SonicWall review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Data completeness53%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Trial without a card
Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Platforms and support4.8 vs 3.9
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
- Security and protocols1.1 vs 1.8
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Price and fair terms1.7 vs 3.4
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
- Stores connection IP addresses
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
SonicWallsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.81.1
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.41.7
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.94.8
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
SonicWall pricing
SonicWall does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: No. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- 30 (CSE free trial, 25 users, via MySonicWall), site (trials listed in resource center; CSE: live demo / self-guided tour)
- Card needed for trial
- No activated in MySonicWall Free Trials
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- via sales/partners, MySonicWall licensing
Everything SonicWall publishes
Every fact we collected about SonicWall, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- SonicWall, Inc.; SonicWall International DAC (EEA controller)
- Registered in
- USA (EEA entity: Ireland)
- Address
- 1033 McCarthy Blvd, Milpitas, CA 95035, USA; City Gate, Mahon, Cork, Ireland
- Related brands
- Cloud Secure Edge
- SMA
- NetExtender
- Mobile Connect
- Capture ATP
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- none
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Cloud Secure Edge: Secure Private Access, Secure Internet Access, per seat licences; SMA appliances
- Cheapest price a month
- Not stated
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- quote only, per seat
- Other add-ons
- Capture ATP
- DNS security
- CASB/SWG (Secure Internet Access)
Discounts and programmes
- Discount shown
- No
- Sale running when checked
- No
- Student discount
- Not stated
- Affiliate programme
- No partner/reseller program https://www.sonicwall.com/partners
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
Free plan
- Free plan
- No
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- Not stated
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- via sales/partners, MySonicWall licensing
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- No
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- No
- Identity check (KYC)
- Yes business account
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- 30 (CSE free trial, 25 users, via MySonicWall)
- Where the trial is offered
- site (trials listed in resource center; CSE: live demo / self-guided tour)
- Trial limits
- 30-day license for 25 users; Advanced SPA or Advanced SIA
- Instead of a trial
- demo; self-guided tour
- Card needed for the trial
- No activated in MySonicWall Free Trials
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuardSonicWall Cloud Edge agents/connectors✓ Yes
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2Cloud Edge agents; also IPsec Global VPN Client✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecNot stated
- SSTPNot stated
- SoftEtherNot stated
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / RealityNot stated
- VMessNot stated
- TrojanNot stated
- ShadowsocksNot stated
- Hysteria2Not stated
- TUICNot stated
- NaiveProxyNot stated
- obfs4Not stated
- AmneziaWGNot stated
- Other protocols
- SSL VPN (NetExtender); IPsec (Global VPN Client)
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Not stated
- Open-source apps
- Not stated
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Yes Cloud Edge: manual subnet-based split tunnel; default full tunnel
- Ad and malware blocker
- Yes DNS filtering, URL categorization, Capture ATP (CSE)
- Two-factor sign-in
- Not stated
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
- Certifications
- product certifications page (not read)
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- as long as needed; CSE logs 12-month retention
- Shared with third parties
- affiliates, service providers, resellers, ad tech partners
- Trackers on the website
- Microsoft Clarity
- Google Analytics/Ads
- Meta Pixel
- Hotjar
- Demandbase
- LiveRamp
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Law enforcement requests
- discloses when required by law/legal process/government request
- Anonymous sign-up
- No
- GDPR / data protection officer
- dataprivacy@sonicwall.com
- Privacy policy updated
- 2025-08-25
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Emailcontact/account data✕ Yes
- Connection IPCSE: 12-month log retention, continuous authorization logging✕ Yes
- Session timesNot stated
- Device infowebsite: IP, geolocation, browser✕ Yes
- App analyticssite analytics✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- WindowsNetExtender, GVC, Connect Tunnel✓ Yes
- macOSMobile Connect, Connect Tunnel✓ Yes
- LinuxNetExtender, Connect Tunnel✓ Yes
- iOSMobile Connect✓ Yes
- AndroidMobile Connect✓ Yes
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookMobile Connect✓ Yes
- Smart TVNot stated
- RoutersNot stated
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Not stated
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes support portal
- Phone
- Not stated
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Discord or forum
- community.sonicwall.com
- Help articles
- Yes technical documentation
- Server status page
- No
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- Admin panel
- Yes multi-tenant console for MSPs; MySonicWall
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes customer firewalls/SMA appliances
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes SSE/ZTNA, continuous user+device verification, device posture at connection
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Trustpilot
3.48 of 5, smoothed
From 5 collected reviews (raw average 1.60; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 1.
The company replied to 0 of 4 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
-
App Store
2.62 of 5, smoothed
From 256 collected reviews (raw average 2.44; all VPNs 3.54).
-
Google Play
3.12 of 5, smoothed
From 368 collected reviews (raw average 3.02; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 3.50 from 2.
The company replied to 2 of 171 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 2.5 (5 reviews); App Store (US) 2.15 (142 ratings); Google Play 2.6 (1.81K ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
44 Reddit and forum threads mention SonicWall (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 3★ · 11 Jan 2026 · US
Works Fine, No Frills
App Store · 1★ · 10 Jun 2025 · US
Vpn
App Store · 1★ · 13 May 2025 · US
Bug: won’t let me select a domain, and won’t let me continue without selecting one
Google Play · 2★ · 25 Aug 2026
will not connect
Google Play · 5★ · 29 Jul 2026
Last update broke VPN connection. It doesn't work anymore... It must be a bug. Edit: reinstall solved the problem!
Google Play · 3★ · 08 Mar 2026
does not always work with my vpn, very disappointing.
Trustpilot · 1★ · 15 Sep 2026 · US
SonicWall is garbage!
Original reviewTrustpilot · 2★ · 03 Sep 2025 · GB
Ugh, not good enough for business use
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 11 Aug 2025 · RO
Modern day slavery. Worst company ever!!!
Original review
Rankings by user reviews
In our rankings
SonicWall appears on 3 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- UTunnel VPN1.11
- NCP engineering0.95
- GoodAccess1.50
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://sonicwall.com
- Pages checked
- https://sonicwall.com; https://www.sonicwall.com/products/cloud-secure-edge; https://www.sonicwall.com/products/remote-access/vpn-clients; https://www.sonicwall.com/legal/privacy-statement
- Other sources used
- trial_*: https://www.sonicwall.com/support/technical-documentation/docs/cloud_secure_edge-getting_started/Content/ch2-Licenses/free-trial.htm; wireguard/ikev2/split_tunneling: https://sonicwall.com/support/technical-documentation/docs/cloud_edge-advanced_settings/Content/Advanced_Settings/Networks/5_split-tunneling.html and https://sonicwall.com/support/technical-documentation/docs/cloud_edge-getting_started/Content/Getting_Started/Networks/Connecting_Infrastructure/6_configuring-a-wireguard-conne.html; collects_connection_ip/business_price_per_user: https://www.sonicwall.com/products/cloud-secure-edge
- Pricing page: none (contact sales: https://www.sonicwall.com/customers/contact-sales)
- Privacy policy
- Terms of service
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error