OPNsense review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Mesh / self-hosted median 2.5
- Mesh / self-hosted
- Jurisdiction:Netherlands, 9 Eyes
- Owner:Deciso
- Data completeness47%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Free plan
- Open-source apps
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Security and protocols2.1 vs 1.8
- Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
- Price and fair terms2.5 vs 3.4
Weakest against its segment
- Platforms and support1.0 vs 3.9
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.4 vs 2.3
- Jurisdiction in the 9 Eyes alliance
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Mesh / self-hosted services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
OPNsensesegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.4
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.82.1
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.42.5
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.91.0
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
OPNsense pricing
The cheapest way in is €11.08 a month, paid upfront for the longest term. After that term, OPNsense renews at its standard price. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years
What you pay to keep OPNsense running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 EUR = €1). The lowest cost for each period is marked.
| Plan and first term | First payment | 1 year | 2 years | 3 years |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Edition (1 year), 12 mo | €149.00 | €149.00 | — | — |
| Business Edition (3 years), 36 mo | €399.00 | €399.00 | €399.00 | €399.00 |
| Business Support Subscription, 12 mo | €329.00 | €329.00 | — | — |
Compare OPNsense’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices
All plans as published
| Plan | Term | Price for term | Per month | Renewal term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Edition (1 year) | 12 mo | €149.00 | €12.42 | 12 mo |
| Business Edition (3 years) | 36 mo | €399.00 | €11.08 | 36 mo |
| Business Support Subscription | 12 mo | €329.00 | €27.42 | 12 mo |
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- 30 (single-unit hardware only)
- Refund conditions
- 30-day full refund only for single-unit hardware purchases
- Free trial
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- Amex; Mastercard; Visa; DIRECTeBanking/Sofort; Maestro; iDEAL; GiroPay; PayPal; bank/wire transfer; purchase order
- Renewal note
- ToS: customer responsible for renewing on time; Deciso not obliged to auto-renew, but new subscription terms may be charged to card when due or 30 days in advance for annual+ terms
Everything OPNsense publishes
Every fact we collected about OPNsense, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- Deciso Sales B.V.
- Registered in
- Netherlands
- Address
- Edison 43, 3241 LS Middelharnis, The Netherlands
- Parent company
- Deciso
- Related brands
- OPNcentral
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- 9
- Website languages
- EN
- Right-to-left languages
- No
- Currencies on the site
- EUR
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Plans
- Community Edition (free)
- Business Edition
- Business Support
- hardware appliances
- Billing terms
- 12m, 36m (BE); 12m (support)
- Cheapest price a month
- 0 (Community)
- Monthly plan
- Not stated
- 1-year plan, total
- €149.00
- 1-year plan, a month
- €12.42
- 2-year plan, total
- No
- Lifetime plan
- No
- Renewal
- ToS: customer responsible for renewing on time; Deciso not obliged to auto-renew, but new subscription terms may be charged to card when due or 30 days in advance for annual+ terms
- Family plan
- Not stated
- Prices seen from other countries
- Business Edition 1yr €149/yr; Business Edition 3yr €399 (was €447) (EUR; shop also offers USD)
- Antivirus
- No
- Password manager
- No
- eSIM
- No
- Identity protection
- No
- Cloud storage
- No
- Other add-ons
- hardware appliances EUR 598-6948
- 4h extra support EUR 599
- ET PRO rules (optional)
Discounts and programmes
- Discount shown
- Yes BE 447 -> 399 EUR, ~11%
- Sale running when checked
- Yes sale prices shown
- Student discount
- Not stated
- Affiliate programme
- No
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
- Features locked to higher plans
- Business Edition: WAF, proxy access, extended blocklist, OPNcentral, GeoIP DB, commercial repo
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes Community Edition, open source
- Free data
- Yes unlimited (self-hosted)
- Ads in the free plan
- No
Payment and subscription
- Payment methods
- Amex
- Mastercard
- Visa
- DIRECTeBanking/Sofort
- Maestro
- iDEAL
- GiroPay
- PayPal
- bank/wire transfer
- purchase order
- Bank card
- Yes Amex, Mastercard, Visa
- PayPal
- Yes
- Cryptocurrency
- No not in payment list
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Local payment methods
- iDEAL
- Sofort
- GiroPay
- Maestro
- DIRECTeBanking
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- 30 (single-unit hardware only)
- Refund conditions
- 30-day full refund only for single-unit hardware purchases
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- Not stated
- Card needed for the trial
- Not stated
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Yes
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✓ Yes
- OpenVPN✓ Yes
- IKEv2IPsec, incl. route-based✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecNot stated
- SSTPNo
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- Other protocols
- Tinc (mesh, plugin)
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Yes self-hosted server config
- Open-source apps
- Yes https://github.com/opnsense
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Own DNS servers
- Yes Unbound
- Split tunnelling
- Not stated
- Ad and malware blocker
- Not stated
- Two-factor sign-in
- Not stated
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesNot stated
Apps and devices
- WindowsNot stated
- macOSNot stated
- LinuxNot stated
- iOSNot stated
- AndroidNot stated
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TVNot stated
- Routersit is a router/firewall OS; hardware appliances✓ Yes
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- No
- Live chat 24/7
- No sales Mon-Fri 9-17 CET
- Email / tickets
- Yes sales@opnsense.com; paid support Mon-Fri 9-17 CET
- Phone
- Partial +31 187 744 020 (sales, Mon-Fri 9-17 CET)
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Discord or forum
- Yes OPNsense forum
- Support languages
- EN (e-book EN/DE)
- Help articles
- Yes docs.opnsense.org
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- SCIM provisioning
- No
- Admin panel
- Yes web GUI; OPNcentral multi-firewall mgmt in BE
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes self-hosted
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- No traditional firewall/VPN
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
-
App Store
3.65 of 5, smoothed
From 4 collected reviews (raw average 5.00; all VPNs 3.54). Last 90 days: 5.00 from 1.
-
Google Play
3.89 of 5, smoothed
From 6 collected reviews (raw average 3.83; all VPNs 3.90). Last 90 days: 4.00 from 1.
The company replied to 1 of 1 negative reviews (1–2 stars).
Ratings shown on the platforms themselves: App Store (US) 5.00 (9 ratings); Google Play 3.8 (9 ratings).
Reviews per month, last 12 months
48 Reddit and forum threads mention OPNsense (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
Latest reviews
Short excerpts with a link to the original. We do not reproduce reviews in full.
App Store · 5★ · 10 Oct 2026 · US
Gold Status
App Store · 5★ · 07 Jul 2026 · US
Polished
App Store · 5★ · 15 Jun 2026 · US
OPN Admin
Google Play · 4★ · 21 Jul 2026
Failed to load Wireguard status: type Null is not a subtype of type String in type cast. It would be great if one can tap on a DHCP lease and be able to select…
Google Play · 3★ · 11 Jul 2026
It's okay, a few off design choices like no graph usage. Biggest flaw is FW rule editing is pretty useless. Missing options including inverting source and…
Google Play · 5★ · 29 Jun 2026
Fantastic app for managing my OPNsense firewall on the go! The real-time dashboard, firewall rules, live logs, network monitoring, DHCP leases, and service…
Rankings by user reviews
In our rankings
OPNsense appears on 2 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- IPFire0.84
- upribox0.99
- FreedomBox1.32
- Algo VPN1.72
- Drago0.94
Owner and jurisdiction
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://opnsense.org
- Pages checked
- ["https://opnsense.org", "https://shop.opnsense.com"]
- Other sources used
- renewal_note, autorenew_default, payment_methods, card, paypal, local_payment_methods, crypto: https://shop.opnsense.com/terms-conditions/; BE 1yr price, phone, live_chat_247: https://shop.opnsense.com/product/opnsense-business-edition/
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error