OwnVPN review: score, privacy and prices

0.98

out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Free / mobile app median 2.3

  • Free / mobile app
  • Jurisdiction:Cyprus, alliance not disclosed
  • Founded2026 (app launch)
  • Owner:S.T. MOSTRA MEZE LIMITED
  • Data completeness47%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • No email to sign up

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Privacy and jurisdiction2.3 vs 2.7
  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
  • Security and protocols0.0 vs 1.2

Weakest against its segment

  • Price and fair terms1.1 vs 3.4
  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 1.7
  • Platforms and support1.1 vs 2.8
  • Auto-renewal on by default

Compare OwnVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Free / mobile app services in the main ranking (80 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

OwnVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.72.3
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.20.0
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.41.1
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 1.70.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 2.81.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

OwnVPN pricing

The cheapest way in is €5.73 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, OwnVPN renews at its standard price, the same per month as the first term. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Price per month over 3 years, Annual plan

€5.73/mo for 12 months then €5.73/mo €5€10

first termrenewalmarket median €3.13/momonths →

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep OwnVPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst paymentThen1 year2 years3 years
Weekly, 0.25 mo €11.17 €11.17 / 0.25 mo€536.23€1072.45€1608.68
Monthly, 1 mo €21.49 €21.49 / 1 mo€257.90€515.79€773.69
Annual, 12 mo €68.79 €68.79 / 12 mo€68.79€137.58€206.37

Compare OwnVPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for termPer month€ / monthRenewal priceRenewal term
Weekly0.25 mo$12.99$56.30€48.42$12.990.25 mo
Monthly1 mo$24.99$24.99€21.49$24.991 mo
Annual12 mo$79.99$6.67€5.74$79.9912 mo

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
Apple refund policy
Free trial
Not stated
Auto-renewal
Yes Apple subscriptions
How to cancel
Apple subscription settings (assumed via IAP)
Payment methods
Apple In-App Purchase
VAT
Yes App Store pricing
Renewal note
Apple IAP auto-renewing subscriptions (terms not on site)

Everything OwnVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about OwnVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
S.T. MOSTRA MEZE LIMITED
Registered in
Cyprus (41 Saripolou, Limassol 3036)
Founded
2026 (app launch)
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
Not stated
Website languages
EN
Right-to-left languages
No
Currencies on the site
USD (App Store)
Prices depend on country
App Store regional

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
  • Weekly
  • Monthly
  • Annual (IAP)
Billing terms
  • 1 week
  • 1 month
  • 12 months
Cheapest price a month
$6.67
Monthly plan
$24.99
1-year plan, total
$79.99
1-year plan, a month
$6.67
2-year plan, total
No
Lifetime plan
No
Renewal
Apple IAP auto-renewing subscriptions (terms not on site)
VAT included
Yes App Store pricing
Family plan
Not stated
Dedicated IP add-on
No
Port forwarding add-on
No
Double VPN add-on
No
Antivirus
No
Password manager
No
eSIM
No
Identity protection
No
Cloud storage
No
Other add-ons
No

Discounts and programmes

Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
Not stated
Prohibited by the terms
illegal use, fraud, malware, spam, IP infringement, network interference, unauthorized access; no P2P mention

Free plan

Free plan
Not stated
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
Apple In-App Purchase
Bank card
Yes via Apple
PayPal
No
Apple Pay / Google Pay
Yes Apple IAP
Cryptocurrency
No
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Yes Apple subscriptions
How to cancel
Apple subscription settings (assumed via IAP)
Email needed to sign up
No No accounts to create
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
Not stated

Free trial terms

Trial length
Not stated
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardNot stated
  • OpenVPNNot stated
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolNot stated
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Encryption
AES-256
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
No
Open-source apps
No

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Yes no activity or connection logs; no analytics, tracking, ad SDKs
Independent no-logs audit
No
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timesNot stated
  • Device infoDevice ID✕ Yes
  • App analytics(usage data, diagnostics) — contradicts site✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✕ No
  • macOSApp Store, M1+✓ Yes
  • Linux✕ No
  • iOSiOS 15+✓ Yes
  • Android✕ No
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TV✕ No
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated
App Store rating
2.6 (5 ratings)
Last app update
v1.0.4 Oct 5 (2026)
App languages
  • EN
  • FR
  • JA
  • PT
  • ES

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
No
Live chat 24/7
No email only
Email / tickets
Yes support@mostra-meze.com
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Support languages
EN (email support@mostra-meze.com; reply within 2 business days)
Response time (claimed)
within two business days
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

No reviews collected for this service.

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: App Store (US) 2.50 (4 ratings).

25 Reddit and forum threads mention OwnVPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Questions about OwnVPN

Answers built from what OwnVPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

OwnVPN refund policy: how to ask for your money back

OwnVPN refund window: Apple refund policy.

Refund terms

Conditions
Not stated
Refund on monthly plans
Not stated
Refund for App Store / Google Play purchases
Not stated
Refund for unused time
Not stated

How to cancel OwnVPN and turn off auto-renewal

How OwnVPN says you cancel: Apple subscription settings (assumed via IAP). Auto-renewal by default: yes (Apple subscriptions).

Cancellation and renewal

Reminder before renewal
Not stated
Renewal note
Apple IAP auto-renewing subscriptions (terms not on site)
Bought in App Store or Google Play
cancel in the store’s subscription settings

Without auto-renewal or price hikes

Who owns OwnVPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

OwnVPN is run by S.T. MOSTRA MEZE LIMITED, registered in Cyprus (41 Saripolou, Limassol 3036); parent company: S.T. MOSTRA MEZE LIMITED.

Company

Registered in
Cyprus (41 Saripolou, Limassol 3036)
Founded
2026 (app launch)

Jurisdiction

Cheaper with the same features

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15.

Website
https://own-vpn.com
Pages checked
https://own-vpn.com; https://own-vpn.com/terms.html; https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ownvpn/id6803554471
Other sources used
registration_country/support/response_time: https://own-vpn.com/contact.html; encryption/signup: https://own-vpn.com/; appstore_*: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ownvpn/id6803554471; SERP for own-vpn.com gave no protocol/trial/device info

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error

When (UTC)FieldWasNow
2026-10-16rank_consumer457456