Cato Networks SASE review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Business VPN / ZTNA median 2.5
- Business VPN / ZTNA
- Jurisdiction:Israel, outside 5/9/14 Eyes
- Owner:none
- Data completeness40%
- Checked2026-10-15
Red flag: Stores connection IP addresses. A red flag caps the score at 6.0.
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Security and protocols3.6 vs 1.8
- Platforms and support5.2 vs 3.9
- Censorship bypass0.0 vs 0.5
Weakest against its segment
- Price and fair terms0.0 vs 3.4
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
- Network and streaming0.7 vs 2.8
- Stores connection IP addresses
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Business VPN / ZTNA services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Cato Networks SASEsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.83.6
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.40.0
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.0
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.7
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.95.2
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Cato Networks SASE pricing
Cato Networks SASE does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: No. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- Not stated
- Renewal note
- billed annually by site bandwidth (10 Mbps-10 Gbps) and number of mobile users; no published list price (review)
Everything Cato Networks SASE publishes
Every fact we collected about Cato Networks SASE, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Cato Networks Ltd.
- Registered in
- Israel
- Address
- Landmark Tower, 2 Leonardo da Vinci St, Tel-Aviv 6473309, Israel
- Parent company
- none
- Related brands
- Cato SASE Cloud; Cato Neural Edge
- Website languages
- EN
- FR
- DE
- JA
- KO
- IT
- ES
- NL
- ZH-TW
- Right-to-left languages
- No
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- quote-based (SASE Cloud)
- Cheapest price a month
- Not stated
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Renewal
- billed annually by site bandwidth (10 Mbps-10 Gbps) and number of mobile users; no published list price (review)
- Family plan
- Not stated
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
- Affiliate programme
- No partner program: MSP/reseller/agent
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
Free plan
- Free plan
- No
- Free data
- Not stated
- Ads in the free plan
- Not stated
Payment and subscription
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- Not stated
- Instead of a trial
- product demo / 1:1 demo
- Card needed for the trial
- Not stated
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- 100+ PoPs
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuardNot stated
- OpenVPNNot stated
- IKEv2IPsec supported for sites/clouds/IPsec endpoints✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecNot stated
- SSTPNot stated
- SoftEtherNot stated
- Own protocolnamed protocol; encrypted tunnels to Cato PoPs + IPsec for sites/third-party✕ No
- VLESS / RealityNot stated
- VMessNot stated
- TrojanNot stated
- ShadowsocksNot stated
- Hysteria2Not stated
- TUICNot stated
- NaiveProxyNot stated
- obfs4Not stated
- AmneziaWGNot stated
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Not stated
- Open-source apps
- Not stated
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Yes Always-on mode prevents users disabling client; pre-login connectivity
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Yes bypass options available; nearest-PoP connection avoids need for split tunnel
- Ad and malware blocker
- Yes built-in Cato EPP endpoint protection; SWG, IPS, DNS security
- Two-factor sign-in
- Not stated
- Security audits
- Yes SOC 2/SOC 3 third-party attestation
- Bug bounty
- Yes vulnerability reporting page only
- Certifications
- ISO 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701, 14001
- SOC 2 & SOC 3
- PCI-DSS L1 SP
- UK Cyber Essentials
- CSA STAR self-assessment
- ENS High
- GDPR
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Data retention
- per retention policies; non-personal metadata may be kept indefinitely
- Shared with third parties
- service providers, affiliates, acquirers; de-identified data may be monetized
- Trackers on the website
- cookies & web beacons
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Law enforcement requests
- discloses where permitted/required by law, court orders
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
- GDPR / data protection officer
- DPO via privacy@catonetworks.com
- Privacy policy updated
- 2025-02-23
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- IP at sign-upUser Data incl. IP, approx. location✕ Yes
- Connection IPreal-time & historical visibility into user devices, activity, locations✕ Yes
- Session timesNot stated
- Device infobrowser, OS/device✕ Yes
- App analyticsusage time/frequency✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windows(Cato Client) (review)✓ Yes
- macOS(Cato Client) (review)✓ Yes
- Linux(Cato Client) (review)✓ Yes
- iOS(Cato Client) (review)✓ Yes
- Android(Cato Client) (review)✓ Yes
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TVNot stated
- RoutersNot stated
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- Cato Browser Extension (ZTNA)
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- No portal + phone
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes self-service support portal, service requests
- Phone
- Yes 972-72-273-9740 (privacy)
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Discord or forum
- Cato Community connect.catonetworks.com
- Help articles
- support portal
- Server status page
- Not stated
- Uptime guarantee (SLA)
- 99.999%
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- Admin panel
- Yes Cato Management Application, CMA
- API
- Yes Cato API
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes ZTNA / Universal ZTNA within SASE
- Identity providers
- Okta logo among 100+ integrations
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
App Store
3.52 of 5, smoothed
From 4 collected reviews (raw average 3.25; all VPNs 3.54).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: App Store (US) 3.57 (14 ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
35 Reddit and forum threads mention Cato Networks SASE (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 1★ · 10 Dec 2025 · US
Will not work on IPhone update 26.1
App Store · 5★ · 30 Sep 2020 · US
Great!!
App Store · 2★ · 02 Jun 2020 · US
Can't make L2 proxy work while using VPN.
Rankings by user reviews
Questions about Cato Networks SASE
Answers built from what Cato Networks SASE publishes. Open a question to read the details.
Cato Networks SASE alternatives: similar VPNs ranked by our score
6 alternatives to Cato Networks SASE (1.31) from the same segment, by features, price and owner. Highest: PureDome (1.85).
Alternatives to Cato Networks SASE
| # | Service | Score | From |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | PureDome | 1.85 | €5.81per month |
| 2 | Palo Alto GlobalProtect / Prisma Access | 1.09 | — |
| 3 | Versa Networks SASE | 0.96 | — |
| 4 | Check Point Remote Access VPN | 0.96 | — |
| 5 | Palo Alto GlobalProtect | 0.87 | — |
| 6 | Island Enterprise Browser | 0.43 | — |
Cato Networks SASE compared side by side
In our rankings
Cato Networks SASE appears on 3 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- PureDome1.85
Cato Networks SASE compared
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://catonetworks.com
- Pages checked
- https://catonetworks.com; https://www.catonetworks.com/security-compliance-and-privacy/; https://www.catonetworks.com/privacypolicy/
- Other sources used
- servers_count/sla_uptime/ikev2: https://www.catonetworks.com/platform/global-private-backbone/; kill_switch/split_tunneling/adblock_malware_blocker/collects_connection_ip/proprietary_protocol: https://www.catonetworks.com/platform/cato-client/; windows/macos/linux/ios/android/renewal_note/trial_where/price_*: https://www.esecurityplanet.com/products/cato-sase-review/ (updated 2025-12-17); email_tickets/live_chat/browser_extensions: https://www.catonetworks.com/support/
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error