Pritunl review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Mesh / self-hosted median 2.5
- Mesh / self-hosted
- Jurisdiction:USA, 5 Eyes
- Owner:no
- Data completeness67%
- Checked2026-10-15
- No email to sign up
- Free plan
- Open-source apps
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Security and protocols2.9 vs 1.8
- Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
- Platforms and support2.9 vs 3.9
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.6 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction1.0 vs 2.3
- Price and fair terms2.1 vs 3.4
- Jurisdiction in the 5 Eyes alliance
- Stores session times
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Mesh / self-hosted services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
Pritunlsegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.31.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.82.9
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.42.1
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.6
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.92.9
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
Pritunl pricing
The cheapest way in is €8.60 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, Pritunl renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Price per month over 3 years, Premium, per host plan
first termrenewalmarket median €3.13/momonths →
Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years
What you pay to keep Pritunl running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 USD = €0.86). The lowest cost for each period is marked.
| Plan and first term | First payment | Then | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Premium, per host, 1 mo | €8.60 | €8.60 / 1 mo | €103.20 | €206.40 | €309.60 |
| Enterprise, per host, 1 mo | €60.20 | €60.20 / 1 mo | €722.40 | €1444.80 | €2167.20 |
Compare Pritunl’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices
All plans as published
| Plan | Term | Price for term | Per month | € / month | Renewal price | Renewal term |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community | 1 mo | $0.00 | $0.00 | €0.00 | $0.00 | 1 mo |
| Premium, per host | 1 mo | $10.00 | $10.00 | €8.60 | $10.00 | 1 mo |
| Enterprise, per host | 1 mo | $70.00 | $70.00 | €60.20 | $70.00 | 1 mo |
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- No
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- Not stated
- Renewal note
- monthly per-host subscription
Everything Pritunl publishes
Every fact we collected about Pritunl, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Pritunl, Inc.
- Registered in
- USA
- Address
- 1700 7th Ave Ste 116-211, Seattle, WA 98101, USA
- Parent company
- No
- Related brands
- Pritunl Client
- Pritunl Zero
- Pritunl Cloud
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 5
- Website languages
- EN
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- USD
- Prices depend on country
- No
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Community (free)
- Premium
- Enterprise
- Billing terms
- monthly
- Cheapest price a month
- 0 (Community) / 10 (Premium)
- Monthly plan
- 10 (Premium, per host)
- Lifetime plan
- No
- Renewal
- monthly per-host subscription
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Business minimum seats
- 1 host
- Port forwarding add-on
- Yes included (Premium+)
- Other add-ons
- No
Discounts and programmes
- Discount shown
- No
- Sale running when checked
- No
- Student discount
- Not stated
- Bonus months
- No
- Referral programme
- No
- Affiliate programme
- No
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- unlimited
- Data limit
- none (self-hosted)
- Features locked to higher plans
- Premium: port forwarding, gateway links, Chromebook, per-user auth bypass; Enterprise: SSO, failover, replicated servers, site-to-site, AWS VPC, auditing, TPM/Secure Enclave device auth
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes Community: single host, unlimited servers/users/devices, no registration or card
- Free data
- Yes unlimited (self-hosted)
- Free speed
- no limit (self-hosted)
- Free devices
- unlimited
- Ads in the free plan
- No
- Other free plan terms
- single host; no port forwarding/gateway links/SSO/failover
Payment and subscription
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- No
- Gift cards
- No
- Mobile carrier billing
- No
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- No for Community; yes for paid
- Phone needed to sign up
- No
- Account-number login
- No
- Identity check (KYC)
- No
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- No
- Instead of a trial
- free Community edition; live demo (demo.pritunl.com)
- Card needed for the trial
- Not stated
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- Own servers
- Yes customer-hosted
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- No
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- No
- Tor over VPN
- No
- SOCKS5 proxy
- No
- Smart DNS
- No
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✓ Yes
- OpenVPN✓ Yes
- IKEv2✕ No
- L2TP/IPsecNo
- SSTPNo
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✓ No
- Other protocols
- IPsec (site-to-site / VPC peering)
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Yes ovpn profiles (OpenVPN-compatible clients, ChromeOS)
- Open-source apps
- Yes https://github.com/pritunl/pritunl-client; server https://github.com/pritunl/pritunl
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- No
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- No
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Not stated
- Ad and malware blocker
- No
- Two-factor sign-in
- Yes TOTP, push; Duo, YubiKey/Yubico
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Shared with third parties
- vendors/service providers
- legal requests
- M&A
- Trackers on the website
- cookies
- web beacons
- third-party analytics
- Transparency report
- No
- Warrant canary
- No
- Law enforcement requests
- discloses if reasonably necessary to comply with law/legal process
- Anonymous sign-up
- Yes for Community (no registration)
- GDPR / data protection officer
- No
- Privacy policy updated
- 2014-04-18
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Emailwebsite/support/paid✕ Yes
- IP at sign-upwebsite logs✕ Yes
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timeswebsite access times✕ Yes
- Device infowebsite: hardware model, OS✕ Yes
- App analyticsthird-party web analytics✕ Yes
Apps and devices
- Windowsclient✓ Yes
- macOSclient✓ Yes
- Linuxclient + server: Ubuntu, Debian, RHEL clones, Amazon Linux, Arch✓ Yes
- iOSvia OpenVPN-compatible apps✓ Yes
- Androidvia OpenVPN-compatible apps✓ Yes
- Android TV✕ No
- Fire TV✕ No
- Apple TV✕ No
- ChromebookOpenVPN profile, Premium✓ Yes
- Smart TV✕ No
- Routers✕ No
- NAS✕ No
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consoles✕ No
- Browser extensions
- No
- Last app update
- client v1.4.4777.90
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Speed test in the app
- No
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- No
- Live chat 24/7
- No
- Email / tickets
- Yes support.pritunl.com
- Phone
- Yes (206) 202-2276
- Telegram
- No
- No
- Discord or forum
- forum.pritunl.com
- Support languages
- EN
- Help articles
- docs.pritunl.com
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Yes SAML, Enterprise
- Admin panel
- Yes web management UI
- API
- Yes REST API; Python plugins
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes self-hosted servers, replicated/failover
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes traditional VPN server + device auth (TPM/Secure Enclave); Pritunl Zero separate
- Identity providers
- Google Workspace
- Okta
- OneLogin
- Microsoft Entra
- Auth0
- JumpCloud
- Duo
- Yubico
- RADIUS
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
No reviews collected for this service.
44 Reddit and forum threads mention Pritunl (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
In our rankings
Pritunl appears on 4 topic pages. Its place on each:
Also similar to Pritunl
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://pritunl.com
- Pages checked
- https://pritunl.com; https://pritunl.com/privacy; https://pritunl.com/terms
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error