Cisco AnyConnect review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:Cisco Systems, Inc.
- Data completeness60%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Trial without a card
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Platforms and support5.0 vs 3.9
- Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
- Security and protocols1.8 vs 1.8
Weakest against its segment
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Network and streaming0.6 vs 2.8
- Price and fair terms1.7 vs 3.4
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
- Stores session times
Compare Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client side by side with other VPNs
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Clientsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.81.8
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.41.7
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.6
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.95.0
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client pricing
Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: No client complimentary with Secure Connect, Secure Endpoint, Umbrella. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 28 days, Cisco license portal (Demo and Evaluation)
- Card needed for trial
- No
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- How to cancel
- via Cisco/partner
- Payment methods
- Cisco Commerce / partners
- Renewal note
- term subscriptions 12-60 months; perpetual needs separate SWSS support contract
Everything Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client publishes
Every fact we collected about Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Cisco Systems, Inc.
- Registered in
- USA
- Related brands
- Cisco Duo
- Umbrella
- Secure Access (SSE)
- Meraki
- Secure Firewall/ASA
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN-US selector (multi-country site)
- Currencies on the site
- none
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Advantage (ex-AnyConnect Plus)
- Premier (ex-Apex)
- VPN Only
- Billing terms
- Advantage: 12-60 mo subscription or perpetual
- Premier: 12-60 mo (default 36)
- VPN Only: perpetual per headend
- Cheapest price a month
- Not stated
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Renewal
- term subscriptions 12-60 months; perpetual needs separate SWSS support contract
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- not public, per Unique User
- Business minimum seats
- 25 users (VPN Only: 25-10,000 concurrent per SKU)
- Other add-ons
- ISE Premier/Apex posture, Secure Endpoint, Cloud Web Security, SWSS support — licensed separately
Discounts and programmes
- Discount shown
- discounts for 3-5 year terms (no %)
- Discount compared with
- vs shorter term
- Sale running when checked
- No
- Student discount
- Not stated
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
- Speed limit
- headend-dependent
- Features locked to higher plans
- Premier only: SAML (vs Advantage), NVM, ISE posture, Suite B, management tunnel, ASA multicontext
Free plan
- Free plan
- No client complimentary with Secure Connect, Secure Endpoint, Umbrella
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- Not stated
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- Cisco Commerce / partners
- PayPal
- No
- Apple Pay / Google Pay
- No
- Cryptocurrency
- No
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- How to cancel
- via Cisco/partner
- Email needed to sign up
- Yes Cisco ID
- Account-number login
- No
- Identity check (KYC)
- Yes contract number linked to Cisco ID to download
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- 28 days
- Where the trial is offered
- Cisco license portal (Demo and Evaluation)
- Trial limits
- 4-week Premier evaluation licence
- Instead of a trial
- Trials and demos page
- Card needed for the trial
- No
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- Own servers
- Yes customer headends (Secure Firewall/FTD, ASA, ISR, Meraki MX)
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- No
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Yes customer headend
- Static IP
- Yes customer headend
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- No
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✕ No
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2IPsec IKEv2, incl. third-party IKEv2 clients✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecNo
- SSTPNo
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocolAnyConnect SSL/TLS + DTLS✓ Yes
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✓ No
- Other protocols
- DTLS; TCP-based TLS
- Encryption
- Suite B next-gen encryption (Premier/VPN Only); FIPS compliant
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Yes admin XML profiles
- Open-source apps
- No
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- No
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- No
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Partial always-on VPN (claimed never off duty; details not on pages read)
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Own DNS servers
- Yes Umbrella Roaming (DNS security)
- Split tunnelling
- Yes per-app VPN (yes)
- Ad and malware blocker
- Yes via Umbrella/Secure Endpoint modules
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes SAML auth (MFA via IdP)
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
- Certifications
- FIPS compliance
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- customer-controlled
- Trackers on the website
- Cookies / Do not sell or share link
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- No
- Anonymous sign-up
- No
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timescustomer-controlled✕ Yes
- Bandwidthcustomer-controlled✕ Yes
- Device infoendpoint context, NVM✕ Yes
- App analyticsNetwork Visibility Module, Premier✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windows✓ Yes
- macOS✓ Yes
- LinuxNot stated
- iOSNot stated
- Androidcertain Android platforms✓ Yes
- Android TV✕ No
- Fire TV✕ No
- Apple TV✕ No
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TV✕ No
- Routersheadends: ISR/ASR/Meraki MX✓ Yes
- NAS✕ No
- Raspberry Pi✕ No
- Game consoles✕ No
- Browser extensions
- No
Speed, streaming and gaming
- Claimed speed
- No
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Fastest protocol (claimed)
- DTLS (adaptive tunnelling)
- Speed test in the app
- No
- Netflix
- No
- BBC iPlayer
- No
- Disney+
- No
- Prime Video
- No
- DAZN
- No
- beIN Sports
- No
- Shahid
- No
- OSN+
- No
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Yes Ask Cisco AI chat
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes Cisco TAC with subscription
- Phone
- Yes TAC
- Telegram
- No
- No
- Discord or forum
- Yes Cisco Community
- Help articles
- Yes
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Yes SAML; Premier & VPN Only
- Admin panel
- Yes SecureX / single cloud console; ASA/FMC
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes customer headends
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes (ZTA module / Secure Access) + VPN
- Identity providers
- SAML IdPs (Duo, others)
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Trustpilot
2.73 of 5, smoothed
From 62 collected reviews (raw average 1.98; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 3.
The company replied to 0 of 45 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
-
App Store
2.68 of 5, smoothed
From 329 collected reviews (raw average 2.55; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.67 from 3.
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 1.6 (62 reviews); App Store (US) 3.89 (2094 ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
39 Reddit and forum threads mention Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 2★ · 02 Oct 2026 · US
Blocks site on all my devices
App Store · 1★ · 13 Aug 2026 · US
Can’t see the “accept” button anymore
App Store · 5★ · 31 Jul 2026 · US
Nice
Trustpilot · 1★ · 03 Oct 2026 · US
This is the Worst and most garbage…
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 28 Jul 2026 · ZA
Basically a VIRUS
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 24 Jul 2026 · GB
USELESS
Original review
Rankings by user reviews
Questions about Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client
Answers built from what Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client publishes. Open a question to read the details.
Cisco AnyConnect alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score
7 alternatives to Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client (1.24) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) (2.46).
Alternatives to Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client
| # | Service | Score | Why it is here | From | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | OpenVPN (Access Server / CloudConnexa) | 2.46 | similar features | similar features | €6.02per month |
| 2 | Aryaka Unified SASE | 1.37 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 3 | Cisco Secure Client (AnyConnect) | 1.24 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 4 | LANCOM VPN | 1.22 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 5 | WatchGuard | 0.91 | similar features | similar features | — |
| 6 | Cisco Duo | 0.90 | same owner | same owner | €2.58per month |
| 7 | Akamai Enterprise Application Access | 0.87 | similar features | similar features | — |
In our rankings
Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client appears on 4 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- LANCOM VPN1.22
- WatchGuard0.91
Same owner
- Cisco Duo0.90
Also similar to Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client
Owner and jurisdiction
Closed services Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client replaces
Services that shut down or moved, for which this is one of five live alternatives.
Tools for Cisco AnyConnect / Secure Client
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://cisco.com
- Pages checked
- https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/products/collateral/security/anyconnect-secure-mobility-client/secure-client-og.html; https://www.cisco.com/site/us/en/products/security/secure-client/index.html; WebSearch (Cisco Secure Client ordering guide)
- Pricing page: none public (Cisco Global Price List; secureclient-pricing@cisco.com)
- Privacy policy: Cisco Privacy (footer link)
- Terms of service: Cisco Terms & Conditions (footer link)
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error