Netmaker review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Mesh / self-hosted median 2.5
- Mesh / self-hosted
- Jurisdiction:USA, alliance not disclosed
- Data completeness67%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Free plan
- Open-source apps
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Security and protocols2.9 vs 1.8
- Price and fair terms4.2 vs 3.4
- Platforms and support4.3 vs 3.9
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
- Trial needs a card
- Auto-renewal on by default
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Mesh / self-hosted services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Netmakersegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.82.9
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.44.2
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.94.3
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Netmaker pricing
The cheapest way in is €1.72 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Netmaker renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years
What you pay to keep Netmaker running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.
| Plan and first term | First payment | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Team, per active connection, 1 mo | €1.72 | €20.64at the current price | €41.28at the current price | €61.92at the current price |
| Business, per active connection, 1 mo | €3.44 | €41.28at the current price | €82.56at the current price | €123.84at the current price |
| Professional (compare table), 1 mo | €85.14 | €1021.68at the current price | €2043.36at the current price | €3065.04at the current price |
Compare Netmaker’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices
All plans as published
| Plan | Term | Price for term | Per month | € / month | Renewal price | Renewal term |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community (self-hosted) | 1 mo | $0.00 | $0.00 | €0.00 | $0.00 | 1 mo |
| Team, per active connection | 1 mo | $2.00 | $2.00 | €1.72 | — | 1 mo |
| Business, per active connection | 1 mo | $4.00 | $4.00 | €3.44 | — | 1 mo |
| Professional (compare table) | 1 mo | $99.00 | $99.00 | €85.14 | — | 1 mo |
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- No pro-rated refund only on termination for breach
- Refund conditions
- pro-rated refund of prepaid fees only if Customer terminates for Netmaker's uncured material breach; billing errors must be reported within 60 days
- Free trial
- 7 days, site (SaaS)
- Card needed for trial
- Yes for SaaS 14-day trial (A payment method ... is required); Pro 7-day trial: no card for business emails
- Auto-renewal
- Yes auto-renews for same term unless non-renewal notice 30 days prior
- Payment methods
- card (Stripe); invoice (Enterprise)
- Renewal note
- usage-based monthly metering
Everything Netmaker publishes
Every fact we collected about Netmaker, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Netmaker, Inc.
- Registered in
- USA (ToS governed by New York law)
- Related brands
- Gravitl (GitHub org)
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- Not stated
- Website languages
- EN
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- USD
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Community
- Team
- Business
- Enterprise
- SaaS usage-based
- Billing terms
- monthly (usage-based)
- Cheapest price a month
- $2.00
- Monthly plan
- 2 per active connection (Team)
- Lifetime plan
- No
- Renewal
- usage-based monthly metering
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- from 2 USD per active connection/mo (Team); 4 (Business)
- Prices seen from other countries
- USD: Open Source $0
- Team from $2/active connection/mo
- Business from $4
- Enterprise custom
- calculator (Team cloud, 1 conn): $10 platform fee + $3/conn = $13/mo
- 7-day free trial
- Other add-ons
- extra networks 10 USD each
- users tiers 100-1000 USD
- white labelling (Enterprise)
Discounts and programmes
- Discount shown
- No
- Student discount
- Not stated
- Affiliate programme
- No MSP program, OEM/Embedded
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
- Data limit
- No
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes Community self-hosted, unlimited devices/networks
- Free data
- Yes unlimited
- Free speed
- unlimited
- Ads in the free plan
- No
- Other free plan terms
- no SSO/SCIM/audit logs/posture
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- card (Stripe); invoice (Enterprise)
- Bank card
- Yes
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- No payment methods named: Visa, Mastercard, US bank account
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Yes auto-renews for same term unless non-renewal notice 30 days prior
- Email needed to sign up
- Yes
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- No pro-rated refund only on termination for breach
- Refund conditions
- pro-rated refund of prepaid fees only if Customer terminates for Netmaker's uncured material breach; billing errors must be reported within 60 days
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- 7 days
- Where the trial is offered
- site (SaaS)
- Card needed for the trial
- Yes for SaaS 14-day trial (A payment method ... is required); Pro 7-day trial: no card for business emails
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- No
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✓ Yes
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2✕ No
- L2TP/IPsecNo
- SSTPNot stated
- SoftEtherNot stated
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✓ No
- Other protocols
- TCP transport
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Yes plain WireGuard .conf for external clients
- Open-source apps
- Yes https://github.com/gravitl/netmaker
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Own DNS servers
- Yes private DNS
- Split tunnelling
- Not stated
- Ad and malware blocker
- Not stated
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes MFA
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Shared with third parties
- Stripe; marketing partners
- Trackers on the website
- analytics/marketing cookies (consent banner)
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
- GDPR / data protection officer
- GDPR/CCPA rights; no DPO named
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Email✕ Yes
- IP at sign-upsite logs✕ Yes
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesNot stated
- Device infobrowser, ISP✕ Yes
- App analyticssite analytics✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windows✓ Yes
- macOS✓ Yes
- Linux✓ Yes
- iOSRemote Access Client✓ Yes
- AndroidRemote Access Client✓ Yes
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TVNot stated
- RouterspfSense, OPNsense, MikroTik, OpenWrt✓ Yes
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
- App Store rating
- 3.7 (3 ratings, US)
- Google Play rating
- 3.6 (11 reviews; Netmaker RAC)
- Google Play installs
- 1K+ (Netmaker RAC)
Speed, streaming and gaming
- Claimed speed
- 10-20x faster than alternatives (claim)
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- No support via Discord, support@netmaker.io
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes support@netmaker.io
- Phone
- Not stated
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Discord or forum
- Yes Discord
- Help articles
- Yes learn.netmaker.io, help.netmaker.io
- Server status page
- Yes status.netmaker.io
- Uptime guarantee (SLA)
- custom SLAs (Enterprise)
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Yes OIDC: Google, GitHub, Microsoft, custom
- SCIM provisioning
- Yes Enterprise: Entra ID, Google Workspace, Okta
- Admin panel
- Yes
- API
- Yes
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes dedicated relays, egress gateways
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes
- Identity providers
- OIDC
- Entra ID
- Google Workspace
- Okta
- MDM/EDR (Business)
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
App Store
3.57 of 5, smoothed
From 4 collected reviews (raw average 4.00; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 5.00 from 1.
-
Google Play
3.87 of 5, smoothed
From 5 collected reviews (raw average 3.60; all VPNs 3.90).
The company replied to 0 of 2 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: App Store (US) 3.67 (3 ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
51 Reddit and forum threads mention Netmaker (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 5★ · 23 Jul 2026 · US
Great for Remote Access
App Store · 5★ · 02 Feb 2026 · US
Perfect
App Store · 5★ · 28 Jan 2026 · US
Great for work
Google Play · 5★ · 28 Jan 2026
Works like a charm. Been using this to connect to an encrypted virtual network. Thanks Netmaker
Google Play · 2★ · 10 Oct 2025
the app is only for netmaker pro not self-hosted instance. not documentated only get the info whe. you try to sign in. back to wireguard
Google Play · 1★ · 08 May 2025
Does not work. says "Alert Server Error" even though it works fine on my desktop and laptop and I can access it from my browser.
Rankings by user reviews
In our rankings
Netmaker appears on 4 topic pages. Its place on each:
Also similar to Netmaker
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://netmaker.io
- Pages checked
- https://netmaker.io; https://www.netmaker.io/pricing; https://www.netmaker.io/privacy-policy
- Other sources used
- legal_entity/registration_country/money_back_days/refund_conditions/autorenew_default/email_tickets: https://www.netmaker.io/terms-and-conditions; price_12m_pm: https://www.netmaker.io/pricing; live_chat/discord_or_forum: https://www.netmaker.io/pricing (footer Support -> discord.gg); card_required_for_trial/crypto: https://learn.netmaker.io/netmaker-saas/overview + https://docs.netmaker.io/docs/netmaker-saas/overview + https://docs.netmaker.io/docs/server-installation/netmaker-professional-setup (snippets); play_rating/play_installs: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.net.netmaker&hl=en_US; appstore_rating: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/netmaker/id6479694220 (seller Gravitl, Inc.)
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error