Firezone review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Mesh / self-hosted median 2.5
- Mesh / self-hosted
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Data completeness87%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Trial without a card
- Free plan
- Open-source apps
Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Security and protocols4.3 vs 1.8
- Price and fair terms4.3 vs 3.4
- Platforms and support4.3 vs 3.9
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
- Stores session times
- Auto-renewal on by default
- Stores connection IP addresses
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Mesh / self-hosted services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Firezonesegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.84.3
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.44.3
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.94.3
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Firezone pricing
The cheapest way in is €3.58 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Firezone renews at its standard price, the same per month as the first term. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Price per month over 3 years, Team, per seat plan
first termrenewalmarket median €3.13/momonths →
Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years
What you pay to keep Firezone running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.
| Plan and first term | First payment | Then | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Team, per seat, 1 mo | €4.30 | €4.30 / 1 mo | €51.60 | €103.20 | €154.80 |
| Team, per seat, 12 mo | €43.00 | €43.00 / 12 mo | €43.00 | €86.00 | €129.00 |
| Business, per active seat, 1 mo | €6.88 | €6.88 / 1 mo | €82.56 | €165.12 | €247.68 |
| Business, per active seat, 12 mo | €68.80 | €68.80 / 12 mo | €68.80 | €137.60 | €206.40 |
Compare Firezone’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices
All plans as published
| Plan | Term | Price for term | Per month | € / month | Renewal price | Renewal term |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | 1 mo | $0.00 | $0.00 | €0.00 | — | — |
| Team, per seat | 1 mo | $5.00 | $5.00 | €4.30 | $5.00 | 1 mo |
| Team, per seat | 12 mo | $50.00 | $4.17 | €3.59 | $50.00 | 12 mo |
| Business, per active seat | 1 mo | $8.00 | $8.00 | €6.88 | $8.00 | 1 mo |
| Business, per active seat | 12 mo | $80.00 | $6.67 | €5.74 | $80.00 | 12 mo |
| Enterprise | 12 mo | custom | — | — | custom | 12 mo |
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- 0 (fees non-refundable)
- Refund conditions
- Paid fees non-refundable unless order/law says otherwise; cancellation effective end of term
- Free trial
- 30 (Enterprise, via sales), site (sales)
- Card needed for trial
- No Starter free, no card
- Auto-renewal
- Yes
- How to cancel
- Admin portal Account settings; Enterprise via account manager; support@firezone.dev
- Payment methods
- card; ACH; wire (Enterprise); invoice (Enterprise)
- Renewal note
- Auto-renews for same term at same price; seat decreases apply at renewal
Everything Firezone publishes
Every fact we collected about Firezone, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Firezone, Inc.
- Registered in
- USA
- Address
- 2261 Market Street, Suite 4574, San Francisco, CA 94114, USA
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- USD
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Starter
- Team
- Business
- Enterprise
- Billing terms
- 1m; 12m
- Cheapest price a month
- 4.17, per seat
- Monthly plan
- 5 (Team per seat)
- 1-year plan, total
- 50 (Team per seat)
- 1-year plan, a month
- 4.17 (Team per seat)
- Lifetime plan
- No
- Renewal
- Auto-renews for same term at same price; seat decreases apply at renewal
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business price per user
- Team 5 USD/seat/mo (50/yr)
- Business 8 USD/active seat/mo (80/yr)
- Enterprise custom
- Antivirus
- No
- Password manager
- No
- eSIM
- No
- Identity protection
- No
- Cloud storage
- No
- Other add-ons
- No
Discounts and programmes
- Discount shown
- ~17% annual vs monthly
- Discount compared with
- 12 monthly payments
- Sale running when checked
- No
- Student discount
- Yes 50% for nonprofits/education (via sales)
- Discount for crypto payment
- No
- Bonus months
- No
- Affiliate programme
- No
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Starter 3, Team 5, Business 10 clients per user; Enterprise unlimited
- Speed limit
- No claims 5+ Gbps
- Features locked to higher plans
- Full-tunnel & conditional access from Team
- directory sync, posture checks, log sinks from Business
- SLA/SOC2 reports Enterprise
- Prohibited by the terms
- unlawful use
- unauthorized access/scanning
- malware/spam
- bypassing limits
- reselling
- reverse engineering
- scraping
- building competing service
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free data
- Not stated
- Free devices
- 6 users, 3 clients/user, 10 service accounts, 10 sites, 1 admin
- Ads in the free plan
- No
- Other free plan terms
- community support only; no credit card
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- card
- ACH
- wire (Enterprise)
- invoice (Enterprise)
- Bank card
- Yes
- PayPal
- No
- Cryptocurrency
- No
- Cash
- No
- Gift cards
- No
- Mobile carrier billing
- No
- Local payment methods
- ACH (US)
- Auto-renewal by default
- Yes
- How to cancel
- Admin portal Account settings
- Enterprise via account manager
- support@firezone.dev
- Email needed to sign up
- Yes work email
- Account-number login
- No
- Identity check (KYC)
- No
- Money-back guarantee, days
- 0 (fees non-refundable)
- Refund conditions
- Paid fees non-refundable unless order/law says otherwise; cancellation effective end of term
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- 30 (Enterprise, via sales)
- Where the trial is offered
- site (sales)
- Instead of a trial
- Free Starter plan up to 6 users
- Card needed for the trial
- No Starter free, no card
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- Own servers
- Yes customer-hosted gateways
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- No
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- No
- Tor over VPN
- No
- SOCKS5 proxy
- No
- Smart DNS
- No
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✓ Yes
- OpenVPN✕ No
- IKEv2✕ No
- L2TP/IPsecNo
- SSTPNo
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✓ No
- Other protocols
- No
- Encryption
- WireGuard end-to-end
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- No none (native clients)
- Open-source apps
- Yes https://www.github.com/firezone/firezone
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- No
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- No
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Yes resource-level; full-tunnel on Team+
- Ad and malware blocker
- No
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes via IdP/OIDC
- Security audits
- Yes pentest reports (Enterprise)
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
- Certifications
- SOC 2 Type II
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- No collects service activity & technical logs; traffic E2E encrypted
- Independent no-logs audit
- No
- Data retention
- account data while active + closure period
- session recordings 90 days
- service logs per plan
- Shared with third parties
- subprocessors: Stripe, PostHog, HubSpot, Google Ads, OpenAI Ads, cloud hosting
- Trackers on the website
- PostHog
- Google Ads
- OpenAI Ads
- HubSpot
- Transparency report
- No
- Warrant canary
- No
- Law enforcement requests
- discloses when reasonably believes required by law
- Anonymous sign-up
- No
- GDPR / data protection officer
- no DPO; privacy@firezone.dev
- Privacy policy updated
- 2026-08-08
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Email✕ Yes
- Connection IP✕ Yes
- Session timessign-in/audit logs✕ Yes
- Device info✕ Yes
- App analyticsPostHog✕ Yes
- Crash reports✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windows✓ Yes
- macOS✓ Yes
- Linux✓ Yes
- iOS✓ Yes
- Android✓ Yes
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TV✕ No
- Apple TV✕ No
- Chromebook✓ Yes
- Smart TV✕ No
- Routers✕ No
- NAS✕ No
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consoles✕ No
- Browser extensions
- No
Speed, streaming and gaming
- Claimed speed
- 5+ Gbps from a laptop
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Fastest protocol (claimed)
- WireGuard
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- No
- Live chat 24/7
- No
- Email / tickets
- Yes priority email Team+
- Phone
- Not stated
- Telegram
- No
- No
- Discord or forum
- GitHub issues (community); dedicated Slack (Enterprise)
- Support languages
- EN
- Help articles
- Yes /kb
- Server status page
- Yes https://firezone.statuspage.io/
- Uptime guarantee (SLA)
- 99.9% (Enterprise)
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- SCIM provisioning
- Yes directory sync Google/Entra/Okta (Business+)
- Admin panel
- Yes
- API
- Yes REST
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes self-hosted
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes
- Identity providers
- Okta
- Microsoft Entra ID
- Google Workspace
- OIDC
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
Google Play
3.92 of 5, smoothed
From 1 collected reviews (raw average 5.00; all VPNs 3.90).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: App Store (US) 5.00 (1 ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
46 Reddit and forum threads mention Firezone (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
Google Play · 5★ · 21 Mar 2026
It good
Rankings by user reviews
In our rankings
Firezone appears on 3 topic pages. Its place on each:
Same owner
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://firezone.dev
- Pages checked
- https://firezone.dev; https://www.firezone.dev/pricing; https://www.firezone.dev/privacy-policy; https://www.firezone.dev/terms
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error