TP-Link Omada review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Routers / VPN hardware median 2.5
- Routers / VPN hardware
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:TP-Link Systems Inc.
- Data completeness33%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Open-source apps
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Security and protocols2.9 vs 1.8
- Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
- Platforms and support2.4 vs 3.9
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Price and fair terms0.8 vs 3.4
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Routers / VPN hardware services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
TP-Link Omadasegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.82.9
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.40.8
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.92.4
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
TP-Link Omada pricing
TP-Link Omada does not publish a paid price we could read. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- Not stated
Everything TP-Link Omada publishes
Every fact we collected about TP-Link Omada, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- TP-Link Systems Inc. (and affiliates)
- Registered in
- USA (TP-Link Systems Inc.)
- Parent company
- TP-Link Systems Inc.
- Related brands
- Omada
- Deco
- Archer
- Tapo
- Kasa
- VIGI
- Aginet
- HomeShield
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- many regional sites (location chooser); EN (US) read
- Currencies on the site
- none
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Cheapest price a month
- Not stated
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Family plan
- Not stated
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
- Affiliate programme
- No Omada Partner Program (reseller/partner, not affiliate)
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- ER605: IPsec 20 tunnels; L2TP/PPTP/OpenVPN 16 tunnels each
Free plan
- Free plan
- Not stated
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- Not stated
Payment and subscription
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- Not stated
- Card needed for the trial
- Not stated
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuardOmada gateways✓ Yes
- OpenVPN✓ Yes
- IKEv2IPsec IKE v1/v2 on ER605 gateway✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecL2TP over IPsec, consumer routersYes
- SSTPNo
- SoftEtherNot stated
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUICNot stated
- NaiveProxyNot stated
- obfs4Not stated
- AmneziaWGNot stated
- PPTPconsumer routers✕ Yes
- Other protocols
- IPsec site-to-site; SSL VPN remote access
- Encryption
- IPsec DES/3DES/AES128/192/256, SHA2-384/512; PFS, NAT-T, DPD (ER605 datasheet)
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Yes router VPN server/client config
- Open-source apps
- Yes GPL code: https://support.omadanetworks.com/us/download/gpl-code/
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Not stated
- Ad and malware blocker
- Yes URL filtering / firewall on gateways
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes Omada 2FA
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesNot stated
Apps and devices
- WindowsNot stated
- macOSNot stated
- LinuxNot stated
- iOSNot stated
- AndroidNot stated
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TVNot stated
- Routersvendor product✓ Yes
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Yes support.omadanetworks.com/us/chat
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes ticket.omadanetworks.com
- Phone
- Yes
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Help articles
- Yes
- Video guides
- Yes setup videos, e.g. OpenVPN client-to-site
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- Admin panel
- Yes Omada cloud/software/hardware OC200 controller
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes own hardware gateways
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- No
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Trustpilot
4.49 of 5, smoothed
From 200 collected reviews (raw average 4.70; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 4.70 from 200.
The company replied to 0 of 14 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
-
App Store
3.44 of 5, smoothed
From 85 collected reviews (raw average 3.38; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 4.38 from 13.
-
Google Play
4.07 of 5, smoothed
From 400 collected reviews (raw average 4.09; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 4.43 from 61.
The company replied to 35 of 72 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 4.7 (8908 reviews); App Store (US) 4.59 (644 ratings); Google Play 4.2 (8.5K ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
38 Reddit and forum threads mention TP-Link Omada (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 1★ · 09 Oct 2026 · US
Always has connection issues
App Store · 5★ · 07 Oct 2026 · US
Easy Peasy
App Store · 5★ · 25 Sep 2026 · US
Love it
Google Play · 5★ · 15 Oct 2026
Great app for my Omada network! No bugs and I can see everything I need to see.
Google Play · 5★ · 14 Oct 2026
Gaming at midnight, someone eating all the bandwidth — one tap and it's handled.
Google Play · 5★ · 14 Oct 2026
Managing my network on my phone is as easy as scrolling social media.
Trustpilot · 5★ · 15 Oct 2026 · GB
Ivan help with my extender setup
Original reviewTrustpilot · 2★ · 15 Oct 2026 · US
Bad Support
Original reviewTrustpilot · 5★ · 15 Oct 2026 · AU
Maria was very helpful and fixed my…
Original review
Rankings by user reviews
In our rankings
TP-Link Omada appears on 2 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- Sabai Technology0.50
- Flashrouters0.76
- Netduma0.50
- Turris (CZ.NIC)0.90
- Anonabox1.43
- MikroTik0.85
Owner and jurisdiction
Closed services TP-Link Omada replaces
Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.
Tools for TP-Link Omada
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://tp-link.com
- Pages checked
- ["https://tp-link.com", "https://www.omadanetworks.com/us/omada-sdn/", "https://www.omadanetworks.com/us/business-networking/omada/router/vpn-router", "https://www.tp-link.com/us/technology/vpn/"]
- Other sources used
- other_protocols, affiliate_program: https://www.omadanetworks.com/us/business-networking/omada/router/vpn-router/; ikev2, l2tp, pptp, encryption, simultaneous_devices: https://static.tp-link.com/upload/product-overview/2025/202509/20250902/ER605(UN)2.20_Datasheet.pdf
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error