Shimo VPN review: score, privacy and prices

1.61

out of 10not in the main ranking (too little published data)
Other (usenet, hosting, tunnels) median 2.5

  • Other (usenet, hosting, tunnels)
  • Jurisdiction:Germany, 14 Eyes
  • Data completeness67%
  • Checked2026-10-15
  • Trial without a card

In 10 seconds

Strongest against its segment

  • Censorship bypass2.9 vs 0.5
  • Security and protocols2.5 vs 1.8
  • Price and fair terms3.1 vs 3.4

Weakest against its segment

  • Platforms and support0.6 vs 3.9
  • Network and streaming0.0 vs 2.8
  • Privacy and jurisdiction0.5 vs 2.3
  • Jurisdiction in the 14 Eyes alliance

Compare Shimo VPN side by side with other VPNs

How the score adds up

Six sub-scores, each against the median of Other (usenet, hosting, tunnels) services in the main ranking (None services). Open a line to see which published facts earned points and which were missing or not disclosed.

Shimo VPNsegment median

  • Privacy and jurisdiction30% of the score · segment median 2.30.5
    What earned points
    • No-logs policy +2
    • Independent no-logs audit +3
    • No-logs confirmed in court +1
    • Warrant canary +1
    • Transparency report +1
    • Sign-up without email +1.5
    • Account number sign-up +0.5
    • Stores connection IP (penalty) −3
    • Public incident (penalty) −2
  • Security and protocols20% of the score · segment median 1.82.5
    What earned points
    • Kill switch +2
    • DNS leak protection +1.5
    • RAM-only servers +1
    • Post-quantum encryption +1
    • Perfect forward secrecy +0.5
    • Security audit +2
    • Open-source clients +1.5
    • 2FA +1
    • Multi-hop +1
    • Bug bounty +1
    • Only PPTP / L2TP (penalty) −2
  • Price and fair terms15% of the score · segment median 3.43.1
    What earned points
    • Free plan +1.5
    • Free trial +1
    • Trial without a card +1
    • Crypto payments +1
    • Cash payments +0.5
  • Censorship bypass15% of the score · segment median 0.52.9
    What earned points
    • Stealth / obfuscation +2
    • VLESS / Reality +1.5
    • Trojan +1
    • Hysteria2 +1
    • Shadowsocks +1
    • AmneziaWG +1
    • obfs4 +0.5
    • TUIC +0.5
    • NaiveProxy +0.5
    • Mirrors or Telegram channel +0.5
    • VoIP in the UAE (claimed) +0.5
    • Manual configs +0.5
  • Network and streaming10% of the score · segment median 2.80.0
    What earned points
    • 10 Gbps servers +1
    • Dedicated IP +0.5
    • Port forwarding +0.5
    • MENA locations +0.5
    • Torrenting allowed +1
  • Platforms and support10% of the score · segment median 3.90.6
    What earned points
    • Routers +1
    • Browser extensions +0.5
    • Split tunneling +1
    • Ad / tracker blocker +1
    • 24/7 live chat +2
    • live chat +0.5
    • Support on Telegram +0.5
    • Status page +0.5

Shimo VPN pricing

Shimo VPN does not publish a paid price we could read. Free plan: No. Market median across the main ranking: €3.13 a month.

Real cost over 1, 2 and 3 years

What you pay to keep Shimo VPN running: the first term, then renewals at the published renewal price. Where no renewal price is published, plans shorter than a year are counted as repeat payments at the current price; longer plans show a dash after their term. Converted to euros at the rates used in our data (1 EUR = €1). The lowest cost for each period is marked.

Plan and first termFirst payment1 year2 years3 years
Shimo 6 license, per user, Lifetime €39.00 €39.00€39.00€39.00

Compare Shimo VPN’s full cost with other VPNs, for any number of devices

All plans as published

PlanTermPrice for term
Shimo 6 license, per userLifetime€39.00

Refunds, trial and payment

Refund window
14 (EU/UK statutory withdrawal; lost once downloaded/activated if acknowledged); refunds via Paddle
Refund conditions
EU/UK 14-day withdrawal right; ends on download/activation if acknowledged at checkout; handled by Paddle
Free trial
7 days
Card needed for trial
No
Auto-renewal
Not stated
Payment methods
Paddle checkout (merchant of record)
VAT
No €39 + €8.19 VAT shown
Renewal note
one-time perpetual license for major version (6.x); next major version optional paid upgrade

Everything Shimo VPN publishes

Every fact we collected about Shimo VPN, as the provider and reviewers state it. Empty fields are left out; key fields we could not find say “Not stated”. “Partial”: only on some platforms, servers or plans.

Company

Legal entity
Fabian Jäger, trading as Jäger Apps (sole proprietorship)
Registered in
Germany
Address
Belziger Str. 33, 10823 Berlin, Germany
Surveillance alliance (5/9/14 Eyes)
14
Website languages
EN (footer shows language selector English)
Currencies on the site
USD

Plans, prices and add-ons

Plans
One-time license per user
Billing terms
one-time
Cheapest price a month
Not stated
Monthly plan
Not stated
Lifetime plan
€39.00
Renewal
one-time perpetual license for major version (6.x); next major version optional paid upgrade
VAT included
No €39 + €8.19 VAT shown
Family plan
Not stated
Prices seen from other countries
Shimo 6 one-time €39 (+ €8.19 VAT) per user; 7-day free trial

Discounts and programmes

Student discount
Not stated

Limits and restrictions

Devices at once
license per user, unlimited own Macs (exclusive use); multiple concurrent VPN connections

Free plan

Free plan
No
Free data
Not stated
Ads in the free plan
Not stated

Payment and subscription

Payment methods
Paddle checkout (merchant of record)
PayPal
Not stated
Cryptocurrency
Not stated
Cash
Not stated
Gift cards
Not stated
Auto-renewal by default
Not stated
Email needed to sign up
Not stated
Account-number login
Not stated
Money-back guarantee, days
14 (EU/UK statutory withdrawal; lost once downloaded/activated if acknowledged); refunds via Paddle
Refund conditions
  • EU/UK 14-day withdrawal right
  • ends on download/activation if acknowledged at checkout
  • handled by Paddle

Free trial terms

Trial length
7 days
Card needed for the trial
No

Server locations

Countries
Not stated
Servers
Not stated
Server countries
Not stated
Middle East and North Africa
Not stated
Virtual locations
Not stated
Own servers
No
P2P servers
Not stated
Obfuscated servers
Not stated

Network features

RAM-only servers
Not stated
IPv6
Not stated
Dedicated IP
Not stated
Static IP
Not stated
Residential IP
Not stated
Double VPN / multi-hop
Yes VPN chaining via triggers
Tor over VPN
Not stated
SOCKS5 proxy
Not stated
Smart DNS
Not stated

Protocols and encryption

  • WireGuardclient, new in Shimo 6✓ Yes
  • OpenVPN✓ Yes
  • IKEv2IPSec✓ Yes
  • L2TP/IPsecnot on Catalina◐ Partial
  • SSTPNot stated
  • SoftEtherNot stated
  • Own protocolclient for third-party protocols✕ No
  • VLESS / Reality✕ No
  • VMess✕ No
  • Trojan✕ No
  • Shadowsocks✕ No
  • Hysteria2✕ No
  • TUICNot stated
  • NaiveProxyNot stated
  • obfs4Not stated
  • AmneziaWGAmnezia, new in Shimo 6✓ Yes
  • PPTPnot on Catalina◐ Partial
Other protocols
  • Cisco AnyConnect
  • SSH
  • SSL
Perfect forward secrecy
Not stated
Post-quantum encryption
Not stated
Manual configuration files
Not stated
Open-source apps
Not stated

Censorship and blocking

Obfuscation (stealth mode)
Not stated
Countries it claims to work in
Not stated
Mirror sites or Telegram channel
Not stated
Calls in the UAE
Not stated

Security

Kill switch
Not stated
DNS leak protection
Not stated
Split tunnelling
Not stated
Ad and malware blocker
Not stated
Two-factor sign-in
Yes 2FA token support
Security audits
Not stated
Bug bounty
Not stated

Privacy

No-logs policy
Not stated
Independent no-logs audit
Not stated
Data retention
  • purchase records up to 10 y (German tax law)
  • crash reports ~90 days
  • GA4 14 months
Shared with third parties
Paddle, Sentry, Google (GA4, with consent), hosting providers; no sale
Trackers on the website
Google Analytics 4 (consent-based); CookieYes banner
Transparency report
Not stated
Warrant canary
Not stated
Anonymous sign-up
Not stated
GDPR / data protection officer
no formal DPO (sole proprietorship)
Privacy policy updated
2026-09-01

What the privacy policy says is collected

Yes: collected. No: not collected. Partial: kept briefly or only in part. Not stated: the policy does not say.

  • Emailvia Paddle purchase✕ Yes
  • Connection IPNot stated
  • Session timesNot stated
  • Device infohashed device id, app & macOS version (license check)✕ Yes
  • Crash reportsSentry; can be disabled✕ Yes

Apps and devices

  • Windows✕ No
  • macOS✓ Yes
  • Linux✕ No
  • iOS✕ No
  • Android✕ No
  • Android TVNot stated
  • Fire TVNot stated
  • Apple TVNot stated
  • ChromebookNot stated
  • Smart TVNot stated
  • RoutersNot stated
  • NASNot stated
  • Raspberry PiNot stated
  • Game consolesNot stated
Browser extensions
Not stated

Speed, streaming and gaming

10 Gbps servers
Not stated
Netflix
Not stated
BBC iPlayer
Not stated
Disney+
Not stated
Prime Video
Not stated
Gaming features
Not stated
Torrenting
Not stated

Support

Live chat
No email support@shimovpn.com + Freshdesk help center
Live chat 24/7
Not stated
Email / tickets
Yes support@shimovpn.com
Phone
Not stated
Telegram
Not stated
WhatsApp
Not stated
Help articles
Yes jaeger.freshdesk.com FAQ
Server status page
Not stated

For teams and business

SSO / SAML
Not stated
Admin panel
Not stated
Zero-trust access (ZTNA)
Not stated

What users say

Reviews never change our score. Ratings are smoothed: a source’s average across all VPNs counts as 50 extra reviews, so a few five-star reviews cannot outrank thousands.

No reviews collected for this service.

41 Reddit and forum threads mention Shimo VPN (titles and search snippets only).

Latest reviews and related rankings

In our rankings

Shimo VPN appears on 1 topic pages. Its place on each:

Owner and jurisdiction

Sources and changes

Collected 2026-10-15. No changes recorded since the first import.

Website
https://www.g2.com/categories/business-vpn
Pages checked
["https://www.g2.com/categories/business-vpn", "https://www.techradar.com/reviews/shimo-vpn"]
Other sources used
pricing, trial, devices, renewal_note, vat, protocols: https://www.shimovpn.com/pricing/ and https://www.shimovpn.com/; legal_entity, address: https://www.shimovpn.com/imprint/; privacy fields, payment_methods: https://www.shimovpn.com/privacy/; money_back_days, refund_conditions: https://www.shimovpn.com/terms/; price_*: https://www.techradar.com/reviews/shimo-vpn + https://shimo.macupdate.com/ (snippets: one-time purchase)

Something wrong or out of date? Report an error