Fortinet FortiClient review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:none (Fortinet, Inc.)
- Data completeness47%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Trial without a card
- Free plan
Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Platforms and support3.8 vs 3.9
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
- Price and fair terms2.9 vs 3.4
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Security and protocols0.7 vs 1.8
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
- Stores connection IP addresses
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Fortinet FortiClientsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.80.7
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.42.9
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.93.8
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Fortinet FortiClient pricing
Fortinet FortiClient does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: Yes FortiClient VPN-only client, no support/central management. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- no fixed term (EMS trial usable indefinitely; 3 endpoints + 3 Chromebooks), site (Free Trials, EMS trial download, virtual demo)
- Card needed for trial
- No FortiCloud account required; one EMS trial per account
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- via Fortinet partners/resellers (quote-based licensing)
Everything Fortinet FortiClient publishes
Every fact we collected about Fortinet FortiClient, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Fortinet, Inc.
- Registered in
- USA (EU-US Data Privacy Framework certified)
- Parent company
- none (Fortinet, Inc.)
- Related brands
- FortiGate
- FortiSASE
- FortiClient EMS
- FortiAuthenticator
- FortiToken
- Linksys group
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN (US, UK)
- DE
- FR
- IT
- ZH-CN
- ZH-TW
- KO
- JA
- PT-BR
- ES-LATAM
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- none
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- FortiClient VPN-only (free download)
- Standalone
- VPN/ZTNA
- EPP/APT
- Managed
- Billing terms
- quote
- Cheapest price a month
- 0 (VPN-only client)
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- quote, per endpoint licensing via ordering guide
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
- Affiliate programme
- No partner/reseller program
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes FortiClient VPN-only client, no support/central management
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- No
- Other free plan terms
- VPN-only; upgrade for support, EMS management, ZTNA posture
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- via Fortinet partners/resellers (quote-based licensing)
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- no fixed term (EMS trial usable indefinitely; 3 endpoints + 3 Chromebooks)
- Where the trial is offered
- site (Free Trials, EMS trial download, virtual demo)
- Trial limits
- 3 non-Chromebook endpoints + 3 Chromebooks; 1 EMS trial per FortiCloud account
- Instead of a trial
- free VPN-only client
- Card needed for the trial
- No FortiCloud account required; one EMS trial per account
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✕ No
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2IPsec dial-up remote access, IKEv2 over UDP or TCP✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecNot stated
- SSTPNot stated
- SoftEtherNot stated
- Own protocolNot stated
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUICNot stated
- NaiveProxyNot stated
- obfs4Not stated
- AmneziaWGNot stated
- Other protocols
- SSL VPN / IPsec; ZTNA over TLS to access proxy
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Not stated
- Open-source apps
- Not stated
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Yes
- Ad and malware blocker
- Not stated
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes MFA, FortiToken/FortiAuthenticator
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- until no longer needed
- backups longer
- Cloud Sandbox suspicious files 60 days
- Shared with third parties
- affiliates, resellers, service providers, marketing/analytics (CCPA sale/share), CERTs, government
- Trackers on the website
- marketing/analytics cookies
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Law enforcement requests
- discloses to comply with law, incl. national security/law enforcement
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
- GDPR / data protection officer
- no DPO named
- privacy@fortinet.com
- dsar@fortinet.com
- Privacy policy updated
- 2025-09-15 (effective)
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Connection IPprocessor data: IP/MAC, device name, OS✕ Yes
- Session timesNot stated
- Device info✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windowsx64, ARM✓ Yes
- macOS✓ Yes
- Linux.rpm/.deb, ARM64✓ Yes
- iOS✓ Yes
- Android✓ Yes
- Android TV✕ No
- Fire TV✕ No
- Apple TV✕ No
- Chromebookweb filter edition✓ Yes
- Smart TV✕ No
- RoutersNot stated
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consoles✕ No
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Not stated
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes
- Phone
- Yes 24x7 FortiCare
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Response time (claimed)
- 15 min critical (FortiCare Elite)
- Help articles
- Yes
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- Admin panel
- Yes FortiClient EMS / FortiClient Cloud
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes customer FortiGate
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes Universal ZTNA in FortiOS 7.0+; FortiSASE cloud
- Identity providers
- Windows AD
- Google Workspace
- FortiAuthenticator
- Idaptive
- METTCARE
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Trustpilot
2.63 of 5, smoothed
From 43 collected reviews (raw average 1.42; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 1.00 from 2.
The company replied to 0 of 39 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
-
App Store
2.98 of 5, smoothed
From 99 collected reviews (raw average 2.70; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 2.00 from 2.
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 1.5 (43 reviews); App Store (US) 2.87 (123 ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
21 Reddit and forum threads mention Fortinet FortiClient (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 3★ · 19 Sep 2026 · US
App improvement no hide of token
App Store · 1★ · 18 Sep 2026 · US
Token Export doesn't work
App Store · 4★ · 28 May 2026 · GB
Works Well
Trustpilot · 1★ · 11 Sep 2026 · US
It won't let me play chess
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 04 Aug 2026 · US
Concerns Regarding Perception Point Support
Original reviewTrustpilot · 1★ · 16 Jun 2026 · HK
Unsigma
Original review
Rankings by user reviews
In our rankings
Fortinet FortiClient appears on 3 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- SonicWall0.94
- RingLink1.05
- NCP engineering0.95
- Twingate1.29
Same owner
Also similar to Fortinet FortiClient
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15.
- Website
- https://fortinet.com
- Pages checked
- https://fortinet.com; https://www.fortinet.com/support/product-downloads; https://www.fortinet.com/products/endpoint-security/forticlient; https://www.fortinet.com/corporate/about-us/privacy; https://www.fortinet.com/solutions/enterprise-midsize-business/network-access/application-access
- Other sources used
- split/edition/support/chromebook/sso: https://www.fortinet.com/products/endpoint-security/forticlient; trial_days/card_required_for_trial/trial_limits: https://docs.fortinet.com/document/forticlient/latest/ems-administration-guide/883953/free-trial-license; ikev2/proprietary_protocol: https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/7.6.5/administration-guide/155142 (SSL VPN tunnel mode to IPsec VPN migration; IKEv2 UDP/TCP) and https://community.fortinet.com/fortigate-3/technical-tip-ssl-vpn-does-not-connect-when-the-fortigate-is-on-v7-6-3-205020; protocol no flags: absence in official FortiClient feature list (enterprise IPsec/SSL/ZTNA client)
- Pricing page: FortiClient Ordering Guide / Request a Quote (no public prices)
- Privacy policy
- Terms of service
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error
| When (UTC) | Field | Was | Now |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-16 | holding | none (fortinet ) | fortinet |