DrayTek review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Routers / VPN hardware median 2.5
- Routers / VPN hardware
- Jurisdiction:not stated, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
- Owner:no
- Data completeness27%
- Checked2026-10-15
Red flag: Public security incident. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
- Security and protocols0.0 vs 1.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
Weakest against its segment
- Price and fair terms0.0 vs 3.4
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Platforms and support1.5 vs 3.9
- Public security incident
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Routers / VPN hardware services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
DrayTeksegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.80.0
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.40.0
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.91.5
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
DrayTek pricing
DrayTek does not publish a paid price we could read. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- Not stated
Everything DrayTek publishes
Every fact we collected about DrayTek, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- DrayTek Corporation
- Registered in
- Taiwan
- Parent company
- No
- Related brands
- Vigor
- VigorACS
- VigorConnect
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- none
- Website languages
- EN; ZH-TW (draytek.com.tw)
- Right-to-left languages
- No
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Cheapest price a month
- Not stated
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Antivirus
- No
- Password manager
- No
- eSIM
- No
- Identity protection
- No
- Cloud storage
- No
- Other add-ons
- VigorACS 3 central management; IAM on Vigor1220/2928/2867
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
- Features locked to higher plans
- tunnel count/features by model
Free plan
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- Not stated
Payment and subscription
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- Not stated
- Instead of a trial
- live demo of router UI
- Card needed for the trial
- Not stated
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- Port speed
- up to 10G WAN (Vigor2867/2928)
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- No
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- No
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuardNot stated
- OpenVPN✓ Yes
- IKEv2✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecYes
- SSTPNot stated
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✕ Yes
- Other protocols
- IPsec; GRE
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Yes router web UI configuration
- Open-source apps
- No
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- No
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- No
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Not stated
- Ad and malware blocker
- Not stated
- Two-factor sign-in
- Not stated
- Security audits
- No
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
- Known incidents
- Yes Unauthenticated RCE CVE-2022-32548 (2022); XSS/DoS/RCE CVE-2024-41583..41596 (2024); buffer overflows CVE-2024-51138/51139 (2025); CVE-2025-10547 (2025)
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- as needed; telemetry deleted/anonymized after unspecified period
- Shared with third parties
- processors under contract; GDPR transfer mechanisms
- Trackers on the website
- cookies for analytics (unnamed)
- Transparency report
- No
- Warrant canary
- No
- Law enforcement requests
- not addressed
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
- GDPR / data protection officer
- Yes DPO named
- Privacy policy updated
- 2025-10-22
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Emailwebsite/services✕ Yes
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesNot stated
- Bandwidthdevice telemetry (network stats) for cloud services✕ Yes
- Device infodevice info, client/MAC tables, logs for cloud services✕ Yes
- Crash reportsdiagnostic data✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- WindowsNot stated
- macOSNot stated
- LinuxNot stated
- iOSSmart VPN Client iOS v2.0.2✓ Yes
- AndroidNot stated
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TVNot stated
- Routersvendor of Vigor routers✓ Yes
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- No
Speed, streaming and gaming
- Claimed speed
- 10G multi-WAN routers
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- No
- Live chat 24/7
- No
- Email / tickets
- Yes submit-a-ticket
- Phone
- Not stated
- Telegram
- No
- No
- Discord or forum
- No
- Support languages
- EN; ZH
- Help articles
- Yes FAQ, knowledge base
- Video guides
- Yes YouTube
- Server status page
- No
- Uptime guarantee (SLA)
- No
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- SCIM provisioning
- No
- Admin panel
- Yes VigorACS 3, VigorConnect
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes on-prem router as VPN gateway
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- No site-to-site/remote-access VPN
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Trustpilot
3.22 of 5, smoothed
From 29 collected reviews (raw average 2.45; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 3.67 from 3.
The company replied to 0 of 19 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
-
App Store
3.55 of 5, smoothed
From 1 collected reviews (raw average 4.00; all VPNs 3.54).
-
Google Play
3.23 of 5, smoothed
From 24 collected reviews (raw average 1.83; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.00 from 1.
The company replied to 5 of 18 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 3.4 (29 reviews); App Store (US) 4.00 (1 ratings); Google Play 3.4.
Reviews per month, last 12 months
45 Reddit and forum threads mention DrayTek (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 4★ · 16 Sep 2022 · US
Good app
Google Play · 3★ · 06 Sep 2026
Not all AP fully supported VigorAP 805 has no client list and doesn't show the correct 5g said and lots of other information missing compared to the 918R. Come…
Google Play · 1★ · 30 Nov 2025
Trying to use app to setup AP. Instructions say press Connect this throws error saying Connect needs Android 10 or greater. I have Android 16.
Google Play · 1★ · 10 Sep 2025
I have 2 AP 805 in a mesh setup using the web interface. I tried using this app but it simply doesn't work. I keep getting a network failure message.
Trustpilot · 5★ · 04 Oct 2026 · GB
Ideal for small business and demanding home users
Original reviewTrustpilot · 5★ · 23 Sep 2026 · GB
Brilliant Phone Support. Excellent.
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 10 Aug 2026 · NL
dont use this router i warn you this setting are to complicated to understand
Original review
Rankings by user reviews
Questions about DrayTek
Answers built from what DrayTek publishes. Open a question to read the details.
DrayTek alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score
6 alternatives to DrayTek (0.22) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: Firewalla (1.59).
Alternatives to DrayTek
| # | Service | Score | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Firewalla | 1.59 | — |
| 2 | Peplink (SpeedFusion) | 1.04 | €2.86per month |
| 3 | TP-Link Omada | 1.01 | — |
| 4 | MikroTik | 0.85 | — |
| 5 | Zyxel | 0.65 | — |
| 6 | Sabai Technology | 0.50 | — |
In our rankings
DrayTek appears on 2 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- Zyxel0.65
- Sabai Technology0.50
- TP-Link Omada1.01
- MikroTik0.85
- Firewalla1.59
Also similar to DrayTek
Tools for DrayTek
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://draytek.com
- Pages checked
- https://www.draytek.com; https://www.draytek.com/products/vpn-routers/; https://www.draytek.com/about/security-advisory/; https://www.draytek.com/policy
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error