Shrew Soft VPN Client review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:no
- Data completeness60%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Trial without a card
- Free plan
- Open-source apps
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Price and fair terms3.0 vs 3.4
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
- Security and protocols1.1 vs 1.8
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Platforms and support2.1 vs 3.9
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Shrew Soft VPN Clientsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.81.1
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.43.0
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.92.1
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Shrew Soft VPN Client pricing
The cheapest way in is €1.43 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Shrew Soft VPN Client renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years
What you pay to keep Shrew Soft VPN Client running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.
| Plan and first term | First payment | 1 year |
|---|---|---|
| VPN Client Pro for Windows, 1 license + 1 yr updates, 12 mo | €17.19 | €17.19 |
| Pro, 5 licenses, 12 mo | €81.69 | €81.69 |
| Pro, 10 licenses, 12 mo | €154.79 | €154.79 |
| Pro, 25 licenses, 12 mo | €365.49 | €365.49 |
| Pro, 50 licenses, 12 mo | €687.99 | €687.99 |
| Pro, 100 licenses, 12 mo | €1289.99 | €1289.99 |
| Pro, 250 licenses, 12 mo | €3009.99 | €3009.99 |
Compare Shrew Soft VPN Client’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices
All plans as published
| Plan | Term | Price for term | Per month | € / month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VPN Client Pro for Windows, 1 license + 1 yr updates | 12 mo | $19.99 | $1.67 | €1.44 |
| Pro, 5 licenses | 12 mo | $94.99 | $7.92 | €6.81 |
| Pro, 10 licenses | 12 mo | $179.99 | $15.00 | €12.90 |
| Pro, 25 licenses | 12 mo | $424.99 | $35.42 | €30.46 |
| Pro, 50 licenses | 12 mo | $799.99 | $66.67 | €57.34 |
| Pro, 100 licenses | 12 mo | $1,499.99 | $125.00 | €107.50 |
| Pro, 250 licenses | 12 mo | $3,499.99 | $291.67 | €250.84 |
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 14 (Professional edition evaluation), Windows client
- Card needed for trial
- No 14-day Pro evaluation built into installer
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- Not stated
- Renewal note
- Pro license $19.99 incl. 1 year of updates
Everything Shrew Soft VPN Client publishes
Every fact we collected about Shrew Soft VPN Client, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Shrew Soft Inc
- Registered in
- USA
- Address
- Austin, Texas (city only)
- Parent company
- No
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- USD
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Standard (free); Professional (Windows)
- Billing terms
- per-device license + 1 year updates
- Cheapest price a month
- Not stated
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- 1-year plan, total
- $19.99
- Lifetime plan
- license (1 yr updates) from 19.99 USD
- Renewal
- Pro license $19.99 incl. 1 year of updates
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- ~14-20 USD per license (volume tiers)
- Business minimum seats
- 1
- Prices seen from other countries
- Pro for Windows: 1 lic $19.99
- 5 $94.99
- 10 $179.99
- 25 $424.99
- 50 $799.99
- 100 $1,499.99
- 250 $3,499.99 (each +1y updates)
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- per-license (1/5/10/25/50/100/250 license packs)
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes Standard edition free, no limits/nags
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- No
Payment and subscription
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- 14 (Professional edition evaluation)
- Where the trial is offered
- Windows client
- Trial limits
- Pro features for 14 days, then Standard
- Card needed for the trial
- No 14-day Pro evaluation built into installer
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✕ No
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2IKEv1 IPsec✕ No
- L2TP/IPsecNot stated
- SSTPNot stated
- SoftEtherNot stated
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUICNot stated
- NaiveProxyNot stated
- obfs4Not stated
- AmneziaWGNot stated
- PPTP✓ No
- Other protocols
- IPsec (compatible with ipsec-tools, StrongSWAN, Libreswan, Cisco, Juniper, Check Point, Fortinet, Netgear, ZyXEL etc.)
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Not stated
- Open-source apps
- Yes Linux/BSD version under OSI open-source license (public subversion repo)
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- No
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Yes (policy obtain topology automatically or tunnel all; split defined by gateway) (Cisco guide)
- Ad and malware blocker
- Not stated
- Two-factor sign-in
- Not stated
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesNot stated
Apps and devices
- Windows2000/XP/Vista/7/8, 32/64-bit✓ Yes
- macOSpreliminary OS X support (2.2.0)◐ Partial
- Linux✓ Yes
- iOS✕ No
- Android✕ No
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TVNot stated
- RoutersNot stated
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- No
- Live chat 24/7
- No
- Email / tickets
- Yes contact page
- Phone
- Not stated
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Discord or forum
- mailing lists
- Help articles
- wiki FAQ, docs PDFs, gateway configuration howtos
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- No
- SCIM provisioning
- No
- Admin panel
- No
- API
- No
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- No classic IPsec remote access
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
No reviews collected for this service.
34 Reddit and forum threads mention Shrew Soft VPN Client (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
In our rankings
Shrew Soft VPN Client appears on 1 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- FerrumGate1.03
- Teleport0.65
- INSYS icom1.07
- RingLink1.05
Also similar to Shrew Soft VPN Client
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://shrew.net
- Pages checked
- https://shrew.net; https://shrew.net/software; https://shrew.net/shop; https://shrew.net/about; https://www.shrew.net/support/Main_Page
- Other sources used
- renewal_note/simultaneous_devices: https://shrew.net/shop; card_required_for_trial/open_source_clients: https://shrew.net/software; split_tunneling: https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/docs/smb/routers/cisco-rv-series-small-business-routers/Configure-ShrewSoft-RV34X.html; email_tickets/discord_or_forum/kb_articles/routers: https://www.shrew.net/support/Main_Page; live_chat: https://shrew.net/contact
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error