IPFire review: score, privacy and prices
out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Mesh / self-hosted median 2.5
- Mesh / self-hosted
- Jurisdiction:not stated, alliance not disclosed
- Owner:none
- Data completeness13%
- Checked2026-10-15
- Free plan
- Open-source apps
In 10 seconds
Strongest against its segment
- Security and protocols2.1 vs 1.8
- Censorship bypass0.5 vs 0.5
- Price and fair terms1.2 vs 3.4
Weakest against its segment
- Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
- Platforms and support1.5 vs 3.9
- Privacy and jurisdiction0.0 vs 2.3
How the score adds up
Six sub-scores, each against the median of Mesh / self-hosted services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.
IPFiresegment median
-
Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.0
What earned points
- No-logs policy +2
- Independent no-logs audit +3
- No-logs confirmed in court +1
- Warrant canary +1
- Transparency report +1
- Sign-up without email +1.5
- Account number sign-up +0.5
- Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
- Public incident (penalty) −2
-
Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.82.1
What earned points
- Kill switch +2
- DNS leak protection +1.5
- RAM-only servers +1
- Post-quantum encryption +1
- Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
- Security audit +2
- Open-source clients +1.5
- 2FA +1
- Multi-hop +1
- Bug bounty +1
- Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
-
Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.41.2
What earned points
- Free plan +1.5
- Free trial +1
- Trial without a card +1
- Crypto payments +1
- Cash payments +0.5
-
Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.50.5
What earned points
- Stealth / obfuscation +2
- VLESS / Reality +1.5
- Trojan +1
- Hysteria2 +1
- Shadowsocks +1
- AmneziaWG +1
- obfs4 +0.5
- TUIC +0.5
- NaiveProxy +0.5
- Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
- VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
- Manual configs +0.5
-
Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
What earned points
- 10 Gbps servers +1
- Dedicated IP +0.5
- Port forwarding +0.5
- MENA locations +0.5
- Torrenting allowed +1
-
Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.91.5
What earned points
- Routers +1
- Browser extensions +0.5
- Split tunneling +1
- Ad / tracker blocker +1
- 24/7 live chat +2
- live chat +0.5
- Support on Telegram +0.5
- Status page +0.5
IPFire pricing
IPFire does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: Yes fully free. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.
Refunds, trial and payment
- Refund window
- Not stated
- Free trial
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal
- Not stated
- Payment methods
- Not stated
- Renewal note
- no licence renewals
Everything IPFire publishes
Every fact we collected about IPFire, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.
Company
- Legal entity
- IPFire.org / IPFire Development Team
- Registered in
- Not stated
- Parent company
- none
- Related brands
- Lightning Wire Labs (commercial appliances/support)
- Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
- Not stated
- Website languages
- EN
- Right-to-left languages
- No
Plans, prices and add-ons
- Cheapest price a month
- 0
- Monthly plan
- 0
- 1-year plan, total
- 0
- 1-year plan, a month
- 0
- 2-year plan, total
- 0
- 2-year plan, a month
- 0
- Lifetime plan
- Not stated
- Renewal
- Yes licence renewals
- Family plan
- Not stated
Discounts and programmes
- Student discount
- Not stated
Limits and restrictions
- Devices at once
- Not stated
Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes fully free
- Free data
- Yes unlimited (self-hosted)
- Free devices
- unlimited
- Ads in the free plan
- No
- Other free plan terms
- self-hosted
Payment and subscription
- PayPal
- Not stated
- Cryptocurrency
- Not stated
- Cash
- Not stated
- Gift cards
- Not stated
- Auto-renewal by default
- Not stated
- Email needed to sign up
- Not stated
- Account-number login
- Not stated
- Money-back guarantee, days
- Not stated
Free trial terms
- Trial length
- Not stated
- Card needed for the trial
- Not stated
Server locations
- Countries
- Not stated
- Servers
- Not stated
- Server countries
- Not stated
- Middle East and North Africa
- Not stated
- Virtual locations
- Not stated
- Own servers
- Yes self-hosted
- P2P servers
- Not stated
- Obfuscated servers
- Not stated
Network features
- RAM-only servers
- Not stated
- IPv6
- Not stated
- Dedicated IP
- Not stated
- Static IP
- Not stated
- Residential IP
- Not stated
- Double VPN / multi-hop
- Not stated
- Tor over VPN
- Not stated
- SOCKS5 proxy
- Not stated
- Smart DNS
- Not stated
Protocols and encryption
- WireGuard✓ Yes
- OpenVPN✓ Yes
- IKEv2IPsec✓ Yes
- L2TP/IPsecNot stated
- SSTPNo
- SoftEther✕ No
- Own protocol✕ No
- VLESS / Reality✕ No
- VMess✕ No
- Trojan✕ No
- Shadowsocks✕ No
- Hysteria2✕ No
- TUIC✕ No
- NaiveProxy✕ No
- obfs4✕ No
- AmneziaWG✕ No
- PPTP✓ No
- Other protocols
- IPsec
- Perfect forward secrecy
- Not stated
- Post-quantum encryption
- Not stated
- Manual configuration files
- Yes web console; exports client configs
- Open-source apps
- Yes free software
Censorship and blocking
- Obfuscation (stealth mode)
- Not stated
- Countries it claims to work in
- Not stated
- Mirror sites or Telegram channel
- Not stated
- Calls in the UAE
- Not stated
Security
- Kill switch
- Not stated
- DNS leak protection
- Not stated
- Split tunnelling
- Not stated
- Ad and malware blocker
- Not stated
- Two-factor sign-in
- Not stated
- Security audits
- Not stated
- Bug bounty
- Not stated
- Certifications
- No
Privacy
- No-logs policy
- Not stated
- Independent no-logs audit
- Not stated
- Transparency report
- Not stated
- Warrant canary
- Not stated
- Anonymous sign-up
- Not stated
What the privacy policy says is collected
Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.
- Connection IPNot stated
- Session timesNot stated
Apps and devices
- WindowsNot stated
- macOSNot stated
- Linuxis a Linux distro✓ Yes
- iOSNot stated
- AndroidNot stated
- Android TVNot stated
- Fire TVNot stated
- Apple TVNot stated
- ChromebookNot stated
- Smart TVNot stated
- Routersfirewall/router OS on commodity hardware✓ Yes
- NASNot stated
- Raspberry PiNot stated
- Game consolesNot stated
- Browser extensions
- Not stated
Speed, streaming and gaming
- 10 Gbps servers
- Not stated
- Netflix
- Not stated
- BBC iPlayer
- Not stated
- Disney+
- Not stated
- Prime Video
- Not stated
- Gaming features
- Not stated
- Torrenting
- Not stated
Support
- Live chat
- Not stated
- Live chat 24/7
- Not stated
- Email / tickets
- Yes commercial support via Lightning Wire Labs
- Phone
- Not stated
- Telegram
- Not stated
- Not stated
- Discord or forum
- Mastodon
- X
- Support languages
- EN
- Help articles
- Yes documentation
- Server status page
- Not stated
For teams and business
- SSO / SAML
- Not stated
- SCIM provisioning
- No
- Admin panel
- Yes web console
- Dedicated gateway
- Yes self-hosted firewall
- Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
- Yes site-to-site / zero-trust tunnels claim
What users say
Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.
No reviews collected for this service.
49 Reddit and forum threads mention IPFire (titles and search snippets only).
Latest reviews and related rankings
In our rankings
IPFire appears on 3 topic pages. Its place on each:
Similar VPNs
- OPNsense1.09
- FreedomBox1.32
- Drago0.94
- upribox0.99
- Algo VPN1.72
Tools for IPFire
Sources and changes
Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.
- Website
- https://ipfire.org
Something wrong or out of date? Report an error