HotspotVPN review: score, privacy and prices

0.30

out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Free / mobile app median 2.3

  • Free / mobile app
  • Jurisdiction:Hong Kong, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
  • Owner:HiMobi Tech Ltd
  • Data completeness20%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Free plan

Red flag: Public security incident. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
  • Security and protocols0.0 vs 1.2
  • Platforms and support1.1 vs 2.8

Weakest against its segment

  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.7
  • Price and fair terms1.2 vs 3.4
  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 1.7
  • Public security incident

Compare HotspotVPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Free / mobile app services in the main ranking (80 services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

HotspotVPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.70.0
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.20.0
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.41.2
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 1.70.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 2.81.1
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

HotspotVPN pricing

HotspotVPN does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: Yes (HiMobi Hotspot VPN Lab Android app marketed as 100% free proxy, unlimited bandwidth) (review). Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
Not stated
Free trial
Not stated
Auto-renewal
Not stated
Payment methods
Not stated

Everything HotspotVPN publishes

Every fact we collected about HotspotVPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
HiMobi Tech Ltd (HK reg. 2669400)
Registered in
Hong Kong (links to mainland China)
Parent company
HiMobi Tech Ltd
Related brands
  • Secure VPN
  • VPN - Master Proxy (Sapling Growth Tech)
  • Easy VPN
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
none
Website languages
Not stated

Plans, prices and add-ons

Cheapest price a month
Not stated
Monthly plan
Not stated
Lifetime plan
Not stated
Family plan
Not stated

Discounts and programmes

Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
Not stated

Free plan

Free plan
Yes (HiMobi Hotspot VPN Lab Android app marketed as 100% free proxy, unlimited bandwidth) (review)
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
Not stated
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
Email needed to sign up
Not stated
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
Not stated

Free trial terms

Trial length
Not stated
Card needed for the trial
Not stated

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Not stated
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardNot stated
  • OpenVPNNot stated
  • IKEv2Not stated
  • L2TP/IPsecNot stated
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolNot stated
  • VLESS / RealityNot stated
  • VMessNot stated
  • TrojanNot stated
  • ShadowsocksNot stated
  • Hysteria2Not stated
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGNot stated
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Not stated
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated
Known incidents
Yes 2018 Top10VPN investigation: hidden Chinese ownership, unanswered privacy questions

Privacy

No-logs policy
Not stated
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Shared with third parties
policy allows transfer outside EEA incl. PRC
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Copyright (DMCA) notices
not addressed
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timesNot stated

Apps and devices

  • WindowsNot stated
  • macOSNot stated
  • LinuxNot stated
  • iOS✓ Yes
  • Android✓ Yes
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated
Google Play installs
1M+ (Sensortower, 2018)

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
Not stated
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes topmobi-inc@hotmail.com
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

  • Trustpilot

    3.88 of 5, smoothed

    From 200 collected reviews (raw average 3.94; all VPNs 3.66). Last 90 days: 2.67 from 3.

    The company replied to 43 of 49 negative reviews (1–2 stars).

  • App Store

    4.41 of 5, smoothed

    From 468 collected reviews (raw average 4.51; all VPNs 3.54).

  • Google Play

    4.01 of 5, smoothed

    From 8 collected reviews (raw average 4.75; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 4.67 from 3.

Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: Trustpilot TrustScore 3.4 (768 reviews); App Store (US) 4.70 (8986 ratings); Google Play 4.8 (144 ratings).

Reviews per month, last 12 months

  1. Oct ’255 reviews, average 3.6
  2. Nov ’2513 reviews, average 4.08
  3. Jan ’261 reviews, average 5.0
  4. Feb ’262 reviews, average 1.0
  5. Apr ’261 reviews, average 5.0
  6. May ’262 reviews, average 5.0
  7. Jun ’262 reviews, average 4.5
  8. Jul ’261 reviews, average 5.0
  9. Aug ’266 reviews, average 3.67
Bar height: number of reviews collected that month. Full-colour bars: months with an average of 4 stars or more; pale bars: below 4.

36 Reddit and forum threads mention HotspotVPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

Latest reviews

Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.

  • App Store · 5★ · 16 Jul 2026 · GB

    Excellent VPN

  • App Store · 5★ · 02 May 2026 · US

    good

  • App Store · 5★ · 23 Oct 2025 · US

    Cross GFW

  • Google Play · 4★ · 22 Aug 2026

    About to expirence

  • Google Play · 5★ · 18 Aug 2026

    very very nice

  • Google Play · 5★ · 08 Aug 2026

    Believe should workout well.

  • Trustpilot · 5★ · 16 Aug 2026 · US

    I bought a t mobile full sized internet…

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 2★ · 08 Aug 2026 · PH

    Got the premium version but decided not to use it anyway

    Original review
  • Trustpilot · 1★ · 05 Aug 2026 · US

    I despise when companies remove…

    Original review

Questions about HotspotVPN

Answers built from what HotspotVPN publishes. Open a question to read the details.

Who owns HotspotVPN? Company, jurisdiction and related brands

HotspotVPN is run by HiMobi Tech Ltd (HK reg. 2669400), registered in Hong Kong (links to mainland China); parent company: HiMobi Tech Ltd.

Company

Registered in
Hong Kong (links to mainland China)
Related brands
Secure VPN; VPN - Master Proxy (Sapling Growth Tech); Easy VPN

Jurisdiction

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15.

Website
https://www.top10vpn.com/research/free-vpn-investigations/ownership/
Other sources used
re-read https://www.top10vpn.com/research/free-vpn-investigations/ownership/ (no pricing/protocol/feature data for HotspotVPN; single June-2018 policy shared with Secure VPN); Play search https://play.google.com/store/search?q=HotspotVPN&c=apps&hl=en shows no HiMobi/HotspotVPN app; free_tier: https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/hotspot-vpn-proxy-security-himobi-tech-ltd/ + SERP snippet https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/hotspot-vpn-proxy-security-himobi-tech-ltd/free-vpn-unlimited-proxy-proxy-master/

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error

When (UTC)FieldWasNow
2026-10-16rank_consumer536535