Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:none (Fortinet, Inc.)
- Data completeness47%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Trial without a card
- Free plan
Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Platforms and support3.8 vs 3.9
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
- Price and fair terms2.9 vs 3.4
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Security and protocols0.7 vs 1.8
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
- Stores connection IP addresses
Compare Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA side by side with other VPNs
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNAsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.80.7
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.42.9
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.93.8
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA pricing
Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: Yes FortiClient VPN-only client, no support/central management. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- no fixed term (EMS trial usable indefinitely; 3 endpoints + 3 Chromebooks), site (Free Trials, EMS trial download, virtual demo)
- Card needed for trial
- No FortiCloud account required; one EMS trial per account
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- via Fortinet partners/resellers (quote-based licensing)
Everything Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA publishes
Every fact we collected about Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Fortinet, Inc.
- Registered in
- USA (EU-US Data Privacy Framework certified)
- Parent company
- none (Fortinet, Inc.)
- Related brands
- FortiGate
- FortiSASE
- FortiClient EMS
- FortiAuthenticator
- FortiToken
- Linksys group
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN (US, UK)
- DE
- FR
- IT
- ZH-CN
- ZH-TW
- KO
- JA
- PT-BR
- ES-LATAM
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- none
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- FortiClient VPN-only (free download)
- Standalone
- VPN/ZTNA
- EPP/APT
- Managed
- Billing terms
- quote
- Cheapest price a month
- 0 (VPN-only client)
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- quote, per endpoint licensing via ordering guide
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
- Affiliate programme
- No partner/reseller program
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes FortiClient VPN-only client, no support/central management
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- No
- Other free plan terms
- VPN-only; upgrade for support, EMS management, ZTNA posture
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- via Fortinet partners/resellers (quote-based licensing)
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- no fixed term (EMS trial usable indefinitely; 3 endpoints + 3 Chromebooks)
- Where the trial is offered
- site (Free Trials, EMS trial download, virtual demo)
- Trial limits
- 3 non-Chromebook endpoints + 3 Chromebooks; 1 EMS trial per FortiCloud account
- Instead of a trial
- free VPN-only client
- Card needed for the trial
- No FortiCloud account required; one EMS trial per account
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✕ No
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2IPsec dial-up remote access, IKEv2 over UDP or TCP✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecNot stated
- SSTPNot stated
- SoftEtherNot stated
- Own protocolNot stated
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUICNot stated
- NaiveProxyNot stated
- obfs4Not stated
- AmneziaWGNot stated
- Other protocols
- SSL VPN / IPsec; ZTNA over TLS to access proxy
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Not stated
- Open-source apps
- Not stated
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Yes
- Ad and malware blocker
- Not stated
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes MFA, FortiToken/FortiAuthenticator
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- until no longer needed
- backups longer
- Cloud Sandbox suspicious files 60 days
- Shared with third parties
- affiliates, resellers, service providers, marketing/analytics (CCPA sale/share), CERTs, government
- Trackers on the website
- marketing/analytics cookies
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Law enforcement requests
- discloses to comply with law, incl. national security/law enforcement
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
- GDPR / data protection officer
- no DPO named
- privacy@fortinet.com
- dsar@fortinet.com
- Privacy policy updated
- 2025-09-15 (effective)
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Connection IPprocessor data: IP/MAC, device name, OS✕ Yes
- Session timesNot stated
- Device info✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windowsx64, ARM✓ Yes
- macOS✓ Yes
- Linux.rpm/.deb, ARM64✓ Yes
- iOS✓ Yes
- Android✓ Yes
- Android TV✕ No
- Fire TV✕ No
- Apple TV✕ No
- Chromebookweb filter edition✓ Yes
- Smart TV✕ No
- RoutersNot stated
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consoles✕ No
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Not stated
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes
- Phone
- Yes 24x7 FortiCare
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Response time (claimed)
- 15 min critical (FortiCare Elite)
- Help articles
- Yes
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- Admin panel
- Yes FortiClient EMS / FortiClient Cloud
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes customer FortiGate
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes Universal ZTNA in FortiOS 7.0+; FortiSASE cloud
- Identity providers
- Windows AD
- Google Workspace
- FortiAuthenticator
- Idaptive
- METTCARE
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Trustpilot
2.63 of 5, smoothed
From 43 collected reviews (raw average 1.42; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 2.
The company replied to 0 of 39 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
-
App Store
2.98 of 5, smoothed
From 99 collected reviews (raw average 2.70; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.00 from 2.
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 1.5 (43 reviews); App Store (US) 2.87 (123 ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
24 Reddit and forum threads mention Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 3★ · 19 Sep 2026 · US
App improvement no hide of token
App Store · 1★ · 18 Sep 2026 · US
Token Export doesn't work
App Store · 4★ · 28 May 2026 · GB
Works Well
Trustpilot · 1★ · 11 Sep 2026 · US
It won't let me play chess
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 04 Aug 2026 · US
Concerns Regarding Perception Point Support
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 16 Jun 2026 · HK
Unsigma
Original review
Rankings by user reviews
In our rankings
Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA appears on 3 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- SonicWall0.94
- RingLink1.05
- NCP engineering0.95
- Twingate1.29
Same owner
Owner and jurisdiction
Tools for Fortinet FortiClient / FortiZTNA
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15.
- Website
- https://fortinet.com
- Pages checked
- https://fortinet.com; https://www.fortinet.com/support/product-downloads; https://www.fortinet.com/products/endpoint-security/forticlient; https://www.fortinet.com/corporate/about-us/privacy; https://www.fortinet.com/solutions/enterprise-midsize-business/network-access/application-access
- Other sources used
- split/edition/support/chromebook/sso: https://www.fortinet.com/products/endpoint-security/forticlient; trial_days/card_required_for_trial/trial_limits: https://docs.fortinet.com/document/forticlient/latest/ems-administration-guide/883953/free-trial-license; ikev2/proprietary_protocol: https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/7.6.5/administration-guide/155142 (SSL VPN tunnel mode to IPsec VPN migration; IKEv2 UDP/TCP) and https://community.fortinet.com/fortigate-3/technical-tip-ssl-vpn-does-not-connect-when-the-fortigate-is-on-v7-6-3-205020; protocol no flags: absence in official FortiClient feature list (enterprise IPsec/SSL/ZTNA client)
- Pricing page: FortiClient Ordering Guide / Request a Quote (no public prices)
- Privacy policy
- Terms of service
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error
| When (UTC) | Field | Was | Now |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-16 | holding | none (fortinet ) | fortinet |