zero-trust-network-access/free-trial

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error