AWS Client VPN review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:Amazon.com, Inc.
- Data completeness67%
- Checked2026-10-15
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Platforms and support6.7 vs 3.9
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
- Security and protocols0.7 vs 1.8
Weakest against its segment
- Price and fair terms0.4 vs 3.4
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
- Stores session times
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
AWS Client VPNsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.80.7
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.40.4
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.96.7
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
AWS Client VPN pricing
AWS Client VPN does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: No only general AWS 100GB transfer out free. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- No
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- How to cancel
- delete endpoint
- Payment methods
- AWS billing (card/invoice)
Everything AWS Client VPN publishes
Every fact we collected about AWS Client VPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Amazon Web Services, Inc.
- Registered in
- USA
- Parent company
- Amazon.com, Inc.
- Related brands
- AWS Site-to-Site VPN
- AWS Transit Gateway
- Global Accelerator
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN (+ AWS localized sites)
- Currencies on the site
- USD
- Prices depend on country
- Yes per region
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- pay-as-you-go (endpoint-hour + connection-hour)
- Billing terms
- hourly usage
- Cheapest price a month
- Not stated
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- $0.05 per connection-hour + $0.10 per endpoint-hour (US East Ohio)
- Business minimum seats
- none
- Other add-ons
- public IPv4 charges
- data transfer out ($0.09/GB first 10TB)
- CloudWatch logs
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
- Data limit
- No data transfer billed
Free plan
- Free plan
- No only general AWS 100GB transfer out free
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- Not stated
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- AWS billing (card/invoice)
- Bank card
- Yes AWS account
- PayPal
- No
- Apple Pay / Google Pay
- No
- Cryptocurrency
- No
- Cash
- No
- Gift cards
- No
- Mobile carrier billing
- No
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- How to cancel
- delete endpoint
- Email needed to sign up
- Yes AWS account
- Account-number login
- No
- Identity check (KYC)
- Yes AWS account verification
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- No
- Card needed for the trial
- Not stated
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- Own servers
- Yes AWS infra
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- No
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- No
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- No
- Tor over VPN
- No
- SOCKS5 proxy
- No
- Smart DNS
- No
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✕ No
- OpenVPNTCP or UDP✓ Yes
- IKEv2Site-to-Site uses IPsec✕ No
- L2TP/IPsecNo
- SSTPNo
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✓ No
- Other protocols
- IPsec (Site-to-Site VPN)
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Partial ovpn config; third-party OpenVPN clients allowed (not with SAML)
- Open-source apps
- No AWS OpenVPN-based client
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- No
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- No
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Yes
- Ad and malware blocker
- No
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes MFA via AD or external IdP
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- No connection logs to CloudWatch
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- customer-controlled CloudWatch; client logs 30 days
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- No
- Anonymous sign-up
- No
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- EmailAWS account✕ Yes
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesconnection create/terminate logs✕ Yes
- Bandwidthbilling✕ Yes
- Crash reportsclient logs up to 30 days locally✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windows11, 64-bit✓ Yes
- macOSSequoia/Sonoma/Tahoe✓ Yes
- LinuxUbuntu 22.04/24.04✓ Yes
- iOSthird-party OpenVPN client only✓ Yes
- Androidthird-party OpenVPN client only✓ Yes
- Android TV✕ No
- Fire TV✕ No
- Apple TV✕ No
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TV✕ No
- RoutersNot stated
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consoles✕ No
- Browser extensions
- No
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Speed test in the app
- No
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Yes AWS Support plans
- Live chat 24/7
- Yes AWS Support plans (paid)
- Email / tickets
- Yes AWS Support
- Phone
- Yes AWS Support plans
- Telegram
- No
- No
- Discord or forum
- AWS re:Post
- Help articles
- Yes docs/FAQ
- Server status page
- Yes AWS Health Dashboard
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Yes SAML 2.0
- Admin panel
- Yes AWS console
- API
- Yes AWS API/CLI
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes per VPC endpoint
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- No classic VPN
- Identity providers
- Active Directory (AWS Directory Service)
- SAML IdPs e.g. Okta
- certificate auth
- MDM integration
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Trustpilot
1.74 of 5, smoothed
From 200 collected reviews (raw average 1.26; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.19 from 26.
The company replied to 0 of 185 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 1.3 (422 reviews).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
49 Reddit and forum threads mention AWS Client VPN (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
Trustpilot · 1★ · 15 Oct 2026 · AU
ABSOLUTELY DISGRACEFUL SERVICE
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 07 Oct 2026 · JP
Unauthorized charges
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 04 Oct 2026 · IT
Credo che qualsiasi programmatore…
Original review
Rankings by user reviews
Questions about AWS Client VPN
Answers built from what AWS Client VPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.
AWS Client VPN alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score
6 alternatives to AWS Client VPN (0.87) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: eduVPN (1.35).
Alternatives to AWS Client VPN
| # | Service | Score |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | eduVPN | 1.35 |
| 2 | WatchGuard | 0.91 |
| 3 | Stormshield Network VPN Client | 0.79 |
| 4 | iboss | 0.78 |
| 5 | Alibaba Cloud VPN Gateway | 0.78 |
| 6 | HPE Aruba Networking SSE (ex-Axis Security) | 0.52 |
AWS Client VPN is listed as an alternative to
In our rankings
AWS Client VPN appears on 3 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- iboss0.78
- eduVPN1.35
- WatchGuard0.91
Also similar to AWS Client VPN
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://aws.amazon.com
- Pages checked
- https://aws.amazon.com/vpn/pricing/; https://aws.amazon.com/vpn/client-vpn/; https://aws.amazon.com/vpn/faqs/
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error